We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect......”
Review of The Cartford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cartford Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good points: The rooms have beautiful individual decor and are spotless with toiletries,hairdryer, t.v etc The food in the restaurant is amazing and at a reasonable price. The same food in London would cost 4 times the amount, others obviously think the same as it was very busy.The staff were lovely and friendly and you can tell they enjoy working there and it is set in a beautiful location with lovely views and is nice and peaceful.

Bad points: There is no check in desk so you have to wait at the bar for them to get the check in book The restaurant staff need to be a bit more on the ball when it comes to offering a refil of drinks and dessert ordering (we waited ages for both) When you check in although there is a little info leaflet in the room it would have been nice to be told what time breakfast is etc. The breakfast is very nice but not amazing, a bit more variety would be nice (juices, fruit, pastries etc).There is no comfy seating area for hotel guests to sit in the evening On arrival we had to sit outside with our drinks as all the tables were reserved and went back to our room after dinner to relax.

We will definately return for a meal and have recommended it to many friends. If the above points and comments from other reviews are taken on board then it will be a big 5 star from us.

Room Tip: The room with the roll top bath is beautiful but a bit small. The others may be bigger.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattnvic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for The Cartford Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 347 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

stayed here with my husband for a birthday treat, we had a luxury double with a roll top bath, the room was just perfect, fantastic decor, very romantic, the roll top bath was amazing. We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening, a very cosy table just for two, food was delicious, staff very attentive and friendly. The whole place is quite quirky but modern, it has a very warm atmosphere, the owners were lovely making us feel very welcome. Breakfast was very good, eaten overlooking the river Wyre, watching the birds. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

stayed here with some friends for a catch up weekend and it was perfect, wanted somewhere relaxing with good food and nice rooms and we couldn't have made a better choice. The setting is also lovely and we will definitely be back to stay again to do the walk around the river. special mention to the young team who are proof positive that there are still some lovely young people in the world.

Room Tip: Room 12 has great views of the river and as it has a dorma type window you can wake up naturally to...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagtravellerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed there last night and must say this is one of the best inns I have stayed in. The room was clean and quirky with fantastic view of the river. Meal last night was good as was the beer. Breakfast fantastic and throughout the staff were friendly , helpful and polite. Will certainly use again and also recommend to other colleagues who travel to the North West. Hopefully can take the wife in the spring for a long weekend.
Well done to all involved with the Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just occasionally on our visit there was the worrying thought that this hotel suffers from rather too much from style over substance.
Is that being unfair? Yes, on reflection it probably is.
The Cartford Inn does so many things well that over-looking the odd problem is easily done and instead the focus returns to the important things : calm location, the amusing layout and entertaining interior design.
Check in was rather drawn out due the fact that there isn't a reception area and you need to elbow your way to the bar to get some attention; not easy on a busy Saturday night.
Once checked in the room was rather on the small side with no wardrobe and a loo squeezed into the corner. However, the large bed was comfortable and there is no doubt that the novelty of soaking in the bath while chatting to the other half in bed is great fun! A welcome note and a birthday message was a nice touch which impressed us.
Food wise we enjoyed our evening meal and clearly this is a popular spot so there was a good atmosphere. Only complaint would be that the young people just need more training (to overcome teenage shyness?). They need to speak up and ask how the food was and whether we would have liked more drinks, a dessert, some coffee (none of which was offered / suggested to us). We have stayed in other hotels where young people have been been fantastic on the service front and so it can be done; just need to keep working on them!
Overall, happy to recommend a stay - enjoy the bath!

Room Tip: It has to be reserve a bath in the room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barneybear66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel (and restaurant) is an amazing place to stay. After staying there recently, we are now looking to book again for next month.

The owners are very accommodating and will do anything to make your stay more comfortable.

Thank you, Patrick!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 - it was amazing. We've just requested the luxury double with roll top bath...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staceyo982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a much needed long weekend break. We went to relax and that is exactly what we did. Our room (the penthouse) was simply stunning, beautiful views, even a view of the river from the bath. All the staff were very helpful and friendly, they changed our room when we fancied something larger and even offered to bring our drinks to our room to save us going to the bar. The owners are chatty and keen to please too. We ate in the restaurant both nights which was lovely, decent English food and a better standard than pub grub with great local ales (so my husband said). In all we would definitely recommend and would stay again. One word of warning though, in our room the blinds look nice but are very thin and do virtually nothing to keep out the morning light. Also, what must be the fan from next door's bathroom is very loud and woke us up in the middle of the night...twice. If you are okay with that then dont worry but we found a lie in a little difficult in honesty.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Eccleston
3.2 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
557 reviews
6.2 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
647 reviews
18.0 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
5.9 mi away
The Spa Hotel at Ribby Hall Village
4.6 mi away
Breck Poulton-le-Fylde
Breck Poulton-le-Fylde
#1 of 5 in Poulton Le Fylde
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartford Inn

Address: Cartford Lane, Little Eccleston PR3 0YP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Little Eccleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Eccleston
Price Range: $165 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cartford Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We hope that, like us, you will be captivated by our idyllic setting and be seduced by the charm and ambience of what we believe is a unique venue.We look forward to greeting you!Patrick & Julie Beaume ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cartford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cartford Hotel Little Eccleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing