We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh, how I wish the room had been available the following night, too!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thurnham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Oh, how I wish the room had been available the following night, too!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We only stayed one night, but so so so wish we could've stayed another. If we're ever back in this part of the world, we will be here, feeding the ducks, eating the yummy yummy food, playing in the playground, enjoying the lovely surroundings, retiring to our fabulous apartment, and all for an absolute bargain price!! The staff were all great, too. Love it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryHomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    158
    40
    25
    16
See reviews for
181
264
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Once we found it, which thanks to Satnav was a little confusing, we were delighted from the moment we drove up the drive to the minute we checked out.

Beautiful Hall and gardens, friendly and helpful receptionist, great site map, parking opposite apartment and the actual unit far surpassed our expectations!

We booked for a 2 bed apartment for 4 adults but ended up ringing to request how much extra for 6 in total - nothing it was free as they had to stay on a double bed settee!

Lovely stone buildings with 4 apartments in our bit, great laminate flooring throughout entrance hall, 1 double bedroom with disabled ensuite (actually a whole wet room), one twin room and a lovely large open plan, dining-lounge-kitchen area with french doors onto a patio and communal gardens.

Two large sofa's (one was a bed), lovely furniture, large flat screen tv with freeview, fully equipped kitchen with fridge, freezer, cooker, toaster, kettle, dishwasher etc and all the bits including cleaning stuff you may need.

Fantastically decorated and well maintained - we were overjoyed and wished we had stayed for the whole weekend as the grounds we beautiful and the facilities superb.

No hesitation in recommending this and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emskiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Booked this hotel last minute on the web, didn't know anything about it at all. We only paid £48 for a family of 4, on the MAY day weekend.
We were allocated a room set apart from the main building, but it was lovley. We had one bedroom, a sofa bed in the living room, our own kitchen and a conservatory. It was all beautifully decorated and modern- it even had a power shower.
I would definately return to this hotel, we had a lovley relaxing time in very clean, comfortable surroundings. The restaurant was a little pricey, but the food was delicious.
The leisure centre staff were the only thing that let this hotel down, as they were very unwelcoming.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teacher18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We booked a one bedroom appartment at Thurnham Hall for a relaxing and romantic night away. This turned out to be a beautiful, spacious and well equipped bedroom, living area, kitchen and two large bathrooms in a lovely tranquil setting. Staff were very helpful and the leisure facilities are clean, quiet and ideally located. Although we did not try it during our stay, there is a retaurant located in the main hall that offers meals at a reasonable price. We really enjoyed our stay and found Thurnham hall to offer excellent value for money; we will definitely return in the future for more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
2.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,282 reviews
13.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
916 reviews
19.0 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
2,297 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
982 reviews
11.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Property: Thurnham Hall
Address: Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing