We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nature Observatorio

Nature Observatorio
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Manzanillo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 60 square meter Amazing Tree House is suspended at 25 meters from the ground in the middle of the jungle in Manzanillo de Limon, Costa Rica. Rain water is use to provide the modern bathroom. And there are 2 bedrooms with mosquito nets. You will enjoy a walking trough the Primary Forest, climb a beatifull tree, see the spectacular view, take incredible pictures of animals and nature around and relax with a snack of fruits to recover the energies. This is an experience that You will never forget!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

There's little to add to all the other positive reviews of this great experience. Peter's love of the forest comes shining through and adds greatly to the experience. Climbing up to the Observatorio was a great experience, but it is quite strenuous. For those less fit, there is an electric winch (powered by a rechargeable battery charged with a solar panel) that can raise you up.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is an amazing project/"hotel"/observatory in the beautiful forest in Manzanillo where Peter and some local companions have built a fabulous tree house 25m up in a huge tree. Peter arranges treks of the jungle including a climb to the tree house and the wonderful views and atmosphere there. Staying the night there is truly magical and was the highlight of our entire Costa Rica experience. The walk to the Tree House is not at all hard but full of fascinating experiences, and Peter is enthusiastically finding, showing and explaining the many wonders of the forest, from "walking trees" to colourful dart frogs and fabulously beautiful toucan birds. The climb up the ropes to the tree house is also a fun and memorable experience, although I understand this has been made much easier now with the "elevator" for those who want that option. As mentioned, staying overnight in the Tree House was magical, particularly waking up with the forest, listening to the birds and animals and see the morning mist clear and enjoy the amazing views and atmosphere. It is very comfortable and naturally, really fascinating 25m up there in that massive tree. We did the overnight stay during a night of a tropical rain storm with our 8 year old son and his 74 year old granddad, and had an amazing experience!
Date of Stay: Dec 24, 2011

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ngari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Visiting the rainforest and tree house was by far the most exciting thing we did in Costa Rica! Peter was a great host, picking us up from our hotel, giving us an interesting tour of the jungle on the way to the tree house pointing out things like frogs, jaguar claw marks, interesting plants and tarantula holes. He even made us breakfast and brought it up to us in the morning! The tree house itself was also exciting. The view of the ocean and various wildlife was beautiful, especially at dawn when the howler monkeys and green parrots woke us up! The accommodations were also very comfortable, and we made a lot of use of the binoculars and bean bag chairs. This was definitely worth busing across the country for!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“PEACEFUL and EDUCATIONAL JUNGLE MAGIC...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

“This was a truly humbling experience.”
Traveled with Peter for a wonderful trip through his rainforest. Spotted many creatures and plants that Peter described in detail. Upon arriving at “His Tree”, Jumping Lizard, I received detailed instructions on tree climbing. Granted I am not young, 60, but Peter was understanding and had faith that I could make the 82 foot climb to the tree house. Well I did it and I sure felt great about my accomplishment. The views are just breathtaking and the peace is overwhelming. I can only thank Peter for pushing me to go on to make this once in a lifetime adventure. His love of nature, plants, trees and animals if contagious and I found a new respect for nature. Got back to my hotel in Puerto Viejo sweaty, muddy and renewed. What a Day. When I return I will definitely spend the night....Thank you Peter!”

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Turner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a 28 day honeymoon in Costa Rica and our stay here was by FAR the best, most one of a kind experience we had. All alone in the canopy of the trees in the middle of the jungle, the setting was gorgeous and the tree house itself was beautifully designed!! What more could you want on a honeymoon?!?! We were able to see a ton of wildlife, not only in the canopy but on our hikes in and out of the jungle with Peter. Peter is an extremely knowledgable guide and his enthusiastic love for nature is incredibly contagious!! The rain water shower was beautiful, we were provided delicious vegetarian food and even wine for our special occasion! It felt so good to stay in such an environmentally friendly place, I can't imagine anything more Eco friendly on the planet!!! We will DEFINITELY be back again!!

Helpful?
Thank mb_travelskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nature Observatorio also viewed

Manzanillo, Province of Limon
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
 
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Nature Observatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing