We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thurnham Hall by Diamond Resorts
Nearby Hotels
Lancaster House(Lancaster)
$141
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Lancaster M6(Forton)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Toll House Inn(Lancaster)
$123
$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$57
Travelodge
View Deal
Royal Kings Arms(Lancaster)
$84
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crofter's Hotel(Garstang)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Morecambe(Morecambe)(Great Value!)
$76
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    $77
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (720)
    Filter reviews
    720 results
    Traveler rating
    425
    188
    54
    29
    24
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    425
    188
    54
    29
    24
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsleisure centremain buildingduck pondbedroom apartmentgrounds are lovelyself cateringper dayroaring firefull kitchenwell equipped kitchendiamond resortssofa bedbar and restaurantrelaxing breakswimming poolliving areaexcellent accommodation
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    613 - 618 of 720 reviews
    Reviewed April 22, 2013

    This was my third visit to Thurnham and each time I've discovered something new. It's a lovely old hall, set amid open fields and countryside. The staff are always friendly and welcoming and the food is excellent.

    For such a small resort the gym is excellent, much better than most and it over looks the pool and has views across the lawn, so much better than being stuck in a dark room!

    There is a beautician on site offering the usual treatments and massages, which all helps towards a relaxing weekend.

    The resort have excellent information packs in the room, with ideas for places to visit and local walks, not to mention the history of the hall itself.

    The resort is small and compact and generally quiet, there are facilities for younger children, and the pool is shallow but it feels more of an adult resort.

    Our last stay was in a 2 bed unit, and we were very impressed that the en-suite included a large corner bath. However the main bathroom was a large shower only.

    • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Ruth C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

    We had our wedding reception and evening party here on the 13th April and it was brilliant I would definitely recommend it! Staff where friendly helpful and accommodating! The food was amazing cooked by clearly talented chefs and we are hard to please! and the room decorated beautifully! We couldn't have really asked for more!
    We also stayed in the hall and the room was lovely and kept in theme with the historic building as well as being clean and comfortable.
    The staff catered for all of our requests with no trouble particular thanks to Jane and lotta who did a great job.
    If I had to have one little negative it would be the attitude of one of the waiting on staff she was rude on several occasions to different guests but one person did not spoil our perfect day! Thanks to all :o)

    • Stayed: April 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Lucemctoose
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 20, 2013

    We had our wedding reception here on 28th December. It was at very short notice but the venue's staff managed to pull everything together within a few weeks. The library room was beautifuly setup. The decoration was perfect, the service was excellent and the chef was incredible. EVERY single guest commented on how good the food was. The bar even managed to get the locally brewed ale I requested the week before (Lancaster Red). Only downside was that when my wife and I stayed in the beautiful 11th century room (honeymoon suite stand in - they don't have an official one) we were supposed to check out at 9am and there was no breakfast! My wife and I only had our wedding attire and we had to get an my brother to rescue us with our bags. The staff were understanding though, as it was more like 10 by the time we left. Overall a great venue. The hotel wad also nice. If you stay here you MUST EAT HERE. it's the best food we had had in ages!

    • Stayed: December 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank albino_batman
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 11, 2013

    Have been meaning to write a review, as we so enjoyed this lovely place. It's a bit hard to find - we needed three stops to ask directions - but once you are there, you kind of feel like royalty, even for Americans like us. The grounds are extensive and peaceful, and the rooms are large and comfortable. The restaurant is excellent - the best Yorkshire pudding in the world - and really reasonably priced, especially given the prices in England at large. You can easily self-cater, however, if you can find your way back from the supermarket.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Jennifer S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 8, 2013

    We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and were amazed at the space. A very large lounge/diner/kitchen with a lovely balcony. One double bedroom ensuite and one twin with bathroom across the hallway. Very comfortable and clean. The hall is lovely with loads of history and has a priest's hide in the fireplace. We had drinks in the bar and ate in the restaurant and would gladly return to both bar and restaurant. The wine was good quality and the food was excellent.
    The staff were all very helpful and greeted us with a smile.
    The pool, although small, is pleasant. There is an adequate gym with up to date equipment, a sauna and a spa pool. Towels also available.
    There was always hot water and the apartment was warm and toasty.

    Lovely countryside and canal is nearby, also Glasson dock marina. There is a smoke house in Glasson and can recommend the kippers!

    Beautiful old church a short walk away. Gardens well kept and easy parking.
    Would gladly visit again in the future.

    Room Tip: We just requested a two bed apartment and left it with the hotel. Would think all accomodation to be of a high standard.
    • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank regency19
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

    Thank you for sharing such a positive review, we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your time at Thurnham Hall and explored the local area. Providing excellent service and giving our guests an opportunity to relax in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere is our priority and we are pleased that you are willing to recommend us to your friends and family. We are looking towards your next visit

    Lorna Cardwell
    Resort Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews