We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardtara Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upperlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We found Ardtara in the Bluebook and like most Bluebook listings we were not disappointed. This place is a real jem. From the moment we entered our room we knew we had made the right choice. Our room was huge with large bay windows covering two of the walls and a great working fireplace. We had paid abit extra for a garden view and I would recommend anyone else doing that because the room was lovely and bright with lovely views over the garden. When we go away its very important for us to have a nice room as we love to chill out in the evenings after a busy day. This room was perfect for that. We even had our dinner one of the evenings up in it sitting around the fire. It really was like stepping back in time but in the best possible way. If modern and minimalistic are your thing then this place probably isnt for you but I for one couldn't recommend it more highly.
The rest of the house is lovely too and the food was very tasty. However its the staff that really deserve a special mention as they make this place something really special. They were so welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We had an issue one of the evenings with my car and the staff got it sorted out in no time-something that would definitely not happen if we were staying in a large hotel. I would not hesitate recommending this place to anyone if they were visiting the Antrim/Derry area as its quite central but at the same time perfect for un-winding after a busy day. It really is something special and we for one will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Garden View-very bright and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellencorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 303 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

This B&B is amazing!! From the moment you enter the property you feel like you have arrived into what you would imagine a beautiful old Manor house would have been like! It is a step back in time. The room is like an apartment with the most elegant furnishings and has a huge bathroon with a stand alone bath! There is a gas fireplace to add to the romantic feel and also to add that lovely warmth after a day in the brisk Irish air. We were invited to dine in the restaurant and were treated to a pre dinner drink in the drawing roon while we selected our choices from the menu! Then we were ushered into the dining room to be served with the most delcious meal. This place is something to be rembered and cherished as a special highlight in our trip! We would definately recommend it to those looking for something special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

These people are so wonderful and the house is great. I felt very welcomed - the stay was relaxing and the food was very good. People in the area apparently come for dinner quite often - so when the people running the hotel ask if you care to eat dinner, the y are jsut trying to make sure that you are taken care of.

I really enjoyed my stay and thought it was a great value for what was provided. I certainly hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randisbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely old home for 2 days/2 nights in May. The staff was incredibly accomodating, professional and warm. The highlight of our stay here, aside the cozy comfortable bed and my soak in the clawfoot tub with a lovely view outside, was the over-the-top evening meal we enjoyed with our friends who were traveling with us. Geraldine, the kitchen manager, served us drinks in the drawing room before we entered the dining room for dinner. We had the dining room all to ourselves this evening as most other guests in the house were grouped together out on a garden tour. Our highest compliments to the chef as the dining experience was almost indescribable. Our starter was a lightly breaded Chevre with a fig compote that sent us soaring. A duck leg/wing combo which my husband enjoyed as his starter, was the best duck either of us had ever tasted. I reveled in a tomato-red pepper bisque. Creamed leeks accompanied our dinner selections which are now one of my favorite sides of all time...and which she thankfully shared with us how to prepare them! Both fireplaces blazing, the wine superb and the meal as palate pleasing as ever....a visit to Ardtara is definitely endorsed from this couple....and if not time to stay, make the time to dine here for the evening....absolutely one of the best meals we've lingered over in a very long time!

Room Tip: Treat yourselves to a garden view room! Great views and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Its a few years since we stayed here but the place was excellent. The house wasn't normally opened for business when we visited but the owner contacted us to say he would keep us anyway. A really warm and charming place to stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R1L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Ardtara is a timewarp. It is remote with lovely grounds, especially if it is sunny so you can sit out. It is sort of shabby-chic, comfy and warming, definitely not boutique, but with so much quirky charm. Having said that the beds are big, really comfortable and with lovely linens and the plumbing works! The furniture beyond that is eclectic - a bit of a mish-mash but lovely for all that. The staff, Valerie especially, are wonderful and very caring of you and really make an effort without being "all over you". Dinner is fabulous, in 3 visits we have never had a bad one, the menu is varied and seasonal and who does not love little amuse bouche? it's just a wee treat - and if you go to bed hungry it's your fault! Breakfast is great, none of the dried out hot-buffet here, it is all fresh, toasty hot to order with beautiful eggs. Maybe more fresh fruit would be nice (and plain yoghurt) but that is being picky. Oh, and scrap the brash No Smoking signs in the bedrooms, we all know you don't !! It is well worth fitting in to any trip to Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: Do try and get rooms overlooking the front or side - we have stayed in 1, 2 and 3 and all were great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

When looking for somewhere nice to eat around the Ballymoney / Ballymena area we were very happy to find that Ardtara Country House offered dinner to non-residents. Upon arrival at this very well-maintained country house we were shown into a sitting room/bar lounge which had a lovely gas fire on. The decor is country but kept nicely minimalist and not over done with knick-knacks. We were immediately offered the menu to loook at and asked whether we wanted drinks to start. The meno was very enticing comprising of a 6 course menu for the very reasonable price of £30 per person. After submiiting our order we were left to relax for a few more minutes before being shown to our table in the dining room which was woodpanelled with interesting horse & hound wallpaper around the border. The dining room is comprised of approximately 8 tables of varying sizes set at angles to eachother and well distanced so does not feel cluttered in the least. Nice crisp white linen tablecloths. Dinner began with an offering of breads including olive, onion and sundried tomoatoe. All of which were lovely. 1st course was a mini caesar salad folloed by our choice of starter - salmon mousse which as fabulouisly light served with red onion and brioche. Next was strawberry sorbet. Quite frozen. Then on to mains where we opted for the steak. Perfectly cooked and served with brandy cream, crisp onions and giant chunky homemade chips. Yum. For dessert we had a sticky toffee pudding and cheese board - and again, yum! To finish we had our tea in the lounge before settling our bill which came to £92 as we had a bottle of red (£19), a side of honey carrots and 2 supplements for steak. Overall we really enjoyed our visit to Ardtara and will definitely return, maybe even for an overnight!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFB0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upperlands
22.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,957 reviews
10.8 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
8.6 mi away
Apparo
Apparo
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,326 reviews
13.3 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
954 reviews
22.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtara Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtara Country House

Address: Hotel & Restaurant 8 Gorteade Road, Upperlands BT46 5SA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Upperlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upperlands
Price Range: $157 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardtara Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA "Best Guest Accommodation Northern Ireland 2016/2017"; 4 Gold Star & 2 Rosettes 2016; Best Hotel Restaurant 2015. Ardtara Country House Hotel is nestled in ten wooded acres in the heart of Northern Ireland where guests can lose themselves in the serenity of our 19th century rural Victorian estate. For the ultimate escape from reality, guests can relax in one of Ardtara’s uniquely decorated bedrooms after enjoying exquisite fine dining in the hunting themed Clark Restaurant. Renowned for our intimate service, we welcome guests to our conservatory for private dining, Sunday lunch and afternoon tea, which can also be enjoyed in the drawing room. Whether you are a shopper, country sports enthusiast, golfer or countryside explorer, Ardtara is within 15 to 60 minutes drivetime of key visitor attractions including Giant’s Causeway and the picturesque north coast, Titanic Belfast, Dark Hedges, made famous by Game of Thrones, Seamus Heaney’s HomePlace and Lough Neagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardtara Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtara Country House Hotel Upperlands
Ardtara Hotel Derry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing