We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nuwakot's The Famous Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Again, thanks to Tony a beautiful creation, using local buildings, staff & labor to make a very special place for guests.

The location is tricky to find especially at night, which did remind us of our lodge in Bali. Sometimes you have to travel to get to a special location...

Every angle is a great photo, would have liked to see more food growing in the garden implementing Permaculture principals for a dry climate zone.
Would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ecolodgebali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Nuwakot's The Famous Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

The lodge is a blend of rustic European farmhouse and Newari typical architecture. All very charming but remember to duck as you enter and exit rooms for the low doorways and the ladder style staircases would be tough for the less-fit, elderly.
The food was excellent -dinner the first night comprised Nepali Thali - selection of different dishes both vegetarian and non veg. such as dahl and egg curry served by candlelight and the staff were nothing if not generous with seconds and thirds of anything!
There a severe water shortage in non monsoon season, the gardens were barren. But the petting zoo was in full swing - For children and those of us big kids who loves animals, there were many furry friends to feed, pet and play with - puppies, donkey, pony, goats, rabbits and fowl. I would echo one reviewer's comment that the animals were not as well cared for as one would hope. Several water bowls were empty on a hot, dry day and as soon as I filled one water bowls in the courtyard, the chickens went berserk - clearly extremely thirsty.
For walks in the area, we really enjoyed going into the town Nuwakot Bazaar and visiting the temple and palace/museum there. A 10 minute easy walk. We did summit the nearby hills but the views were disappointing - would be worth it after a good rain storm to clear all the haze and pollution.
Driving to the Farmhouse took over 3 hours due to the heavy traffic on the Pokhara road but at least the road is reasonable shape by Nepal standards and only the last section up to the town of Nuwakot is truly winding. It is very important not to take the Kakani road which on the map appears to be the most direct route. From previous experience, I can attest to the fact that it is just one hairpin bend after another, and sections of road without paving, making it a real challenge for the motion sickness pills.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We loved the 3 nights we spent in the Famous Farm because of the friendliness of the staff, their attention, the silence, nature, the views, the adorable rooms and the lack of luxuries and internet. Food is done with passion and coffee the best i had out of the capital so far. Only downside i did wish that the animals at the farm would have been cared after a bit better.
Go there if you want stunning views over the area, nice little walks and sweet encounters with the local people. dont go, if you need WiFi, TV and Minibar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place was a little piece of heaven the village is a short walk away -small but very pretty. The farm is really a place to sit and relax to recharge. We stayed 2 nights butcould have stayed longer . There was nothing I disliked at all but if you are looking for action it may not be for you. We sat and read, wandered down to the village , enjoyed the good food took a walk to see Himalaya s and generally unwound,. There is a very pretty garden with lots of quiet corners.the farm itself is traditional Nepal, very sweet, clean and just pleasant to be in. The staff are great. I would return if I come to Nepal again and stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: We travelled in a group so saw many rooms -All seem to be nice
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our compliments to the management and staff of Famous Farm for providing what has to be the best customer service in Nepal. We came here for a spring weekend away from Kathmandu, and serenity fell comfortably upon us the moment we crossed the threshold into Famous Farm. It's hard to exaggerate how charming this small hotel is, and how peaceful it is to recline under one of the mango trees to read while also looking out over the beautiful Nepali hillside and the ancient palaces of Nuwakot. The food and service were perfect. The new puppies that ramble around the premises are adorable. Bravo. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bzchrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We recently spent a weekend with family and friends at the Famous Farm, and absolutely loved it. Tastefully done in traditional Newari style, the two hotel buildings set around a courtyard are charming beyond words. The service provided by friendly and efficient staff was excellent. And the view of the hills and the Nuwakot Durbar Square beyond was stunning. The food was made with care that tasted yummy, served in the pretty courtyard with potted flowers (and butter lamps in the evenings)! The only downside with the hotel was that the ceilings were very low, making it a challenge for tall guests to walk around with ease. The walk to the Nuwakot Durbar, only 10 minutes away, was like walking into the middle ages. We also hiked up to the two little temples, Kalika and Malika Mandirs, on top of a hill. The view of the Langtang Himal and Ganesh Himal from there was simply magical! We found out that there is a shorter, and less bumpy, way to Nuwakot via Galchi, making it a two and a half hour trip from Kathmandu. The conventional way, via Kakani, makes a bumpy three hour ride.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruba R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I live in Kathmandu, and am always looking for the perfect weekend getaway - this is it! My mum visits each year from the UK, and this is by far her favourite spot.

A beautiful old style newari house set amongst gorgeous countryside looking over the historical fort. What better place to sit and be served delicious fresh coffee in the morning. The rooms are quaint - and you'll need to have your feet and head about you to get up the wooden stairs and duck through the doorways. The only improvement I would suggest, is to improve the mattresses and pillows, they are rock hard and can prevent a decent nights sleep if you're not accustomed to that.

The staff are wonderful. They've had some serious customer care training, and know when to check if your needs are met, and when to leave you alone to your own thoughts.

1-2 nights is all you need if you're just here for a couple of weeks, or post trek.

The downside is the price. It is expensive by Nepal standards. But you are paying for the priviledge of staying in this jewel of a spot, the excellent service and the uniqueness of the architecture.

I'll be back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissBeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwakot
16.9 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,188 reviews
18.2 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
18.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 16 in Nagarkot
382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Water Tower Nuwakot
14.9 mi away
Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Shivapuri Heights Cottage
#7 of 452 in Kathmandu
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuwakot's The Famous Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuwakot's The Famous Farm

Address: Kuwapani Nuwakot | Near Nuwakot Bazaar, Nuwakot Nuwakot-2, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nuwakot
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Nuwakot
Price Range: $111 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nuwakot's The Famous Farm 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Nuwakot's The Famous Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Famous Farm Hotel Nuwakot
Nuwakot's The Famous Farm Nepal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing