We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place for a relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thurnham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went to Thurnham hall on a time share exchange. We were lucky enough to be in the main building in the Priests Suite. The appartment was very large, good kitchen, and behind the fireplace was a Priests hide, dating back from the reformation where the catholic priests would hide to avoid arrest or worse! very historic!! The area is great for sight seeing, the lake district and Morecombe within an easy drive, the surrounding coast and village are worth a look also. My only reservation is the the restaurant at thurnham has a limited menu, and in my opinion overprised for what you get . Howerver there are several great places to eat nearby, the Stork, and the Mill to name two. We had a wonderful week, and may well return

Room Tip: Main Building for hugh rooms and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    158
    40
    25
    16
See reviews for
181
264
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have just arrived at Thurnham Hall to a one bedroom cottage. It is great (just two of us). Hugh cottage with a large lounge, kitchen and bathroom downstairs and a double bedroom with en-suite upstairs. Great welcome clean and modern accommodation, can't wait for tomorrow to explore!

Room Tip: Choose one of the cottages, we had 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We felt like we needed a relaxing break and so chose Thurnham. We were not disappointed, the apartment was first class, and offered comfortable accommodation for 4 people, but with the bed settee it could be stretched to 6. The leisure centre, which is to be upgraded in about 12 months, offered a sauna, swimming pool, jacuzzi and basic gym. However the onsite restaurant, which is open to non-residents, was first class. We booked in for sunday lunch, and were so impressed ate there twice more during our stay. The portions were generous, to say the least, but the quality and presentation made the meal. Maybe not cheap, but for the quality, very reasonable. I fully expect we will return to enjoy this historic hall and good accommodation venue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYMANRUNCORN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Thurnham Hall is a stunning building set in beautiful grounds.
The reception staff were very welcoming and our room well appointed.
They rang us after an hour to check everything was ok and if we needed anything.

The Restaurant menu looked quite good and we chose our evening meal. This is where the problems began. The Prawn and Crayfish Salad had not seen a prawn or a crayfish - more like schrimp and ocean stick. My husband is a former fisherman who knows his fish.
The main courses and desserts were lovely.
On the Friday for our anniversary we decided to choose fillet steak and rump steak cooked medium rare.
The rump steak was perfect, The fillet ruined and brown right through. It was sent back to the kitchen and when 30 minutes later a replacement had not turned up we cancelled the order.
The restaurant staff were mortified and tried to sort it out for us. However, the lack of any management support was very obvious.

The Bar Staff Danni and Barbara were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. They were not supported at all by a duty manager more interested in the layout of a room for the next day's wedding than dealing with a major flaw in their kitchen.
GET A NEW CHEF.

There is an important issue with the electric showers in the rooms. They do not have any thermostatic control and go from freezing cold to scalding hot in an instant. The water pressure is so low as to leave one covered in soap and not able to shower properly.

Lumpy mattresses were very uncomfortable - when we checked out we did mention it and adviseed that new memory foam mattresses had just been installed. I think not, having one at home.

We pointed this out on departure and await their feedback.

I would recommend Thurnham Hall but just be wary of the restaurant and the showers.

PS The spa and swimming pool were nice althought the refurbishment next year is definitely need to bring the showers etc up to modern standards.

Room Tip: Check what type of mattress and shower in your apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolatemezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your break at Thurnham Hall. We take special care to ensure that our guests have a relaxing stay with us and we are pleased to learn that you have found the setting appealing and the apartment comfortable and well equipped. We are however quite disappointed to read that your restaurant experience was not satisfactory; we get a lot of positive feedback with regards to food and we regret that this appears not to be the case on this occasion. We have of course passed on your comments to the restaurant manager. Nevertheless, we are happy that you were pleased with the level of service provided by our staff who are always striving to provide excellent customer care.
Thank you for drawing our attention to the issue with the showers, this has been passed to our maintenance team to be addressed immediately. We are pleased that you have otherwise enjoyed your stay at Thurnham Hall and we are looking forward to welcome you in the future!


Kind regards
Lorna Cardwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Looking forward to a relaxing stay at Thurnham Hall did not get off to a good start. The rooms are clean and well kept but the resort is really let down by the reception staff that just don't seem to care about customer service. Communication is poor and if something goes wrong like they give your reserved paper away you are just greeted by a vacant stare and no apology. What could be the best place in the work to stay just needs to run buy some staff that care about what they do. Lots of little things just seem to be not quite right, it took 3 days for someone to clean the jacuzzi in the pool!? Luckily you don't have to interact with the staff and the accommodation is very good which kind of makes you put up with the poor customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0adR1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We’re really sorry that you were disappointed with the standard of customer service that you received during your stay at Thurnham Hall. We must advise that your review came as a surprise to us, as we hold our staff to an extremely high standard of service and have received no previous complaints of this nature – please be assured that your comments have been referred to the resort’s management team, however.

We really hope that this hasn’t dissuaded you from returning to Thurnham Hall for another stay, and we hope to see you again!

Resort Manager
Lorna Cardwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned from a week's break at Thurnham. After an initial hiccup over our booking, we were given a two-bedroom apartment in the grounds, which was superb in all respects. Furnished to a high spec the apartment was roomy, exceptionally clean and had everything you might require for self-catering. The bathrooms were luxurious and very warm. Comfortable seating in the sitting room area and light and airy throughout. In the Hall itself,the Reception staff were welcoming, efficient and helpful. The bar area (Grand Hall?) was very welcoming with a huge log fire to warm us. We ate in the restaurant and found the food to be well-presented, well cooked and generous in portion size. The surrounding area provided enough variety and easy access for a whole week's exploring. We would certainly return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinC683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemsworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having just stayed at Thurnham Hall last weekend (21-23 September 2012), we thought we'd share our less than satisfactory experience ...

We arrived on the Friday night having booked a '2-bedroom elite' apartment only to find that we had been allocated No 54 - a disabled adapted ground floor apartment - which we had stayed in previously approx 3 years ago.

The en suite bathroom is a wet room shower room in this apartment and, as we experienced before (and complained at the time!) the floor levels mean that the wet room floods towards the bedroom door. Luckily, the resort is aware of this and guests are provided with a floor 'squeegy' to mop up the flood!!! Very poor and less than the quality we expect in an 'elite' apartment twice in a row. We wonder how many more guests will have to put up with this before it is finally fixed? Expecially when the facility is meant to be used by less able-bodied people who must puddle through a flooded shower room and somehow manage to clear up due to a basic building defect?

There is no way that this apartment should attract premium rates given the continued ongoing problems.

Come on Thurnham Hall - get your house in order and sort this farce out once and for all!

Room Tip: Avoid apartment 54
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We’re really sorry to read your concerns regarding the apartment you stayed in at Thurnham Hall recently. We must advise that your comments came as a surprise to us, however, as we haven’t received any similar complaints from other guests who’ve occupied this particular apartment.

As you’re aware, the apartment you stayed in is specifically adapted for guests who require the use of a wheelchair. It will only be occupied by able-bodied guests if it hasn’t been booked a certain length of time before the check-in date, which appears to have been what happened in this situation.

The room has been purpose built as a wet room, and the slope of the floor is in line with regulations. While we do appreciate your concerns about water in the room, if the slope of the floor was changed to speed up the water draining it could make the area dangerous when wet.

Please be advised that the DDA-accessible apartment at Thurnham Hall also has a full bathroom with bath and shower in addition to the wet room.

We want all members and guests to be happy with their accommodation, and the resort would have been happy to look for alternative apartments for you if you had brought your concerns to the attention of the reception staff at the time they first arose.

We’re really sorry that you didn’t have a more enjoyable experience at Thurnham Hall on this occasion. We hope that you’ll choose to return here for another stay, however, and we look forward to being of service to you again.

Resort Manager
Lorna Cardwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
2.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
13.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
19.0 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
11.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Property: Thurnham Hall
Address: Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing