We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thurnham Hall by Diamond Resorts
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lancaster House(Lancaster)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Globe Hotel(Overton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Toll House Inn(Lancaster)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Kings Arms(Lancaster)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crofter's Hotel(Garstang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveler rating
425
188
54
29
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
188
54
29
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centremain buildingduck pondbedroom apartmentgrounds are lovelyself cateringper dayroaring firefull kitchenwell equipped kitchendiamond resortssofa bedbar and restaurantrelaxing breakswimming poolliving areaexcellent accommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
623 - 628 of 720 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a great weekend here. Had an apartment in the grounds of this lovely old Hall. The apartments are home from home, nice comfy beds and everything you need. The Hall has a great restaurant where we enjoyed a lovely meal then we retired to the bar with our wines to enjoy the singer on in there. We used the leisure centre, fitness suite and relaxing pool and sauna. Staff are friendly and welcoming, weve booked again for June!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 23rd feb 2013,my boyfriend took me for my birthday.The drive leading up to thurnham hall was beautiful it looks like a small castle,the reception area is small but you are only checking in and out very pleasant and welcoming,we stayed on the first floor room was very spacious with a large double bed,sofa,dining table,flat screen tv,their is a kitchenette leading off the room with every amenities that you need with a dishwasher excellent,then you walk down a small corridor to reach the bathroom with a corner bath beautiful,my boyfriend booked a meal for us in the restaurant, small but cozy,we had starters which was lovely then i ordered steak and they sent the wrong one out!!!!! but a lovely waiter called KEITH sorted everything out and made such a lovely fuss of both me and my boyfriend i forgot all about the steak issue THANK YOU KEITH!!!!! their is also a swimming pool and a gym and spa that you can use,we used the pool and jacuzzi and the steam room all lovely.would i stay and eat here again DEFINITLEY,cant wait to go back,THANK YOU THURNHAM HALL.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYNDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your review - we are really glad to read that you had a pleasant stay and felt well looked after by our fantastic team! We are looking forward to seeing you again, hopefully soon!

Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The weather was beautiful for February and so were the surroundings. It's the first time we have stayed in the Tarnbrook and the modern apartment had everything we could need and was very clean and comfortable. Both the bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean and well decorated. In the main hall the food and drink was a good standard and reasonably priced. The only criticism I could have was of the leisure facilities which now seem rather tired and dated and the changing areas weren't as spotless as they could be. The staff are very helpful and friendly and having to source an out of hours doctor for a prescription was very little issue. The best part of our stay was a visit to Jenny at the Aspire beautician lodge. The massages we had were amazing - probably one of the best ever(and I do have a lot!) We also took my Grandmother with us for her 94th birthday. She had a fabulous time and enjoyed the manicure and pedicure she had with Jenny.
We will be returning again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Thurnham Hall – thank you for your review! We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our guests, and we’re really pleased that our team were able to provide you with all the help that you needed.

We’re glad that you’re planning to return here, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards
Lorna Cardwell
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is our 5th visit to Thurnham Hall. We have only ever visited in February. We love the apartments which are very elegantly furnished and full of all the mod cons required for a relaxing and comfortable self-catered break. However, for those who want full hotel facilities, there is a good restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and evening dinner at mid-range prices. The Great Hall here is a delight. Perfect for afternoon tea. There is also a good sized swimming pool with sauna and jacuzzi as well as a gym. All of these leisure facilities and the restaurant are open to non-residents so the Hall provides a good local service in the quiet parish of Thurnham. Nearby is the city of Lancaster with many interesting places to visit and the beautiful Pennines just a few miles east. We love to visit The Stork pub just down the main road for an interesting menu and real fires!

Room Tip: We stayed in a one-bed apartment the first time and, since then, we've had studio suites either in the house itself (which we love) or in the grounds, which we also love! The suites are all very large and comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I are having our wedding reception at Thurnham Hall in April, last night we went for our included menu taster, and it was superb. Wonderful attentive staff who where interested and helpful. The food was delicious and really generous portions. We are now even more excited for our big day. Thankyou!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucemctoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

We are indeed thrilled that you have chosen Thurnham Hall as the perfect setting for one of the most significant events in your life and we would like to assure you that there is nothing that we would not do to make your day even more special. We are looking forward to being of service to you very soon!

Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews