We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”
Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thurnham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Have stayed before but in the new part, this time we were in the hall itself. We were given the Priest Hide Suite and what a experience. Never used the bar or restaurant this time, but did have a leisurely stroll around the grounds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybee047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
It is lovely to read our comments. We hope to see you soon!

Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    166
    45
    25
    18
See reviews for
196
283
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We are Diamond members and have stayed at Thurnham Hall 4 times in the past and always had a pleasant time. This time we stayed over spring bank holiday weekend for our wedding anniversary. The accommodation we stayed in was really nice but that was the only pleasant part of our stay. On the Saturday when we arrived we were unable to get a table to sit in the bar/lounge area due to a large wedding party. We therefore went to Pine lake for something to eat came back late evening expecting to be able to sit in front of the fire place and have a glass of wine the wedding was in full swing and guests and children running around outside. Later around 11.30pm we went for a walk around the grounds before going to bed there were children running around the grounds chasing the ducks. On Sunday we went out for the day and returned to find another wedding party in the hall and again we were unable to get a seat or have a drink, even if we had done in would have felt intrusive to be among a wedding. We checked out on Monday explained to the receptionist we were unhappy and would have been better if on checking in been told there were weddings all weekend, the weekly activity sheet for bank holiday had several activities on that obviously couldn't take place due to weddings. I asked why this weekly sheet wasn't given on check in which is normally the case and I was told the printer was broken. To top it all we were then asked to pay a bar bill, even though we had already told reception we were disappointed to not use the bar at the weekend. The receptionist asked if we had had a curtsy call prior to our stay which is usually normal practice with Diamond Resorts, I informed her we hadn't and she replied that is probably because we have been short staffed.The receptionist didn't know what to do as the bar bill had been charged to our apartment number. We obviously did not pay the bill. If weddings are taking place on certain days maybe this should be explained at check in and put on the website under events calendar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninnynoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We regret to read that you have been inconvenienced by the wedding reception taking place at the resort during your stay. It is true that over that weekend we had 2 wedding celebrations, However it now is a standard procedure to inform the guests of the weddings and should by any chance this information not be given at check-in, there should be leaflets found in the accommodations. We are sorry if this was not displayed clearly and will pass it to our reception team so they may be more careful. All guests should also receive the weekly program with their check-in documentation; during your stay we believe we were hosting our medieval day in which everyone was participating and information regarding this was available throughout the resort. The only activity that did not take place on the Sunday was the quiz. The reason being that the person that usually does it, the bell boy, was quite unwell.
We are very sorry for the issue with the bill you were faced with on check-out; we addressed this with the receptionist you confirmed you have discussed this situation, an apology was issued and you were informed you would not have to pay anything. We thank you for sharing your review with us and hope that we may have another opportunity to see you in the future.

Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Came over this place by chance and so glad I did. Booked it last minute via the booking.com website so got a great deal. We were looking somewhere close to the Lakes and this location was ideal. It is in a great place with lots to do. Lancaster was really near and worth a visit.

We had a 2 bedroom elite apartment and it was like a penthouse. It was so big we couldn't believe it. It had everything you could ever wish for and it was spotlessly clean. The beds were really comfy and there was nothing we could fault. We even had a dishwasher and a washing machine.

The restaurant on site looked lovely and a good food choice. We sat in the bar area and found the drinks were priced very reasonable. The main building is amazing.

It has a great country feel and it is beautifully landscaped. There is a playground and a gym and indoor pool. You need to pay extra for the gym and the indoor pool but this is only about £10 per apartment so not too bad.

We felt so relaxed and wish we had stayed more than one night.

The customer service was the best we'd ever experienced. Check-in was great and they even called us at 6pm to check we were happy. When we left we had an email asking for our views as well which we thought was a nice touch.

Lots of local nice pubs and restaurants nearby and walks.

If you book this place you won't be disappointed. Well done to Thurnham Hall.

Room Tip: Elite are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Making our guests feel welcome and creating a home like atmosphere are our priorities and we are glad to know that you were pleased with your visit and found our team helpful and resort clean and well appointed. We hope to see you again soon!

Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have visited Thurnham at least annually for the last ten years and have always enjoyed our holidays there. Our grown up daughters have also visited with various friends (at our expense!) and enjoy their visits. A range of accommodation, some old, some new - all have been very good in our experience. The bar is not the cheapest and the restaurant has been excellent but we have not used it recently. Refurbished leisure centre - very clean and airy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltonSmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are glad you have had many enjoyable visit to our resort!
Our restaurant onsite is franchised so we will pass on your comments to our food and beverage operator for you.
We hope you will continue visiting us!
Rosario Seabra
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

called in for afternoon cream tea, which was very nice. service could possibly have been a little bit better,some of the chairs were very low which made it hard to seat a older person, getting them in and back out again. this would not stop me going back. because i feel if i had asked im sure staff would have tried to help silve this matter, hope i will be lucky enough to possibly have one or two nights there to realy appriciate the hall and surroundings.

Room Tip: this was only a quick visit so cant comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flojoglo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for providing us with such lovely feedback.
Our restaurant is franchised so we will pass your kind comments on to our food and beverage manager. We do hope you come and stay with us soon!
Rosario Seabra
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Really impressed with Thurnham Hall. Lovely spot with excellent studio apartment. Spacious, well equipped and very quiet even though all apartments in use. Staff on reception and housekeeping were lovely and very helpful. Immediate responses to requests.
We were warned that there was a wedding on our arrival day but it did not inconvenience us at all.
It was a great base for seeing Lancashire and very close to Lancaster. Both pubs nearby were very good. We would come again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by studio apartment. It was very good and other larger apartments looked good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Many thanks for your appreciation and recommendation, it truly means the world to us to know that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We hope to see you coming back in the future!

Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We went to celebrate our anniversary and had a fantastic meal. The staff were charming and the food excellent - what more can I say?
We will definitely be back as it was such a fantastic place for a special occassion

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We will make sure that our restaurant team is aware of your compliments, thank you!

Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
2.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,344 reviews
19.0 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
11.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
1,035 reviews
21.9 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
760 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Property: Thurnham Hall
Address: Thurnham Hall, Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing