We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at Thurnham”
Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thurnham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Returned from a relaxing weekend at Thurnham Hall, we stayed in a fabulous 2 bedroomed apartment, fully equipped with all you could need, great views watching the daily visit from the squirrel on the balcony! Dropped on a sunny day and walked to Glasson Dock and over to Condor Green - great area to explore and plenty more walks to do next time we visit - which we will - when the weather is dryer and we can go more cross country. Great pubs, and a couple of cafes and restaurants all quite near too. We used the hall's Gressingham restaurant twice - really nice food in a fab setting. Didn't get to use the pool this time. The bar area is very grand but comfortable too. Could easily stay for longer next time...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We also hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you here at Thurnham Hall for a longer stay in the near future. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit - thank you for sharing your feedback!

Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 704 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Come back from a lovely weekend at Thurnham Hall. Booked via booking.com for a 2 bedroom apartment. Luxury accommodation everything was perfect. Didn't really leave the apartment. Used pool and sauna, very clean changing rooms and pool area. Can't wait to go back hopefully will use bar and restaurant next time

Stayed: February 2014
Thank lottie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we are happy to know that you had a nice and relaxing stay in one of our apartments. We also hope to have another opportunity to see you back, until then we wish you safe travels!

Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked via our time share and it was the first time we had visited here. The studio accommodation was very spacious and very clean with friendly reception staff. We didn't eat at the Hall but did have a few drinks in the bar and found the staff again helpful. Their afternoon teas did look very inviting too. The grounds are well maintained and its in a lovely location to visit many attractions as long as you have a car. I am sure we will be visiting here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 27 which is outside accommodation and it was very peaceful here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank King66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are glad you had a lovely stay with us. It is great for us to read that you enjoyed your apartment and also the resorts grounds.
We hope you will visit us again soon!
Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I booked this as a stopover to break up a journey as it was close to the motorway, what a find, the Hall itself is very impressive and nicely decorated too, friendly staff and a great meal in the wood beam dining room.
The hotel rooms are really generous in size with modern solid furniture and those little touches that make your stay even better like heated towels, nice toiletries etc.
The rooms are set in stone built apartment blocks that at night look inviting with the lighting, I'm not sure if the Hall has accommodation but I will definitely stay again.
Friendly reception too.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank DibDibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad to read of your stay.
We are glad the apartment was to your liking.
We will be sure to pass on your comments to the food and beverage manager who we are sure will be thrilled with your comments.
We will look forward to your return visit.
Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Booked this for a friends birthday break.it would be nicer if you could book in earlier rather than after 4pm. Apartment lovely, nice big lounge, there were 5 of us, and the en suite bathroom was good to have. Great to have a dishwasher and a washing machine. Beds were very comfortable and the rooms nicely decorated, lots of storage space. Nice big tv and the DVD player a bonus.the bar meals we had were very tasty and not expensive. There was a male vocalist singing in the main Hall and he was great, singing our requests and singing happy birthday to our friend. It was a lovely break and we all said we would go back as it was so relaxing and peaceful. Pool area lovely and clean and we had a nice swim. Only down sides were noisy guest in apartment above us and banging doors. Reception staff were very nice as were bar staff. A hidden gem!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank MerseysideClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your kind review.
We are glad you had a great stay with us, your comments on the check in time are noted. We do always try to let guests check in early however, this is not always possible.
It is great to read that your apartment was spacious and well kept. We are glad you took advantage of the leisure facilities and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed for 5 days. Enjoyed the ghost tour, one evening. Pity the swimming pool was being renovated, so not in use. Lots to do in the area if you have a car. Not far from Lake Windermere, Beatrix Potter's Hilltop farm, Lancaster Castle with a tour of the old jail.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1o5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to know that you found the resort welcoming and the area full of attractions. We are sorry about the pool facility closure, unfortunately, works have to be done at some point, although we appreciate that the timing is never ideal. We are glad that you had an overall great stay - we hope to see you again soon!

Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

What an awesome find. My daughter and I booked a studio room in Thurnham Hall as part of our holiday club destinations. It was difficult to find at night as there is no street address as such and every road seems to be another hedge and car coming the other way. However, find it we did and rolled up to this lovely hall with lights ablaze. What a surprise when we learnt we were staying in the original building instead of one of the independent studios studded over the acres. The room was amazing! The Prince Richard room was larger than our lounge, had a fully equipped kitchen and a bathroom set in natural stone. Lancaster was a quaint 10 min drive away for groceries, Lancaster Castle and Lancaster Priory.
We used this as a take off to the Lakes district and up to Hadrian's wall for day trips.
The only down side was the facilities were being refurbished, but are open now... enjoy! The reception is 24 hours and the girls were so helpful. The ducks are an added attraction!
There is a function dining room and a smaller one for guests, but the food and prices were suitable. Highly recommended stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the Hall itself, but the reception will offer the best suggestions too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CindyM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

We are delighted to learn about your enjoyable experience and we hope that soon we will have the pleasure to welcome you back! Please do not hesitate to pay us another visit!

Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
2 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,427 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,559 reviews
11.2 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,125 reviews
19 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Address: Thurnham Hall, Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range: $58 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing