We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, great ambience, brilliant service by the owner”

Il Giardino del Simposio
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Sermoneta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Historic and charming restaurant in Sermoneta, close to the famous Ninfa gardens , known as one of the best restaurants of our province famous for its cuisine and original dishes simple and elegant. It owes its fame to Fabio Stivali medievalist restaurateur and television personality.Cucina tipica sermonetana ,non facente uso di grassi animali burro panne e pomate.Solo Olio extra vergine d'oliva.Posto molto indicato a chi apprezza la dieta mediterranea e la cucina semplice di un tempo.Il posto dispone di circa 40 coperti ed è consigliata la prenotazione.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, great ambience, brilliant service by the owner”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We visited the Giardino del Simposio in a family group and had the best meal of our holiday. The owner of the restaurant greeted us personally and prepared one of the pasta dishes at our table. He recommended the dishes and the wine and his choices were excellent. The spaghetti with truffles and trombolo oil was especially good as were the main courses of fish and meat. We expected a pretty big bill at the end of the 5 courses with wine, but it was far less than we had paid for other smaller meals at supposedly better restaurants. The ambiance of the small garden was very quiet and relaxing and I would definitely recommend this restaurant. Can't wait to return myself!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiosermoneta, Proprietario at Il Giardino del Simposio, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review, we will be always a great marvel happiness with our dishes.

  I hope to soon

fabio Boots and all the staff of the symposium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    112
    28
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Medieval flavors with fresh and local ingredients”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I visited the beautiful village of Sermoneta (LT), 40 miles south of Rome, while on vacation with my family. After walking around this splendid fortified village that transported us back to the Middle Ages we ended our tour at the restaurant "Il Giardino del Simposio" where we had a dinner to remember. Nested in a small outdoor patio with live trees and enclosed by stonewalls (therefore the name giardino) this small and quaint restaurant took us by surprise. From the passionate description of the recipes from Fabio Stivali (owner/chef), to the delicate, and ancient flavors of the dishes, from the friendly atmosphere of the “al-fresco” Italian dining to the freshness of the ingredients provided by local farms. We were impressed and well fed without breaking the bank. If you have a chance try it and be open to the intriguing recipes of this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mennato F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiosermoneta, Proprietario at Il Giardino del Simposio, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you so much for this nice review, I hope to see you again Sermoneta.
Best regards
Fabio Stivali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An enchanted garden”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

On a recent visit to the beautiful medieval village of Sermoneta I decided to try out 'Il Giardino del Simposio al Corso', the summer site (in winter they open only 'Il Simposio al Corso') a small restaurant run by Fabio Stivali, an expert on Medieval cuisine. I was especially intirgued by his use of 'trombolotto', an EVOO condiment produced by him, by pressing olives together with a specific type of lemon which grows in the area. The resulting concoction is then enriched with 14 kinds of herbs (in spring) or 10 (in the autumn). Stivali only uses excellent extravirgin olive oil in his dishes, and I must say that what we tasted on bread, a freshly pressed oil the colour of which resembled a brightly coloured citrine quartz, was absolutely to die for.
We ordered the house selection of medieval antipasti (crostini with olives, with roasted tomato paste, with peppers; fried artichokes; chicory, roasted peppers, grilled zucchini dressed with a must reduction); I had fresh pasta with porcini mushrooms and trombolotto, James had tagliolini with bottarga (dried mullet roe) and trombolotto, which is dressed and tossed at the table. My aversion to fish had prevented me from ordering this house specialty, but I have to admit that I was astonished at the delicacy of flavour of this sea product which I had always imagined to be over-fishy and over-salty. Instead it was delicate and somewhat nutty.
We were pretty full, so we ordered one main to share, the pork fillet with rosemary and pistachio sauce and stewed eggplant, and it was delicious. All was washed down with a local red wine from Villa Gianna, quite pleasant. We had no room for dessert but were curious, so I had the medieval pear with apple sauce, wild sour cherries and roasted chestnuts in syrup, while James had the anglo-italian 'zuppa inglese', an Italian take on (what I think must be) trifle. The explanation for this dish was that the local Marquess Caetani married an English Lord in the '50s, thus influencing local culture and infusing it with British nuances. With this we were offered a shot of home made sour cherry liqueur, which was slightly alcoholic and divine. All condiments are home-produced and are available for purchase

The dishes are priced 6, 8 or 12 euros. So it's all very reasonable and DELICIOUS!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lalunanelpiatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiosermoneta, Proprietario at Il Giardino del Simposio, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thanks to be back in the garden to celebrate the birthday of her husband.
I hope to see you soon
Fabio and Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“trombolotto e simpatia”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

nella simpatica cornice di una terrazza spartana nel cuore di sermoneta, il giardino del simposio è un ritrovo accogliente che lascia soddisfatto il palato. Buoni i tagliolini trombolotto e bottarga, sperimentati nella sorpresa al limone (poco igienica ed un pò volgare), ottimi gli strozzapreti ricotta mandorle e finocchietto selvatico (magari un pò sciapi), l'arrosto alla cardinale un pò invernale ma squisito. Per finire il dessert, zuppa anglosermonetana con visciole, delizioso e fresco.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peschetta831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiosermoneta, Proprietario at Il Giardino del Simposio, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Google Translation
Bho! non ho capito bene ma comunque mi adeguo.
Grazie lo stesso
Fabio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino del Simposio also viewed

Sermoneta, Province of Latina
 
Sermoneta, Province of Latina
Sermoneta, Province of Latina
 
Sermoneta, Province of Latina
Sermoneta, Province of Latina
 

Been to Il Giardino del Simposio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing