We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The personal touch”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bank House Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Thurnham, Lancaster District, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leigh H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The personal touch”
Reviewed August 4, 2019 for a stay in August 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Veronica and Alan made us feel very welcome.
The most important thing of all to myself and my family was the personal touch they offered us. Communication up until the point we left was amazing and we will be recommending the bank house cottage to friends and family alike.
Worth every penny for that family holiday in peace

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsdrew
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in rural location.”
Reviewed August 4, 2019 for a stay in July 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a very relaxing few days in this lovely cottage. Beautiful location with all round views. Very well equipped and tastefully decorated. The conservatory was particularly nice to spend a relaxing evening, as was the hot tub. Lots of things to do near by and Veronica and Alan were very friendly giving lots of help and local information on places to eat and things to do. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisamc170...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage highly recommend”
Reviewed July 26, 2019 for a stay in July 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Wow what a break we had here! We stayed for 2 nights my husband and I with our 3 children. We all loved it so much. As soon as we arrived at the cottage I fell in love with the scenery. The cottage itself is immaculate and spacious. The owners Veronica and Alan were so friendly and helpful made us feel right at home which was lovely. Veronica gave me lots of ideas on places to visit with the children which was so helpful. We loved the cottage that much we didn’t actually do any of these things as we weren’t there for that long but we will definitely be back for longer and do some of the things Veronica mentioned. Living in the city it was wonderful waking up in the morning in this stunning cottage and looking out your window and seeing the countryside around you. The hot tub was amazing and super clean! I also loved the conservatory at night time it was lovely to sit in here with the fairy lights on. The kitchen was also fab well laid out and good sized. The bedrooms were nicely decorated with very comfortable beds best sleep I had in ages! All in all this was an amazing cottage no bad points at all! I could go on all day about the things I loved about this place and the couple that own it. I would definitely recommend a visit here

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Clea...
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed July 21, 2019 for a stay in July 2019
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely 4 night break in the cottage. Veronica was great sending messages prior to our arrival which was very helpful. The cottage is meticulously clean and has all of the amenities you would need. We hired the hot tub for £50 which was great value. Lots of local pubs and nice places to eat.

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend getaway!”
Reviewed July 11, 2019 for a stay in July 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Just wonderful! What a beautiful place indoors and out! We all loved the place that much we are making it an annual trip! Highly recommend!

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream5982...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility Personified!”
Reviewed July 1, 2019 for a stay in June 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a lovely weekend at Bank House Cottage. It's the perfect place to get away from it all and unwind. We were doing a skydive on the Saturday so Bank House Cottage was ideal for that. The cottage itself is immaculate with everything you could need. The sea is right on your doorstep and a stroll to the remains of the abbey is a must to clear away the cobwebs. Definitely take advantage of the hot tub! To sit there with a chilled glass of something and watch the wildlife and listen to the birds is just idyllic! Veronica and Alan (the owners) were most welcoming. Definitely will be back - with or without the accompanying skydive!

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet098414...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway in the most beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed July 1, 2019 for a stay in June 2019
1
person found this review helpful

The area in which we stayed is absolutely great. There's so many beautiful seaside walks to do a matter of minutes away from the cottage and 15 minutes away by car are plenty more. The cottage itself is really private, spacious and clean with the most beautiful views in all directions. We spent the days doing the most gorgeous walks and the evening in the garden cooking a BBQ then down to the local club a 5 minute walk away from drinks and entertainment. The hosts were absolutely fantastic, we were made to feel so welcome and everything we wanted/needed was catered for. The hot tub is amazing! All in all, it was the perfect girls getaway!

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing