We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try consistently tepid water (at best) for a week !”
Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thurnham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Try consistently tepid water (at best) for a week !”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is lovely but the maintenance leaves much to be desired ! For an entire seven days we advised daily that there was almost no hot water, the best that was achieved was tepid ! But the final 'nail in the coffin' was reserved for our last morning, when after having breakfast and completed the packing, hey presto, icy cold water for our departing showering needs !
The Resort Manager was never available or busy or absent and in a very courageous fashion appeared to send the poor maintenance man to offer what platitudes he could.
However, we had a great time despite the shambolic situation of a lack of boiler maintenance and may well return when/if we can arrange for a 'backstop' hot water provider in the form of an alternative hotel ! This review is intend to help others avoid similar !

Room Tip: Avoid 'standard' accommodation, choose 'elite' if at all possible. Check for hot wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I am sorry there were maintenance issues during your stay and that the boiler in the Woodland View block was affected. For safety reasons we do have to turn this off until the external contractors have been able to ensure everything is in working order. Guests who stayed with us were extremely understanding and appreciated that situations of this nature were outside our control.
On check-out I understand that you requested to speak with me and the duty manager was more than happy to call for me. I am sorry you were unable to wait but myself and the resort team are more than happy to meet with guests and listen to any concerns which they may have to ensure their stay with us at Thurnham Hall is as enjoyable as possible.

Hopefully you will return to Thurnham Hall at some time in the near future.

Lorna Cardell
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    159
    41
    25
    16
See reviews for
183
269
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fishcross, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our accommodation was booked using our Diamond points - the quality of the little cottage was good - could have done with a deep clean - marks on the carpet and tiles in the bathroom were dusty and splash marked - a steam clean and a polish with a chamois are needed - apart from that though, everything else was spotless. The furnishings and bedding were really comfortable - with Diamond you know that you will get a brilliant night's sleep due to the quality of the beds and linen - that is a given no matter which country you choose to holiday in with Diamond. The quality of the restaurant if really good - the chips are to die for - even if you don't 'do' chips - try them. The bar is very quiet - such a shame - another example of holiday makers wanting to watch tv in their room - they should have stayed at home!!!! We didn't use the pool - we did look but were put off by the guy behind the desk wearing painter's overalls - we were confused about this - was he a receptionist or a contractor who just happened to be behind the desk???? We also were a bit put off by the fact that it seems that private swimming lessons take place in the pool - I know we could have checked with reception to see when these didn't happen, but why should we have to work round this - we certainly didn't want to be in a pool with children - been there, done that, got the t-shirt. We were also disappointed to see that the grass looked like it was getting it's first cut of the year while we were there - the lawn and little gardens had grass more than 1 foot high - they looked much nicer when we left as it had all been cut and tidied up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsinnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We’re glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Thurnham Hall and we are delighted by the feedback which you have left. Each of our apartments have their own dedicated maintenance weeks so wear and tear as described will be thoroughly addressed. We receive regular compliments about our beds and linen with guests even asking where they can buy them from.
There are designated sessions for private swimming lessons which our front desk team are happy to inform guests about. We are sorry if these took place at a time when you had planned to use the leisure facilities.
New contractors have just taken over the maintenance of the grounds so these should be kept to the usual high standard.

We hope to welcome you back soon.


Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent Christmas here and had a fantastic stay the apartment was excellent. I am disabled and the apartment we had was very well equipped for me with a walk-in shower etc. the main house was full of character and charm and at Christmas the fire in the great hall was roaring away. Defiantly recommend the place to stay

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Went to a wedding in June the setting was brill the food was very good and the price was alcohol was very reasonable
Worth a visit didn't stay here friends did and said the rooms were very good . We also found the taxi service back in to Lancaster very cheap

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank evelyn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed a week at this resort through Diamond Resorts International, and it was the ideal base for a holiday in the area. The resort facilities are good, and the place is well away from the hustle and bustle of the Lake District but close enough to commute daily. We did a fair few miles driving over the week to get to the places that we wanted to see, but the scenery was all part of the experience. The on site restaurant is first class, and not too expensive, especially when there is a 2 for 1 deal on the main course (but sadly only one free meal per party). I have been before, and I would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor apartment if you want easier access, and more freedom of movement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Thurnham Hall. It is very rewarding to learn that our efforts result in you feeling comfortable and we are glad that you have found our resort conveniently located and that you enjoyed your dining experience at The Gressingham Restaurant. We hope to have another opportunity to see you again in the future!

Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I spent the bank holiday weekend here in a 1 bed villa as my girlfriend stated "the villa was larger than her city centre apartment" It was clean, spacious and had everything you needed and more. The grounds were quiet and well kept with the staff being very friendly. The Leisure centre was again clean and just the right size. Only downside were the showers in the changing rooms were nothing more than a dribble if both being used.
The Restaurant was quaint and the food was of a high quality and good portions.
All in all a great location for a romantic or family weekend break. The resort was well cared for and did everything we needed to have a relaxed trip away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Well done Thurnham.

Room Tip: Apt 41 was a first floor apartment away from main building and lounge faced the greenery, Lovely and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mufclee337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We got a late deal and for the price this was fantastic value. In fairness you could easily have paid twice as much and it would still have been good value. Beautiful studio apartment with everything we needed for a night away for the 2 of us. Very peaceful middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: I would definitely say that this would be too quiet for teens. However, as adults on our own it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
2.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
13.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
19.0 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
11.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Property: Thurnham Hall
Address: Thurnham Hall, Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing