We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pura vida”
Review of Mar Y Sol Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mar Y Sol Hostel
Reviewed March 11, 2013

the owners at the mar y sol are some of the kindest I met while in Costa Rica. with a delicious restaurant menu, free wifi, affordable rooms and everything that I needed I would recommend this hostel to anyone.
the location and tour services they will arrange were excellent.
I wish I never had to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyusa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Mar Y Sol Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 34 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at Mar Y Sol because of a recommendation we got along our travels. We were told the place was great, right on the beach, inexpensive modest rooms, shared kitchen and everything you need to feel at home. They were RIGHT!!! we loved it here and wished we had more time on our trip to spend there. The owners were so helpful and friendly, our room - even though not brand spanking new, was clean and provided what we needed. We will definately return to Mar Y Sol if our travels find us in Costa Rica again.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have the best view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked this hostel for two nights in advance (private room for 30$). When we arrived there we got a spacious but completely moldy room. Staying in this room caused us after a short time some respiration problems due to the high amount of mold everywhere in the room.
Additionaly, the room was soposed to be equipped with a private bath. We had a shower and toilet only for us but they were separated from the rest of the room only with a curtain.
In the end we decided to cancel our reservation and looked for another place to stay. And there are actually much nicer hotels for almost the same price (35$ for a private with proper bathroom and two queen size beds, fridge in the room, table & chairs).
The location of the hostel is definitely nice and maybe the restaurant is worth a try, althoug we did not eat there.
If you are looking for a place to sleep, we would recommend to abandon the option to have the nice view and try another place to stay in town. There are a lot & much better places!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weltenbummler u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our weekend at Mar Y Sol! Perfect location in the middle of Manzanillo right on the beach. Rooms are simple but great value for a budget traveler. We ended up a couple thousand colones short on our bill and ready to run down to the ATM but the owner told us not to worry... saving us the trip! Very nice people!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms appeared to have an even better view but we ended up downstairs.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GL1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Had an awesome time here! The owners were very helpful and friendly. The food at the restaurant was great and fairly cheap. The location is perfect, right across the road from the beach. I would definitely recommend going to Manzanillo and staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiesue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Our family didn't stay here but if I were traveling alone or with a friend I would for certain stay here. We stopped in a number of times for lunch, the food was excellent and the beer cold. The American innkeepers were very friendly and hospitable, even allowed me to use his internet phone on a couple of occasions to check in back home. The place was clean and well kept and the outdoor setting with a view was a great place to have lunch or a cold beer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monte m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Hello world..just putting a shout out there for Hotel Mar y Sol in the little village of MAnzinillo Costa Rica on the Caribbean side. Simple, beautiful , comfortable and affordable right in front of the crystal clear Caribbean. A beautiful place with some down home hospitality!

Room Tip: The great outdoors is your fitness center and the ocean your pool....
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavidaenviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanillo
4.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar
#2 of 16 in Manzanillo
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Se Ua B&B And House Of Adventure
1.1 mi away
Almonds and Corals Hotel
Almonds and Corals Hotel
#10 of 16 in Manzanillo
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Namasol
Casa Namasol
#12 of 16 in Manzanillo
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Y Sol Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Y Sol Hostel

Address: 200 meters north from Maxis, Manzanillo 30000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Manzanillo
Price Range: $25 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 rooms + 5 more to be remodeled. Complete bar & grill w/ full license. Lots of mangoes, papayas, bananas, coconuts, too. Scuba diving, snorkeling, natural refuge, dolphin, gardens, surfing paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mar Y Sol Hostel Costa Rica/Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing