We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thurnham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The weather was beautiful for February and so were the surroundings. It's the first time we have stayed in the Tarnbrook and the modern apartment had everything we could need and was very clean and comfortable. Both the bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean and well decorated. In the main hall the food and drink was a good standard and reasonably priced. The only criticism I could have was of the leisure facilities which now seem rather tired and dated and the changing areas weren't as spotless as they could be. The staff are very helpful and friendly and having to source an out of hours doctor for a prescription was very little issue. The best part of our stay was a visit to Jenny at the Aspire beautician lodge. The massages we had were amazing - probably one of the best ever(and I do have a lot!) We also took my Grandmother with us for her 94th birthday. She had a fabulous time and enjoyed the manicure and pedicure she had with Jenny.
We will be returning again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Thurnham Hall – thank you for your review! We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our guests, and we’re really pleased that our team were able to provide you with all the help that you needed.

We’re glad that you’re planning to return here, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards
Lorna Cardwell
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    164
    43
    25
    16
See reviews for
189
279
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is our 5th visit to Thurnham Hall. We have only ever visited in February. We love the apartments which are very elegantly furnished and full of all the mod cons required for a relaxing and comfortable self-catered break. However, for those who want full hotel facilities, there is a good restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and evening dinner at mid-range prices. The Great Hall here is a delight. Perfect for afternoon tea. There is also a good sized swimming pool with sauna and jacuzzi as well as a gym. All of these leisure facilities and the restaurant are open to non-residents so the Hall provides a good local service in the quiet parish of Thurnham. Nearby is the city of Lancaster with many interesting places to visit and the beautiful Pennines just a few miles east. We love to visit The Stork pub just down the main road for an interesting menu and real fires!

Room Tip: We stayed in a one-bed apartment the first time and, since then, we've had studio suites either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I are having our wedding reception at Thurnham Hall in April, last night we went for our included menu taster, and it was superb. Wonderful attentive staff who where interested and helpful. The food was delicious and really generous portions. We are now even more excited for our big day. Thankyou!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucemctoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We are indeed thrilled that you have chosen Thurnham Hall as the perfect setting for one of the most significant events in your life and we would like to assure you that there is nothing that we would not do to make your day even more special. We are looking forward to being of service to you very soon!

Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax, Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at Thurnham Hall wish we could have stayed longer! On arrival we were greeted by lovely receptionists who were very helpful during all our stay. Our studio appartment was excellent very spacious and very well equiped. Was dissapointed with check in time being 4.00 pm which we felt that we had lost our first day of our break. The cleaning ladies were cleaning our room at 3.30, my husband went to ask how they were getting on and was answered very rudely by one of the girls, my husband said to the girl that he was only asking a polite question and would have liked a polite answer, he was then very abruptly told to go away and not come back till after 4.00. On our first evening we chose to go out to the Stork for a meal and returned about 10.00 pm so decided to have a nightcap in the bar, it was completly empty, no atmosphere and the two bar staff couldnt be bothered to even speak to us, they took surlinest to a new level. 120 people staying there and only us 2 in the bar, WHY??? We had call to ask for the maintenance team, 2 men came straight away and they were brilliant, so different to what we had come across the previous evening, after telling them about the rudeness of the cleaning girl, they knew exacly who it was. On reflection we would certainly visit Thurnham Hall again but we would stay clear of the bar areas! We do know now that the bar and restaurant is franchised so it doesnt reflect on the Diamond club resort which is FIRST CLASS. The ducks on the duck pond is a lovely welcome when you arrive and yes dont forget to feed them!

Room Tip: We had studio no. 49 ground floor which is away from the main house but a lovely spot to stay with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t20sme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are very sorry to hear these comments about members of our team here at Thurnham Hall and have addressed them with our staff. Hospitality is very important to us and guests should never be made to feel unwelcome by any member of staff and any such behavior is not acceptable. We do hope this has not marred what appears to have been an otherwise enjoyable stay and that we will have an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Kind regards
Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I booked this hotel through hotels.com for a one night stay on the way from Manchester up north. I checked in and was greeted by a lovely girl in reception who helped me to my room as I had a lot of things with me.
The suite was very spacious, bedroom, bathroom, living room and kitchen. All very nice and clean. I was alone so didn't really make use of the space, it would be perfect for a couple or groups of friends.
The setting is beautiful, really peaceful and definitely worth a visit. Don't forget to feed the ducks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SacredTrickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Originally I was put off that Thurnham Hall is described as serviced apartments as I have had problems with those kinds of hotels in the past. However as soon as we arrived I was put at ease. The bar, restaurant and reception are set in a lovely grand hall with a roaring open fire, the staff of the reception and bar were extremely helpful and lovely. The views are stunning of the surrounding areas.
The apartments themselves are huge, we rented a studio apartment for the night which was bigger than my Manchester flat! There was a small porch to keep shoes and coats in then a door into the apartment itself, I was very pleasantly surprised. Big flat screen TV, sofa, dining table, wardrobe space, the kitchen has everything you could need (even a dishwasher!) and the bathroom is large and has a corner bath/shower. The heating was already on when we came in which was nice because it was freezing outside.
We used the leisure centre facilities in the morning after checking out which was nice, heated pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym. The staff, again, were lovely.
Would definitely recommend Thurnham Hall for a short or long break, it's great value for money and overall I had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyjanefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our 2 bed was on 1st floor of Woodland(see photo),not in main house.plenty of room,TV reception good(freeview channels),you can pay for internet(£5/day I think)or use your mobile/wifi/pc at your mobile costs
.All energy usage is electrical,and the cost is an excellent fixed £1.12/day for a 2 bed(a nominal amount) so no problems keeping snug.
The onsite sport facilities are a downside---pool,hot tub,sauna and keep fit gym.No other sport,no table tennis(table broken),no pool table(removed).
Lancaster worth visiting (with Sainsburys supermarket,we had big fridge with big freezer part),as is log fire in main house!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IHATEFRANKHARRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your recent stay at Thurnham Hall, we are happy to read that you had an enjoyable time here with us. However, we do regret that you have not been fully satisfied with the choice of activities available on site. Please be assured we appreciate your comments and will look into reintroducing some of the indoor sports facilities. We believe, nevertheless, that you had an otherwise pleasant stay here with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
2.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,328 reviews
19.0 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
756 reviews
11.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
626 reviews
13.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Property: Thurnham Hall
Address: Thurnham Hall, Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing