We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”
Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thurnham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Very nice accommodation, peaceful but close enough to Lancaster by car to get out and about. Meals in the restaurant lovely but no breakfast available which was disappointing.Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!
We are glad you had a great stay with us.
We will address your comments with our food and beverage operator to see if this is something we can offer in the future.
We hope you will visit us again soon.
Rosario Seabra
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    161
    43
    25
    16
See reviews for
186
274
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed in a diamond 2 bed apartment. It was fantastic. The grounds are kept to a high standard and the staff are very helpful and friendly. I could not have asked for more on our weekend break here. Excellent location for lakes or Blackpool. And some very picturesque walks. Defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are thrilled that your apartment was to your liking and that you were able to take advantage of the local area!We hope to see you soon.
Rosario Seabra
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

A sneaky two night break Sunday to Tuesday...what a treat!

This was our third visit and it won't be our last. A studio apartment (18) using our points with DRI was plenty big enough for the 2 of us and occupied a corner plot so the room had plenty of natural light. It wasn't a refurbished unit, however, we have no complaints about the standard of it. The bathroom was really spacious with a large corner bath and shower over it. The full kitchen was almost as well equipped as home and the crockery and cutlery was decent quality. Having a full fridge/freezer means that you can take food with you and not have to worry about finding a supermarket whilst there (although they're not too far away)/ There's not much that's missing!

The bed did 'squeak' a bit but sorted that on the second night by moving the mattress away from the headboard a bit. We're quick to moan but not usually so quick to find a solution!! Other than that the bed was ok and the bedding used by DRI is really comfy and I know a lot of people would like to buy it for home.

The grounds of the Hall are lovely and fairly well kept. Having perfect weather whilst we were there helped and we saw a fantastic sunset whilst sat in the bar with a lovely glass of wine.

We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and had a bar snack in the bar area on the second evening, both of which we enjoyed. Although the bill was incorrect when we ate in the bar area and we could have easily paid more than double if I hadn't been thinking when I went to pay at the card machine. Apparently the table numbers of two tables are easily confused!

The pool isn't huge but we don't want to swim miles so it suits us and it's nice being able to use the sauna and jacuzzi which are just by the pool. There are also some loungers and table and chairs which is great for those family members who don't wish to swim. The leisure club appears to have been refurbished since the last time we were there and it was very clean and had all the facilities you would expect or need. The gym looks ok and there were a couple of people using it but that's as far as I got (sorry..)

If you are looking for a relaxing hide-away you couldn't wish for anything more. We're already looking forward to our next visit which hopefully will be very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are delighted to read that you already are planning your next visit here at Thurnham Hall, thank you very much for your kind words, we do strive to achieve excellence at all we do and we are very happy to know that we have not disappointed you. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My Husband and I booked Thurnham Hall in 2012 for our wedding in April 2014. We were promised lots of different things for our wedding which wasn't delivered such as linen chair covers we were provided lycra/spandex if we had known this we would of hired linen ones.

The day before our wedding we arrived with a lot of stuff for the wedding items for the sweet buffet and confetti cannons for the photo's we had asked our photographer to take I had bought a cannon of each of our guests only 10-15 were put out so a lot of our guests didn't get one also the rest of the cannons were hidden somewhere which was a struggle to get back the day after with staff being rather unhelpful and rude in us trying to collect our items up some of which are still missing now items like table number stands and quite a lot of sweets that were put away to "top up" the buffet when things were getting low which were never to be seen again.

I had made a table plan for the co-ordinator so our nearest and dearest would be sat near us for the wedding breakfast, they couldn't of been further from us in the room if we had tried we didn't realise this until everyone was sat in the room. One of our guests chairs had three legs on the floor and one on the fire hearth. Also on the same table they were missing some bread rolls for the starter and toasting wine for the toast. My parents got a lap full of gravy and burns from the said gravy with no offer of a cold compress to calm the burn or the dry cleaning bill for the morning suit or my mothers outfit.

We had booked the gold drinks package which we expected each of our guests to receive a welcome drink after the ceremony, there wasn't many drinks served and also other guests who were staying at Thurnham Hall at the time helped themselves to them.

We had some problems with our wedding cake so only part of it was served. Although the top tier of the cake was fine someone took it upon themselves to bin it even though we wanted to keep tradition and have it as a christening cake for our first born child.

We were quite offended by a review in the guest book by an "owner" saying that our wedding had taken over the place. Maybe Diamond Resorts should inform people of when there is a wedding at Thurnham Hall so people can decide if they want to stay there or not, or maybe Diamond Resorts should charge a lot more money and make it an exclusive resorts for owners only instead of hosting weddings there when people are clearly not happy with it. Every other couple we had seen during our day who were not part of the wedding apart from this couple were very lovely and wished us well.

A few days after the wedding when our co-ordinator asked us if everything had gone well as she decided to leave early I wrote all these complaints in an email to her. What happened next wasn't really expected. Supposedly my husband and I was talking rubbish and we were liars obviously this email wasn't for our eyes and for her bosses eyes only needless to say I sent a copy of this email to her boss along with a reply. We have since received a phone call to say that she is no longer with the company and would we like a free meal at Thurnham Hall my husband and I don't feel that this would be a good idea considering that the co-ordinator was dismissed because of her email to us.

What gets me the most is that I as well as my parents have wrote an email to Mr Greenhalf the owner of Bowland Village Inns which we are still awaiting a reply. He must think that he is too important to reply to his emails. When ever I have had a complaint with any other company and I have emailed the CEO I have always received a personal reply from them maybe he needs to take a leaf out of some of their books.

So if you want to book your wedding at Thurnham Hall or any of the other Bowland Village Inns venues I would offer one piece of advice which is, unless you want a wedding from hell don't book.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batwoman2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, however we must admit that we are very surprised to read your comments especially following your kind words left in the guest book where you thanked us heartily for ‘making your wedding such a fantastic day’. We have of course referred your issues to the F&B provider who did confirm that although original arrangements were for 60 guest, the license was changed and only 55 were allowed and an appropriate discount was awarded to you.
We would also like to advise that the operator still has your cake and we believe you have made arrangements to pick it up - we never throw any wedding items away and subsequently we believe all sweet items, cannons etc. were arranged to be returned to you. As for the cannons – we believe you were advised that these are not normally allowed, yet as a gesture of goodwill we have allowed 10 to be distributed amongst guests.
Referring to the seating plan, this is always as per Bride & Groom’s request as we would never change their preference without authorisation and we believe that the room was showed to you prior to the party and you were satisfied with the set-up.
We are sorry if your parents were in any way inconvenienced, however were advised that this issue was addressed immediately, and although there appeared to have been no serious damage to the clothing we offered to cover any dry cleaning charges, this however apperas to have been refused in favour of a bottle of wine.
We would also like to kindly note that the coordinator is no longer employed but this was her decision, she was not dismissed following this incident.
Nevertheless, we are of course verysorry if you feel in any way disappointed with regards to this issue. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you wish to discuss this further, or arrange collection of your remaining belongings and the meal voucher which was offered to you.

Again would like to congratulate you on your marriage and wish you all the best on your future travels.

Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We arrived for our 4 day weekend break over the Easter Bank Holiday. Reception staff was very friendly and quickly had us checked in and into our One Bedroom Apartment( Suite ). Was very pleased with our accommodation and went for a walk around the Resort. Very calm & peaceful location. We all enjoyed the walk. As we were tired from the long drive from London, I arranged for our dinner to be taken in our apartment. The Bar & Restaurant Staff were very helpful & are a credit to the Resort.
Over the next 4 day's we roamed around Lancaster Town(Recommended) & Thurnham Hall & had a relaxing time.
The only downfall was the Internet connection as this was very, very, poor & complicated to get connected. More should be done to improve that service.
Overall a good stay & my wife & son enjoyed the experience !!

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor Apartment if with kids so they can go out to play directly on the well kep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm-kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Thurnham Hall, and that our team were able to provide you with all the assistance you needed while you were here. We’re sorry to read that you had issues with the internet connection while you were here, though – our team will be happy to assist guests with getting online if this is requested, and we are looking into changing our internet provider later this year, which should improve service and coverage.

We are really pleased that your stay here was a generally enjoyable one, and we hope you’ll consider us for future visits to the Lancaster area – we’d love to see you again!

Lorna Cardwell
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times and I love it. Everyone is happy to help and welcoming. Facilities are great, gym, pool, bar, restaurant. Only ever stayed in one and two bedroom lodges and always bowled over at cleanliness and lay out. This time had a one bedroom place with an amazing tear drop bath, and kitchen/living room opened on to a conservatory which was lovely. Always a delight to stay here and it's pretty to look at walking round

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corndog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are glad you had a great time with us.
It is great for us to read that you enjoyed your apartment and it met all of your holiday needs.
Do come back and visit us again soon.
Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four recently stayed in a 2 bed roomed apartment, within main hall (room 13) very we'll equipped with everything we needed, and was spotless - we couldn't fault it. Rooms were large and we'll decorated, with a lovely view over the pond - complete with ducklings. Kids enjoyed the pool. We paid for the wi-fi and son watched a football match online so it was adequate. Staff were all lovely, and gave us plenty of information on arrival and there was a folder in apartment with loads of useful information too. We would definitely stay here again if we needed to be in that area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank The-MorgansX4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are really pleased that you had a great time here, and that our team were able to provide you with all the assistance you needed during your stay. We really hope you’ll get another opportunity to visit Thurnham Hall – we’d love to see you again!

Lorna Cardwell
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
2.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,318 reviews
19.0 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
945 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,346 reviews
11.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Property: Thurnham Hall
Address: Thurnham Hall, Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing