We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience of a lifetime!!!”

Nature Observatorio
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Manzanillo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 60 square meter Amazing Tree House is suspended at 25 meters from the ground in the middle of the jungle in Manzanillo de Limon, Costa Rica. Rain water is use to provide the modern bathroom. And there are 2 bedrooms with mosquito nets. You will enjoy a walking trough the Primary Forest, climb a beatifull tree, see the spectacular view, take incredible pictures of animals and nature around and relax with a snack of fruits to recover the energies. This is an experience that You will never forget!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a 28 day honeymoon in Costa Rica and our stay here was by FAR the best, most one of a kind experience we had. All alone in the canopy of the trees in the middle of the jungle, the setting was gorgeous and the tree house itself was beautifully designed!! What more could you want on a honeymoon?!?! We were able to see a ton of wildlife, not only in the canopy but on our hikes in and out of the jungle with Peter. Peter is an extremely knowledgable guide and his enthusiastic love for nature is incredibly contagious!! The rain water shower was beautiful, we were provided delicious vegetarian food and even wine for our special occasion! It felt so good to stay in such an environmentally friendly place, I can't imagine anything more Eco friendly on the planet!!! We will DEFINITELY be back again!!

Helpful?
Thank mb_travelskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
“Dont Miss This Experience”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I strongly agree with what everyone has said here. Peter and his treehouse are awesome. If you have any interest in nature and doing something you cant do anywhere else in the world, you have to do this for one night!!! Please dont let the price stop you from this experience. I almost did because it sounds like alot. For what you get, its cheap. My brother and I spent the night in the tree house including 3 meals and 2 hikes (the 30 minute hike in and a 3 hour hike out). Peter knows so much about the life in the jungle(both plants and animals). He shows you things you would just walk by without appreciating. You will not get this total experience anywhere else. You are buying almost a full day with Peter, who my brother called the coolest person he has ever met. The treehouse is a tough climb, but we did it (I am 51 yrs old). There is a winch for those who cant climb. In the morning you are at eye level with the birds. Parrots are everywhere and there is a tree where we saw over 15 toucans playing with eachother right in front of the treehouse. Some came within 20 feet of the treehouse. The shower uses rain water and is semi private. So is the bathroom. Its just so cool!! There is drinking water up there too. Bring what you can carry (six pack for us). We saw dart frogs, an agouti and a snake while hiking. Check out the trails made by leaf cutter ants. If you are staying in Puerto Viejo or south, and you like new, wonderful, one of a kind experiences, you must do this overnight stay and hike. It is worth every penny. I am not rich either. I highly recomend this experience for couples to reset and enjoy eachother as part of nature. Peter will also give you guidance on area restaurants, snorkeling areas and tours. He just a great all around guy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tommyhock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing night”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

If you go to Costa Rica you have to spend one night in this amazing hut built on a tree.
It was marvelous, one of my best experience ever.
You are on the middle of the forest, you see the sea and all the wild wife.
Peter the guy who built the hut knows perfectly the forest and will make you spend a great moment in the forest.
Awesome !!!!!!
Cédric

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedriclm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Why you need to incorporate Observatorio in your Costa Rica vacation”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Puerto Viejo / Manzanillo is a friendly, non-resortified tourist area with some of the best beaches in the country, but the jungle is what my family went to Costa Rica to see. What you need to think about is that while there are many jungles in Costa Rica there are only a few ways to observe and understand it. Observatorio has elements that are unique. I'll try to keep this review useful by highlighting the unique things:

It's hard to describe why you need to see the jungle from a treehouse. I suppose it's that you are quiet, motionless, in the jungle but at eye level with the canopy where all the action is, and the more you settle in, the smaller noises and motions become apparent and more of the jungle's layers and subtleties are possible to detect. Contrast that with a walking tour - it's very different.

Then there's Observatorio itself. Getting up to the treehouse is fun for the kids and the adults, regardless of ability level. More importantly, while it's not far to get there from the trailhead, it overlooks an area of the jungle that is totally inaccessible to humans and consequently filled with animals. The forest itself is ancient, ancient growth, a rare thing and an absolutely necessity--the balance of flora and fauna is so weird, wonderful, and perfect because it is the product of forever and a day. You marvel at that. The treehouse is comfortable to inhabit and make your own. The Observatorio experience is probably in the category of "glamping" - luxury and camping all together, a total exit from civilization but with over the top services (within reason considering you're in a forest) and people who help you get the most out of your time.

Any nature traveler or lover knows this: the crux of your experience is the "interpreter" - your guide. In other reviews I noticed Peter's name keeps coming up, and that's because he's really an immeasurable part of what makes Observatorio such a full experience. He has a naturalist's sharp eyes and narrative ability, an innovator's inventive ideas on how people's interests can align with conservation, and a gentle spirit that is just him - but it also may be influenced by the time he has worked and lived with indigenous people. Those who walk with him in the jungle, ask lots of questions and you will leave your vacation really thinking fresh about the world. For me and my family, that's what was most obvious, besides the beautiful pictures, as a take-away from our experience: new ways of thinking. We really have Peter to thank for that.

Other pluses: great beaches in a friendly area with an ideal mix of tourists and residents, a full menu of adventure options like zip lining, boat tours, horseback riding, and the fact that it's on the Caribbean coast. The explorers who called this place "Costa Rica", or "rich coast" actually landed on the Caribbean side. Many Costa Ricans and travel agents point you to the Pacific coast because that's where the country has invested the most in tourism infrastructure. But the lesser traveled communities, Caribbean cultural flavor, beaches, and original options like Observatorio make the Caribbean side its hidden treasure. Our family is international and has done a lot of traveling, and we count our time in Manzanillo and Observatorio in particular as the best vacation we've ever had. Really.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Christina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My experience was unique and breathtaking”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I went with a group of 8 others to the peaceful paradise that is manzanillo. There we met Peter and his tour was very informative and he takes you places you would never experience in a large. Peter helped us with any tours and arranged for any activities with quickness and was very helpful. Check out his tree house, you'll feel on top of the world.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jcrock415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nature Observatorio also viewed

Manzanillo, Province of Limon
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
 
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Manzanillo, Province of Limon
 

Been to Nature Observatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing