We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omar know his birds and animals in Manzanillo. Great Guide!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bucus Tours

Bucus Tours
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Manzanillo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Omar Cook will be your guide for the most of the tours, he is a Manzanillo resident.Who has worked for many years as a trained and certified jungle guide.Omar has expertise in these ranges bird identification, botany animal and plant habits but also in geography of the entire country of Costa Rica.We offer Jungle hikes, Bird watching, Gandoca Lagoon kayak tour, See the Leatherback turtle, Snorkling, Dolphin tours, Indian reserve tour and a lot more adventure tours.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Omar know his birds and animals in Manzanillo. Great Guide!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Omar really knows the Manzanillo area. We took a bird and animal watch around the area. He really know his stuff! We had our 8 year old granddaughter with us. She loved everything Omar showed her. If you come to Manzanillo, look up Omar! He is the man to see. I look forward to going back. I want to go into the jungle and see where chocolate is made.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2Hammys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went snorkeling and did a jungle walk with Omar. He's really awesome. Highly recommend him for any adventure you're looking for in Manzanillo or the area. Thanks Omar for a great adventure!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3DogMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Omar and his driver were awesome tour guides. Omar was very knowledgeable and very friendly. We were in Costa Rica for a day with a cruise ship and decided to do a private tour. Omar was easy to find and made our time in Costa Rica great. His jokes kept us going for hours. We were a family of 6 and he was very accommodating as some the our family member were very tired after some walking. I would definitely recommend Bucus Tours if you are stopping into Costa Rica.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Learned a lot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Omar is a great rainforest guide! He took us on a guided hike in the Refugio Gandoca-Manzanillo. He is really knowledgeable about the area since he has lived there his whole life. He could amazingly spot all kinds of wildlife in the jungle as we were walking. He was able to tell us all kinds of information about the animals, plants, history and community of the area. He will also try out some of his jokes on you, which makes the tour even more fun. He told me about how he works with his community to keep the beach and the area clean of litter, which I really appreciate.

The hike itself is not strenuous, although it is likely to rain while you are there, and you have to cross a knee-deep river to get to that part of the rainforest. Dress appropriately.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jkg224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
“Best part of our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Omar is a unique person who knows his forest like the back of his hand. He grew-up there and as e describes so lively, picked up the cacao fruits as a kid, discovered the plants with his grand mother who was a healer. What i like the most about the 5 hour walking trip i took with my 2 teenagers is the passion he has to share his corner of paradice. He clearly has found what he likes to do and he has invested in training himself has a guide.,,and he is so excelent at spotting the living creature of the forest! I found he had the perfect mix of knowledge and passion and he made this trip educative and fun for everyone in the group. He is also very engaging and like to learn from people he meets; i enjoyed my time with him a lot. I hope one day he will bring his machete to New York so i can show him my jungle! See you soon Omar. Guillaume

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank willdet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucus Tours also viewed

Manzanillo, Province of Limon
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
 
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
 

Been to Bucus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing