We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelming, mindblowing....”
Review of Oud Sluis - CLOSED

Oud Sluis
Price range: $0 - $201
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Monster, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Overwhelming, mindblowing....”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

After having reserved more than a year ago, since we wanted to sleep at the Oud Sluis guesthouse (Chico Y Luna) as well we had dinner at this amazing place.

Everything in this restaurant is well thought of, not only the foo, but the whole service, the interior, etc, etc. If you sleep in the guesthouse they have their private taxi picking you up and returning you to the guesthouse in style.

The guesthouse is almost similar to the whole restaurant and boasts the same style and feeling to it.The room is beautiful, the breakfast the next morning is a sort of continuation of the dinner the night before. If you go to Oud Sluis make sure you book the guesthouse as well, it will make your waiting somewhat longer, as they only have 3 rooms, but it will make the total experience even better.

We took the Père et Fils menu which was excellent, but certainly a lot of food as we had 14 servings, including the amuses / appetizers and different (3) desserts. Which to me was overwhelming and probably to much...

The food was excellent though and great in every way, so many different tastes ! Really brilliant.... The pairing of the wine and the food was amazing to, we took the wine menu that was offered but choosed to take half glasses, which was really smart as 10-12 different (full) glasses of wine would have been really to much.... So my advice to you, take the half glasses offer, you will still almost be drunk if you are not an experienced drinker !

Last but not least, the price of everything. That is mindblowing too, we paid in total 795 euro, which includes a night in the hotel (205 euro) and 2 Père et Fils menus, unlimited water (12,50 euro per person, smart concept) and the wine menu with half glasses (60 euro per person).... Is it worth it !? I don't know, I am happy that I could have the experience, but it seems to me a once in a lifetime experience !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliceesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    10
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevele, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best experience ever!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Yesterday we went to celebrate our 20th marriage anniversary in Oud Sluis and it was amazing. Everything was just perfect: the food, the wine, the staff and the ambiance.
We started with 5 beautiful appetizers and then chose the big menu (Père et Fils). I have never experienced this, but every plate was delicious, beautifully served, had a good combination of tastes ...
After having visited many starred restaurants, for me this is certain: Oud Sluis is the best restaurant I know.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stefandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Out of this world !”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

After a long wait (we made a reservation in Feb.) we went for dinner here with friends. Expectations were very high and we were ready for a dissapointment. When we entered the restaurant, we were welcomed like friends and shown to our table. We arrived at 19:30 and left at 00:45. In that period we received about 30 different dishes. All of the were spectaculair. Even combinations which seem strange (herring with sour-milk) taste excellent when prepared by Sergio and his crew. There was not one single dish in the whole array that we did not like.
Many of the ingredients used are from local sources and each dish had surprising elements.The food and wines were served at our pace. As fast (or as slow) as we liked. We never felt hurried or felt we had to wait. The waiters were friendly and could talk about food, wine but also other things. Sergio came to thank us for our visit.

The experience was not cheap but worth every cent. It is an art, both visually and for odeur and taste. Everybody that is a food fan should go here at least once in a lifetime. I have added some pictures to give you an impression.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top European restaurant”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

top european is understated; should be top world. Every single detail is perfect.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Just Perfect !”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

For me this was an amazing experience. almost impossible that Sergio Herman can do this. The food was so good that we took (in the big menu , when you had to choose) the 2 main courses, k and desert and the cheese, this in the big menu. We really wanted to be sure to taste everything :-) . You have to go there once in your life.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vierkeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oud Sluis also viewed

Cadzand, Zeeland Province
Sluis, Zeeland Province
 
Sluis, Zeeland Province
Sluis, Zeeland Province
 
Sluis, Zeeland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing