We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at The Famous Farm in lovely Nuwakot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nuwakot's The Famous Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Stay at The Famous Farm in lovely Nuwakot”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We had a really great time here. It's a beautiful old farmhouse with a lovely garden. The hospitality is wonderful. The food is delicious. The matress was uncomfortable. The Saatale Durbar palace of King Prithvi Narayan Shah is impressive. The old bazaar is unspoiled.

Room Tip: I think only one room doesn't have a bathroom attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nepalwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    20
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
29
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nepal
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Another great guest house beautifully restored and run by Himalayan Encounters (also the Old Inn in Bandipur). We stayed for 2 nights and could happily have stayed longer. The gardens are full of flowers and trees and an orchard has been planted on the lower terraces. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the set meals were always tasty and well prepared. The dal bhat was one of the very best! My one grumble is that the mattresses are really uncomfortable for me. I love the old building, the old-style rooms,and the old furniture..............but a comfy modern mattress would be a fine thing! The surrounding area is great for walks and just a few minutes up the lane there are good views of the mountains, but it was hazy when we were there. It's just 10 mins down the lane to Nuwakot Bazar which is quiet and friendly, with some old Nuwari houses and it's not yet ruined by ugly concrete development. Nuwakot Durbar - Prithvi Narayan Shah's palace - is very interesting and there's a great view from the top.

Room Tip: Each room is different and they vary in size, so if it's not too full you might get to choose fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nepaleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed here for one night as part of a wider tour of Nepal and would have gladly stayed for longer. This is a beautifully situated property which has been lovingly restored, and has plenty of character. The view from the hotel is stunning and the service is second to none. Our breakfast was particularly tasty, really yummy farmhouse grub (the spicy tea alone should get a special mention).

Only negatives were that there was no hot water and our room was maybe a bit on the small side for two people. However, the place was full of rustic charm which definitely makes up for any minor gripes.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seren79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Nuwakot holds a strong place in nepalese history so we decided to see the village ,our friend suggested this farm house.Wow! was our first word when we entered the place.
It is a Newari house restored , brilliant ambience overlooking the Nuwakot palace, village and the river Rooms are clean with complete local touch Service is personalised. Most of the food made was from fresh farm vegetables .
If you are looking for a quiet weekend getaway this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This spot was a delightful surprise. The location is sublime--on a hilltop overlooking a beautiful river valley and the ancient village of Nuwakot with its 300-year-old historical buildings and temples. I loved staying in the immaculately-restored Newari farmhouse. My room was spacious and airy and VERY clean. The meals, prepared with organic vegetables from their own garden, were delicious. And the staff were wonderful. I felt like I was part of a big warm family who only cared about making me comfortable. After the noise and chaos of Kathmandu, this place was a piece of heaven. Even though it takes a while to get there, I am strongly urging people looking for a comfy taste of village life to add this little retreat to their itinerary.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We just had 2 really lovely nights at the Famous Farm. The farmhouse is just picture perfect and the food was really great. I think it is a little on the expensive side but there are some lovely touches - eg real jam for toast (hard to get in Nepal), some local fresh produce, great meals (although they are set meals), hot water bottles in your bed at night, some lovely spots in the garden to rest and relax and a really lovely welcoming atmosphere. Our only concern was that with a young baby the rooms are not very sound proof and we were worried about waking other guests when he cried!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The Famous Farm is definitely not a hotel. Essentially it is a well designed and decorated trekking lodge but without the normal food choices you get from other trekking lodges, without proper trekking and at an extremely high price. We paid $95 a night for a family room and expected $95 value (which normally gets you an awful lot in Nepal). What we got was less value than we've had from $5 a night hostels on the Annapurna circuit.
On the positive side the staff were pleasant and did try hard but the reality is that the Famous Farm offered a very limited service. Please save your money and stay in a real lodge somewhere, not this over-hyped and over priced version. If you want a $90 experience in this country, choose a quality hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris_smith017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwakot
16.8 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 204 in Kathmandu
1,184 reviews
18.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 204 in Kathmandu
1,093 reviews
18.2 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 204 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 204 in Kathmandu
1,216 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 18 in Nagarkot
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Water Tower Nuwakot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuwakot's The Famous Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuwakot's The Famous Farm

Property: Nuwakot's The Famous Farm
Address: Kuwapani Nuwakot | Near Nuwakot Bazaar, Nuwakot Nuwakot-2, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nuwakot
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Nuwakot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nuwakot's The Famous Farm 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nuwakot's The Famous Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Famous Farm Hotel Nuwakot
Nuwakot's The Famous Farm Nepal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing