We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful serenity!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla San Cristobal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Perezoso Del Mar
Bocas Del Toro, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful serenity!”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My spouse, my mother and myself spent 2 nights and 3 days at this beautiful location. Wonderful ocean views from all rooms. The rooms were well appointed and spacious. The queen size bed was super comfortable and the netting around the bed was very cozy and romantic.
Continental breakfast was provided, yogurt, cereal, fresh tropical fruits, several fruit juices, bread, butter, jam, milk, coffee and tea. Fully stocked kitchen.
The bathroom was very spacious with double sinks.
Wonderful breezes and ocean views. Access to the water. Beautiful reef directly in front of the dock. Wonderfully warm water and almost total seclusion.
Owners very friendly and helpful. Susan and Izzy provided a lovely meal on our second night there. Beautiful table settings and wonderful conversation.
Our hosts took us sailing and we spent many ours just swimming and snorkeling in the calm ocean.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lioness5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Molinos Boquete
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

What a beautiful island, totally away from the hussle and off by yourself. If you want a place to really get away this is it! Susan and Izzy are very hospitable, picking you up in their boat to whisk you away to their paradise. There are water sports, swimming, FOX news, movies, and anything you could want to relax on the beautiful Caribbean, yet no one else on the entire island, except for Susan and Izzy. Breakfast is more than you could imagine with fresh fruits, breads, yogurt, cereal, milk, coffee, juice, etc. right in your own "casita". The only drawback we found was no air conditioning, but lots of ceiling fans. We did get a little warm, but for you people from up north, warm is always wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrysford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Casa Selva del Mar was just right for us as we wanted to be out of the fray but near enough to interesting things to do.

It's even better than the website suggests!

Izzie and Susan have created beautiful, relaxing and comfortable villas away from it all but with all of the necessities. They were very accommodating, yet we had plenty of privacy. The villa was clean, the morning muffins were yummy and the surroundings very high quality with every attention to detail.

They picked us up at the airport, we went shopping for groceries ,and hopped on their boat to head over to Cristobal Island. As we approached their place, I knew we had made the right choice.

We had dinner prepared by them the first night which was excellent and we cooked our groceries, happily in our villa on other evenings. The kitchens were well stocked with everything needed.

The beds were comfortable, the fans cooling and the TV and Internet were a lovely way of touching base while still removed from the bustle of home. The hammocks on the Lanai were a favorite place to read.

They arranged two excursions for us which were excellent. One to a chocolate farm and great restaurant and another snorkeling and to Dolphin Bay Hideaway and Red Frog Beach. We felt we saw a lot and from the best vantage point as the water taxi and tours were pre screened. Anything we needed they were very helpful with and we enjoyed their company.

Bonus: We saw a sloth behind the villa happily chilling in the crotch of a tree.

This is highly recommended for people who want to be quiet in a beautiful setting. If you like a party atmosphere this is not right for you. If you want to feel quietly away from it all but with knowledgeable access to all that Boca has to offer this place is worth considering.

Room Tip: Both villas are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladedalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The facilities at Casa Selva del Mar where just as expected and explained through their website...only better! The landscaping and views off the porch were just amazing. We partook in dinner cooked by Susan one evening - which was just delicious. They delivered muffins or breads and fruit each morning for breakfast.

The owners took care that our needs were met for water transportation to Bocas for diving and a little alcove for brick oven pizza from an Austrian chef! We utilized the kayaks and snorkeled the reef right off the dock. Leaf-cutter ants, sloths, toucans, parrots, stingrays, and various reef fish were animals that our family enjoyed observing.

Do go heavy on the bug spray, as the no-see-ums (as we call them in Florida) are terrible at certain times - we hit one of those times!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

To put it simply, my wife and I had a wonderful 2 nights stay with Susan and Izzy at Casa Selva de Mar, on Isla Cristobal, a stones throw by water from Bocas Town. We stayed in one of two villas, large detached bungalows, set on a substantial rise overlooking Bocas sound. Quiet with great fauna and flora – beautiful flowers and landscape, with the evening toucan visit just off the porch. Open, breezy and well designed and maintained. Lots of fresh water and a welcome shower at the end of the day. About a 12 minute boat ride from Bocas Town, and a singular late night rescue from Bocas back to Casa by Izzy in a forbidding storm – a story forever.

Easy arrangement of a pickup at the Casa for a ‘tour’ that turned out to be the 2 of us and dolphins, beaches, snorkeling and a beautiful sunny day – you get it. Arrived by air, met by Susan and the drop off by Izzy at Almirante for a cab over the hills inland. A great visit to Bocas, wonderful hosts and a great stay at Casa Selva del Mar.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darwinstwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Casa Selva del Mar is great get-a-way that is out-of-the-way, without being too-far-away. Susan and Izzy has two beautifully designed and made cabins that are spacious, comfortable, well-appointed with spectacular views. Casa Selva del Mar is a quick boat ride away from Bocas Town. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missamerica1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karpathos Town (Pigadia), Greece
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We booked Selva through internet. Response from the owners came very fast and so was our reservation request handled. Upon arrival in Bocas we were greeted at the airport by Izzy and taken to the lodge by boat. Both Izzy and Susan were very polite and friendly.
The two houses on offer are fantastic: Big and spacious, independent from each other thus offering this unique privacy and peace one could only dream of during a romantic holiday. They are very well equiped and maintained. Fully equiped kitchen, nice lounge, big bedroom and bathroom with shower. Verandah surrounding the house with fantastic views of the caribbean. A very quiet location in nature. Bocas town only accessible by boat and we would not recommend traveling at night as this could be dangerous. So if you are in for a noisy night life, this is not the place for you. Hi speed internet in each hosue free of charge. There is also one laptop in each house for free use, tv, dvd etc so leave your gadgets behind (needless to say that we did not turn the tv on)
We really enjoyed our stay there so much that we decided to extend for 3 days, totalling 9. Wish we could stay longer... Susan helped out with all questions and requests and arranged everything we asked for (eg excursions, boat trips etc). Owners travel regularly to Bocas town on their boat so they can drop you off for shoping and bring you back safely. I appreciated Izzy's driving skills! Nonseeums could be a nuisance so be prepared! Avoid full moon nights. After all you are in the forest!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papageo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla San Cristobal hotels
0.0 mi away
Nathylodge
Nathylodge
#1 of 1 in Bocatorito
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay Hideaway
Dolphin Bay Hideaway
#1 of 2 in Isla San Cristobal
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
CocoVivo Retreat
CocoVivo Retreat
#1 of 4 in Isla San Cristobal
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Perezoso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Perezoso Del Mar

Property: Villa Perezoso Del Mar
Address: Villa Blvd 1 | Isla Cristobal, Isla San Cristobal, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla San Cristobal
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Isla San Cristobal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private villa bed-and-breakfast on a rainforested island overlooking the sea. Located on Isla San Cristobal in the Bocas del Toro archipelago of Panama, 15 minutes from Bocas Town by boat. Two 1-bedroom solar-powered villas each with kitchen, luxurious furnishings, satellite TV, wireless internet. Each perfect for a couple, but can sleep up to 4. Coral reef 150 feet from shore, free use of snorkels, fins, kayaks. Property Manager lives on site nearby, service 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Perezoso Del Mar Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla San Cristobal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing