We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Dinner”
Review of Simposio al Corso

Simposio al Corso
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Sermoneta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $43
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Historic and charming restaurant in Sermoneta, where you can still eat things simple and elegant on the palate. Known as one of the best places of our province famous for its cuisine and original inspired by the late Middle Ages and the history of the Caetani family and the famous gardens of Ninfa close to the country. . It owes its fame to Fabio Stivali medievalist restaurateur and TV personality and his excellent products such as jams and sauces in extra virgin oil, including the famous salsa of wild lemon of the Templars, "The Trombolotto".
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had the privilege of attending a private dinner party here in November 2013. The owner was gracious and fun. The service was great and the food was awesome. There was plenty of food and it flowed flawlessly. I would highly recommend this place. Can't wait to go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ConnieGroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiosermoneta, Proprietario at Simposio al Corso, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thank you to the heart of the beautiful review on behalf of all the staff and we hope to have you back as our guest soon.

Fabio ed Angela Stivali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 401 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We came across Fabio's place in our quite random visit to Sermoneta. By mere chance it was open. Fabio, who is the owner of the place, welcomed and took good care of is in a very polite manner. Antipastis were great, especially the carciofis, which he grills and serves in a special manner. Surprise of the day was the tagliolino, serve with the special lemon sauce he himself invented and bottarga he delights with cognac. Magnificent! We really regretted sharing it as we also wanted to taste the second plates, which were also very good. One can simply go to this restaurant to taste this special pasta. I recommend it highly. Do call before you go as they are not working all the time.

Thank efrasiyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiosermoneta, Proprietario at Simposio al Corso, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you to the heart of the beautiful review on behalf of all the staff and we hope to have you back as our guest soon.

fabio ed Angela Stivali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

There are lots of places to have a good meal in the little beauitiful medieval village of Sermoneta south of Rome in Lazio. I think I counted about 8 inviting restaurants, which is amazing for such a little village. So, there is lots of competition. Simposio al Corso is a highlight among them. Here you are in the right place, if you look for something special, for overwhelming creative Italian kitchen on highest level, but only slightly more expensive than in a "normal" good restaurant in Lazio. Tasting Tagliolino Trombolotto - created after a medieval recipy - kept me busy for hours reflecting all those exciting tastes in my mouth. The owner explained the dishes, which vary from day to day, in details, also in English, so bring time - it's a real slow food. The setting of the restaurant is very nice, too, directely the historic centre of Sermoneta.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WolfgangMWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiosermoneta, Proprietario at Simposio al Corso, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

I want to thank you very much for your wonderful review and confirm that we will do everything not to disappoint you in the future of our journey. And thanks for coming in Sermoneta.

See you soon

Fabio and Angela Stivali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Yesterday a friend and I stopped in here to see if by chance we could get a table without a reservation, not realizing the first place we tried (Il Giardino del Simposio), that was full and had quite a wait, was run by the same family. Simposio al Corso is run by Fabio's (Giardino) wife and she greeted us warmly with a big smile and was happy to seat us immediately at the only available table, that had just been vacated. We were treated to the most personal and courteous service I have experienced in a long time, clearly they love their profession and treating their guests as family. She and the staff chatted with each table and were excellent at advising on their menu and local specialties. We loved the wine they proposed (Vigne del Borgo Sauvingon Blanc) and we chose the full fixed menu for 30 euro each, which I highly recommend and is a good value given all that is included and the amazing quality and good-sized portions. All the plates were fabulous, perfectly prepared, and delicately and uniquely flavored. Not to be missed are the Strascioni alla Marinara (round flat pasta w/mussels and broccoli and homemade trombolotto and bottarga sauces) and Campagnola al Pistacchio e Visciole (roast pork w/eggplant, pistacchio, basil, rosemary and sour cherries), both local specialties and to die for. We were there for three hours enjoying ourselves and taking our time to get through all the courses and the owner encouraged us to relax and take our time even after all the other guests had left and they were cleaning up. What a lovely experience, it made our perfect day in the vibrant, charming medieval Sermoneta even more memorable. This is my restaurant when in Sermoneta now.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank romalaurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiosermoneta, Proprietario at Simposio al Corso, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

But thank you, really a wonderful review ..
I hope to see you soon in Sermoneta.
Salutoni

Fabio and Angela Stivali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had an excellent experience at Fabio's (Owner & Chef) hideout in beautiful Medieval Sermoneta. Trust his suggestions as we did, start with antipasti and the suberbly fried artichoke's Lucrezia style, the and you'll discover his secret pasta dressing Trombolotto which when added to Orbetello's Bottarga (fish eggs) makes the "Tagliolini al Trombolotto" a unique and unsurpassed pasta dish, a dream of delicate flavours. Then try a taste of the meat dishes as "Campagnola al pistacchio e visciole" and "Arrosto Cardinale" followed by great deserts. Fabio's cellar will provide you with a selection of unsual quality labels of regional wines. The service is fast and friendly. Freat place. Go & enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Romanbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiosermoneta, Proprietario at Simposio al Corso, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

When the perfect diner sits at the table, then start the challenge! I amaze, shocks him and then zac trombolized ... result! a lot of compliments thanks also to the beauty of Sermoneta ... What to say for me it was a great honor and pleasure to have you in my restaurant ... I hope to soon ..

Fabio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simposio al Corso also viewed

Sermoneta, Province of Latina
Sermoneta, Province of Latina
 
Sermoneta, Province of Latina
 

Been to Simposio al Corso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing