We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay”
Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thurnham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at Thurnham Hall wish we could have stayed longer! On arrival we were greeted by lovely receptionists who were very helpful during all our stay. Our studio appartment was excellent very spacious and very well equiped. Was dissapointed with check in time being 4.00 pm which we felt that we had lost our first day of our break. The cleaning ladies were cleaning our room at 3.30, my husband went to ask how they were getting on and was answered very rudely by one of the girls, my husband said to the girl that he was only asking a polite question and would have liked a polite answer, he was then very abruptly told to go away and not come back till after 4.00. On our first evening we chose to go out to the Stork for a meal and returned about 10.00 pm so decided to have a nightcap in the bar, it was completly empty, no atmosphere and the two bar staff couldnt be bothered to even speak to us, they took surlinest to a new level. 120 people staying there and only us 2 in the bar, WHY??? We had call to ask for the maintenance team, 2 men came straight away and they were brilliant, so different to what we had come across the previous evening, after telling them about the rudeness of the cleaning girl, they knew exacly who it was. On reflection we would certainly visit Thurnham Hall again but we would stay clear of the bar areas! We do know now that the bar and restaurant is franchised so it doesnt reflect on the Diamond club resort which is FIRST CLASS. The ducks on the duck pond is a lovely welcome when you arrive and yes dont forget to feed them!

Room Tip: We had studio no. 49 ground floor which is away from the main house but a lovely spot to stay with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t20sme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We are very sorry to hear these comments about members of our team here at Thurnham Hall and have addressed them with our staff. Hospitality is very important to us and guests should never be made to feel unwelcome by any member of staff and any such behavior is not acceptable. We do hope this has not marred what appears to have been an otherwise enjoyable stay and that we will have an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Kind regards
Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 704 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

I booked this hotel through hotels.com for a one night stay on the way from Manchester up north. I checked in and was greeted by a lovely girl in reception who helped me to my room as I had a lot of things with me.
The suite was very spacious, bedroom, bathroom, living room and kitchen. All very nice and clean. I was alone so didn't really make use of the space, it would be perfect for a couple or groups of friends.
The setting is beautiful, really peaceful and definitely worth a visit. Don't forget to feed the ducks!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SacredTrickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Originally I was put off that Thurnham Hall is described as serviced apartments as I have had problems with those kinds of hotels in the past. However as soon as we arrived I was put at ease. The bar, restaurant and reception are set in a lovely grand hall with a roaring open fire, the staff of the reception and bar were extremely helpful and lovely. The views are stunning of the surrounding areas.
The apartments themselves are huge, we rented a studio apartment for the night which was bigger than my Manchester flat! There was a small porch to keep shoes and coats in then a door into the apartment itself, I was very pleasantly surprised. Big flat screen TV, sofa, dining table, wardrobe space, the kitchen has everything you could need (even a dishwasher!) and the bathroom is large and has a corner bath/shower. The heating was already on when we came in which was nice because it was freezing outside.
We used the leisure centre facilities in the morning after checking out which was nice, heated pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym. The staff, again, were lovely.
Would definitely recommend Thurnham Hall for a short or long break, it's great value for money and overall I had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollyjanefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our 2 bed was on 1st floor of Woodland(see photo),not in main house.plenty of room,TV reception good(freeview channels),you can pay for internet(£5/day I think)or use your mobile/wifi/pc at your mobile costs
.All energy usage is electrical,and the cost is an excellent fixed £1.12/day for a 2 bed(a nominal amount) so no problems keeping snug.
The onsite sport facilities are a downside---pool,hot tub,sauna and keep fit gym.No other sport,no table tennis(table broken),no pool table(removed).
Lancaster worth visiting (with Sainsburys supermarket,we had big fridge with big freezer part),as is log fire in main house!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IHATEFRANKHARRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your recent stay at Thurnham Hall, we are happy to read that you had an enjoyable time here with us. However, we do regret that you have not been fully satisfied with the choice of activities available on site. Please be assured we appreciate your comments and will look into reintroducing some of the indoor sports facilities. We believe, nevertheless, that you had an otherwise pleasant stay here with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Lorna Cardwell
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights in between Christmas and New Year. We are Diamond Resort members which we booked using our points. The resort is lovely and our one bedroom apartment was huge. We didn't use the leisure facilities as I was recovering from flu so basically just chilled out during our stay, but the pool looked good and it wasn't very busy.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night, the portions were huge so wouldn't be able to manage several courses, but it was reasonable value etc.

The only thing I would say is they do weddings, which I can understand as its a great setting, but the guests take over the only lounge area at the resort and we felt like we didn't want to intrude on their day, therefore couldn't take advantage of the lounge bar after our meal and ended up just going back to our apartment. If you were staying longer this wouldn't be a problem but for us it meant we only had one night to enjoy the lounge with log fire etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillyR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Thurnham Hall! We’re sorry to read that your stay here was somewhat marred by another guest’s wedding celebrations – we make every effort to minimise disruptions caused to other members and guests in these situations, and we’re sorry that you weren’t able to enjoy the resort’s lounge area on this occasion.

We really hope that this hasn’t put you off returning for Thurnham Hall for another stay – we’d love to see you again!

Resort Manager
Lorna Cardwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We only stayed the weekend, however my inlaws are still there and are staying the rest of the week. We only came because of work/university commitments.

Fantastic location - tranquil location with little quaint country pubs nearby.
Fantastic pool/park/duck pond for the kids to keep them entertained and tired our little boy out - perfect for early nights and long uninterrupted sleeps.

Staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Perfect place just to relax and unwind

Room Tip: We were on room 45 which was really spacious and had the best corner bath ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I visited Thurnham Hall this Autumn. We had a wonderful stay. The amenities and grounds were splendid. Whilst there, we visited several local sites and spend a day in the Lake District and another day in the Yorkshire moors. We wished we could have spend more time there. Overall, a great holiday!

Brian and Mary Beth Phillips
North Carolina, USA

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
2 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,427 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,559 reviews
11.2 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,125 reviews
19 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Address: Thurnham Hall, Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range: $58 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing