We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homa Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karibuni Eco-Cottages
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

10 of us stayed here for 9 days and it was a great experience. The location is beautiful, surrounded by fields and the villages. The compound was really well kept. The cottages were fantastic to stay in and got attention every day by the staff there. The staff were welcoming and made the stay extremely enjoyable. The food was amazing with 3 meals a day provided for us (lots of choice for vegetarians too) I would recommend Karibuni to anyone who wants to experience Kenya the proper way.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathchamberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We visited Karibuni on the middle weekend of a two week voluntary mentorship project at nearby Homa Bay hospital. A phone call to the helpful manager Risper (0724 066281) booked our cottage and once we were on our way she liaised with our Matatu driver, via a fellow passenger, so we were dropped off at the junction where we were welcomed by a staff memeber who accompanied us to the compound. The women's group was just finishing but there was a lively and friendly atmosphere about the whole compound. The simple hut had all we needed and the freshly prepared food was good. We were interested to hear of the diverse aspects of the project, particularly the outreach work and peer mentorship in schools. We also heard of the plan to support the replacememt of expensive-to-run and dangerous kerosene lamps with robust solar rechargeable ones, this being run as a community project. We were offered the chance to visit one of the project member' s home and enjoyed the walk through the partially cultivated laand, learning something about local customs and culture as we went. In the afternoon Karibuni hosted the girls groups with football, singing and drama and play for the younger ones. Risper halped us arrange a local vehicle and driver the next day and we started early to visit the nearby Ruma National park where we saw a good variety of animals (giraffe, zebra, antelope, including the magnificent Roan antelope and rhino) but no other vistors until the time came to leave. We returned to Homa Bay delighted to have had this chance to see and learn about the life and challenges local people face and inspired by the way in which they are being supported to develop their own capacity to cope with these. A great weekend break and an inspiring place. We urge you to visit if you have the chance, we don't think you'll regret it. Charles & Sue CS, Dorset, UK

Room Tip: The trafitional huts are fine but there are more modern alternatives too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlesCS_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I spent three months at Karibuni from March-June 2012 whilst volunteering for Team Kenya. The compound was well presented and the friendly staff were always on hand to help. The place had a real homely atmosphere. The rooms were clean and well looked after and the food was delicious thanks to Millicent the cook. The experience as a whole was unforgettable and I will be visiting again soon, this year or next. The compound is in distance of Lake Victoria and the amazing national park Ruma. There is lots to do in the area, however if you are looking for somewhere to relax and unwind too, then this is the place.
See you soon Karibuni!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The cottages are Eco friendly and run by local people, and a far cry from the tourist hotspots in Kenya. Excellent value, with a trip up Mount Kenya and a short but exciting trip to the Mara, it offers a wonderful experience.. The whole holiday cost less than £ 1500

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LittleHev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I made my first visit to Karibuni in October 2012 as part of the charity Team Kenya - but it certainly won't be my last! The compound is beautiful and well kept, and the experience of staying in traditionally constructed huts was unforgettable (although there are more modern cabins available!). Karibuni forms the hub of Team Kenya's activities in Ndhiwa, and there are always many people, young and old, coming and going. It is an alternative destination, offering an opportunity to gain insight into the lives of normal Kenyans. It is within reach of traditional spots such as Ruma NP and Lake Victoria, but you can also choose to become involved with volunteering activities which I would wholeheartedly recommend! The place is utterly tranquil, the staff very welcoming and the experience unmissable!Get out there if you possibly can!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've been visiting Karibuni for a number of years now, as a volunteer for a charity called Team Kenya, of which the cottages are a project. It is like a home away from home, with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere and staff who are there to ensure you have a great stay. You can choose from the traditional Luo mud huts or a more modern brick built hut, both have solar powered electricity.

Karibuni is like a retreat, away from the tourist trail and the hustle and bustle of the towns and cities, but within reach of local tourist attractions like Ruma national park.

If you're looking for an authentic Kenyan experience, a place where you will get to know the local people (especially the kids!) then Karibuni is a great choice.

You can choose to get involved with volunteering activities or just relax in the shade of a tree in the beautiful gardens.

I'm heading back out to Karibuni in October 2013 and I can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vicclesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homa Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hippo Buck
Hotel Hippo Buck
#2 of 4 in Homa Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
ACK Guesthouse
ACK Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Homa Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diakonia Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Homa Bay Tourist Hotel
Homa Bay Tourist Hotel
#5 of 7 in Homa Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Karibuni Eco-Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibuni Eco-Cottages

Property: Karibuni Eco-Cottages
Address: Ndhiwa, Homa Bay 40300, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Homa Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Homa Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karibuni Eco-Cottages are situated in Ndhiwa in Western Kenya. Karibuni is a great place to stay whether you are an overseas visitor or Kenyan resident. You can relax in pleasant surroundings, soak up local Luo culture, get involved in community projects or use the cottages as a base to explore. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing