We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn to present yourself please!”
Review of Hotel Siracusa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Siracusa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melilli
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The reason for this title is that we spent 2 hours to find this hotel. Our reservation was through NH website, we entered GPS coordinates stated there, but ... we were lost! We tried to enter the adress in return, but it did not exist in the database of our TomTom. Imagine this happens in the dark, after 19:00. Just by luck, after making 2 attempts to the west from the main road, my wife saw the Best Western sign from afar, and we were saved!

First, be informed that the coordinates they give on NH website is wrong, it points to a parallel road where you come across only industrial plants, which are, naturally closed after work.

Second, be aware that the address stated is not present in most GPSs and phones.

The lady at the reception calmly told me the address I should give to the GPS, which is different from the address on the website. I did not try it, and I won't give it to you here, because I do not want to take the responsibility. Ask the hotel.

The hotel was nice. I would describe it as an Ibis with a bit larger rooms, a higher quality furniture, a more comprehensive breakfast.

If you intend to go around Siracusa into the inner parts of Sicily, the place is ideal. Ortigia is 15 min away and you have a free parking lot. Ortigia takes (without visiting museums of course) about 1/2 day, so you can explore inner sections for the rest of your time. We went till Vittoria from the seaside and returned from inland through Ragusa.

You must keep in mind, that you have to have a car in order to stay at this hotel for leisure purposes, because there aren' t any public transport options. But its location is extremely convenient for excursions, because downtown traffic is a nightmare all over Sicilly.

A strange thing I must point out: the hotel was full, but there was only 2 other female guests except our wives and 4 of the staff. Most customers seemed to stay there for long term contracts in the industrial zone where the hotel actually resides. We came across an astonished Turk who is a German resident, saying that we were the first Turks he had ever seen there during many years he visited the place for bussiness. Breakfast started at 6:30 in contrast to many Italian hotels, and shuttles came to pick bunches of workers up, beginning from as early as 7:00.

Smokers, be warned that you will probably get a room on the ground floor where windows open only partially due to security concerns (they say). If you are going to stay long, do not forget to request the lock on the window be released, beforehand, because windows are also 1/3 rd height of the room.

Another peculiarity of this hotel, is that they are either short of staff, or they have hired twins as staff, because the girl I saw at the reception in the evening, was working at the breakfast room the other morning.

One thing they didn't tell us, was that you could request capuccino or some other type of coffee at breakfast, other than nescafe that was available at the counter. We are tea people, but the water in the kettle was never hot, so a coffee could be a saviour. Besides that, breakfast was typical BW, but rich in pastries. On the other hand, the layout of the buffet was impractical. They had put kettles at the farthest end, where access was obstructed by a table and people waiting for the toaster, so inadvertantly a line formed. An unnecessary discomfort.

Would I stay here if I come back? Definitely! The staff is very nice, willing, and they respect your privacy if you hang the "do not disturb" sign.

Room Tip: The hotel has only 2 floors. Any room from the front on ground floor means you will be visible to tr...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CemKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Siracusa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Not the place to stay if you want a pretty outlook. However, the staff are exremely friendly and helpful and the location is good for travelling around - we went to Syracuse and Etna. The hotel is modern and clean. We arrived quite late and got a very good meal in the restaurant without any trouble. Extremely good value. We would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I spent one night there: it is in front of a big commercial center and not far from the old town of siracusa. The rooms are quite new and the price-quality value is good. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andrews007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We are a family of four with two teenagers and stayed at this hotel for one night. Given our itinerary we needed something not in Siracusa itself to avoid traffic but close to the highway and with plenty of parking and most important economical. This hotel fit our needs perfectly including the free parking. It’s a former Holiday Inn that was built fairly recently and has since been converted to the Best Western chain.

The young lady in reception was extremely friendly and helpful. We promptly got our two adjoining rooms and as an added bonus a complimentary large bottle of water per room. That was a nice and unexpected gesture. Also since it was late and we didn’t feel like a heavy meal in the hotel restaurant we asked if there were any other choices available. The young lady got on the phone and ordered pizza for us from a local pizzeria. That’s customer service!

The rooms were large, clean and quiet with modern furnishings. The bathrooms were a nice size with modern fixtures. The air conditioning worked very well and as well we had free WI-FI service. The breakfast area is large and airy. There is a good selection including some fantastic prosciutto and of course great Italian coffee.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rossq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My sister, brother-in-law and I stayed a night at this hotel while touring Mount Etna/Siracusa area. We had not booked anywhere to stay one night and were delighted to come across this new (one year old) hotel on the outskirts of Siracusa which offered excellent rate rooms including breakfast.

It is a spacious, conference-style hotel with quite large bedrooms - they were well-equipped and quiet. We had a problem with the air co in one of the rooms and were immediatly offered an alternative room.

The buffet breakfast offered cereals, fruit juices, yogurts, ham, cheese, eggs and bacon, two sorts of bread and a range of sweet pastries. Unfortunately the scrambled eggs were poor and the only fresh fruit was kiwis. It was satisfactory but slightly disappointing considering the overall quality of the hotel.

Two important factors : the hotel offered free wifi and there was ample free parking outside the hotel.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

The hotel is located about 15 minutes driving from downtown. It is new, clean and the room was rather big. There was a medium level continental breakfast: there was a lot of sweet and salty food but the average quality was not so high. The staff was very kind: they gave us all the information we required about touristic attractions and they booked for us a nice restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerryVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Noi abbiamo preso una camera standard, ma non mancava assolutamente nulla...
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patrizia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela R, Direttore at Hotel Siracusa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melilli
3.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
2.1 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 74 in Syracuse
403 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
#10 of 74 in Syracuse
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#12 of 74 in Syracuse
1,022 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 74 in Syracuse
1,276 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siracusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siracusa

Address: Contrada Spalla, 96010 Melilli, Sicily, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Siracusa)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Melilli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melilli
Price Range: $71 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Siracusa 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Siracusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Syracuse
Express Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Holiday Inn
Hotel Siracusa Melilli, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing