We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, service and food”
Review of The Punch Bowl

The Punch Bowl
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A warm & welcoming traditional pub, home-made food, real ales & lovely beer garden.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have walk to The Punch Bowl on our yearly break and stay @ woodland lodge, 20 years ago i first went this pub, when my parents had a caravan in Bentham, so its always nice to visit and reminis. Anyway back to the review....Went last tuesday and friday. Food is lovley really is, pan fried chicken is especially nice. Both my mrs and mother loved their food too. Nice beer garden which captures the sun in the evening. Service is great from the bar staff....Regualrs at the bar are friendly too, What more could you ask for, good old english pub, in a beautiful village, great food at a fair price and a friendly welcome and service. We will be back at the woodland lodge next year, and we will be going the Punch Bowl again, if only you could read the reviews in the visitors book at the woodland lodge holiday let, its full of positive feedback from holiday makers who have visited the Punch Bowl :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue S, Manager at The Punch Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Many thanks for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay in Burton and look forward to seeing you next year.

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 115 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good pub food and good ale.
Nice & warm inside on a grim summers day.
Kids enjoyed it too thank you.

1  Thank Chris2pher1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue S, Manager at The Punch Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Many thanks for your review. So glad you enjoyed your vist and hope to see you again.

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited the Punch Bowl a few times whilst staying in Burton in Lonsdale for a week at the start of April. We ate on two occasions and sampled the home made steak pie, fish and chips, gammon and chicken with mushrooms in a garlic and cream sauce (a particular favourite of my daughter). The quality was very good, with prompt service and generous portions. Despite being bitterly cold outside the inside was cosy (away from the entrance door) with a roaring fire.

If you want a decent pint of traditional beer "Thwaits" with some good home cooked pub food the Punch Bowl is well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Skiathos_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue S, Manager at The Punch Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So happy you enjoy your times spent in the Punchbowl and many thanks for your comments. I have passed this on to the team and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's not my idea of fun to have a ridiculously long wait in a freezing cold pub to be served poor food. But this is what happened at the Punch Bowl.
An hours wait to get two basic main courses without any member of staff apologising at any point or having the courtesy to explain what was wrong isn't the way to treat customers. If the pub was warm, the wait wouldn't have been so bad, but it was freezing cold. I've been in warmer igloo's.
When the food finally arrived the steak which should have been medium to well done was medium rare at best and the batter on the fish was soggy and tasteless.
Rather than send it back and wait an age for it to be returned, we ate what we could, paid up and left, never to return.

Worst meal we've had in years. My advice would be to avoid the place at all costs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank wernda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a fantastic Sunday lunch at the Punch Bowl recently. The beef was superbly tender and full of flavour - the vegetables well cooked. There was plenty to chose from on the 'normal' menu for those who didn't want the 'Sunday' offering. (Apparently, the butcher who supplies the Punch Bowl eats there - quite a recommendation!). The puddings were delicious too. However, the thing which sets this pub apart from many was the friendly service provided by the bar staff and the waiting staff. They were happy to provide table service for drinks even though they were busy. All in all a great experience - a small cosy atmosphere and very welcoming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tod5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue S, Manager at The Punch Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Many thanks for your review. So happy you enjoyed the Puchbowl and hope to see you again. I have passed your comments on to the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Punch Bowl also viewed

Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Bentham, North Yorkshire
High Bentham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Punch Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing