We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11000 Colones in this place $30”
Review of Soda Mima

Soda Mima
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Manzanillo
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“11000 Colones in this place $30”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The food was nice, the service was a bit slow, because it was a busy day for them. A lady helped us to serve the food. She brought the bill when we were planning to leave. The food cost 11000 Colones with all the taxes and service charges. As we had dollars, I asked ( even if I knew we had to pay around $22 dollars) how much would it be in Dollars? She said straight away $30. We asked back if she was sure and she said yes, of course...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank allinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food was delicous but I had a stomach ache after eating. It could have been from a different meal/day though so I wasnt sure if I should say so in a a review. The bathroom was not very nice in my opinion. The fruit juice was delicious and my favorite part.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveladventure33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome casados and patacones!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at Maxi's soda the first day and were so horribly disappointed that we ate at Mima the second day. You wouldn't think much to look at the place, but the food was authentic, delicious, and way cheaper than Maxi's.

I had a cadaso with red snapper filet, my friend a casado with slow-cooked chicken thigh, and my husband a casado with chicken breast. I tried all three, and they were all fantastic. You really don't expect such tasty food from a simple soda, but this was probably the best casado I've ever had since living in Costa Rica for the last 6 years. The service was no-frills but very attentive and friendly enough.

Just writing this review is making my mouth water! I will definitely return next time I'm in town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank djskafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortuguero, Limon,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

this is a place that you can call authentic Costa Rican Soda.
We went to Manzanillo to enjoy the beach for a couple days, and we had the lunch here.
The place is pretty basic, but the quality of the food is good. Thats was the real Costarican "Casado".
Comparing this place with "Maxis", the price and quality are better.
As different with PV this area don't have a lot of options. So, I think that, if you're looking for normal CR meal, This is the right place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clan800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A must for breakfast”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A great little soda. It opens at 6 a.m. so if you are taking a 7 o'clock bus you have time to eat a great "tipico" breakfast. The coffee alone is worth the stop-- strong and hot! Regret that we didn't eat other meals there as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Mima also viewed

Manzanillo, Province of Limon
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
 
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
 

Been to Soda Mima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing