We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service ignorant staff”

The Red Well Country Inn Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Arkholme
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service ignorant staff”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have been to this pub on two occasions and waited over an hour for our meals with no explanation or apology. The staff were rude if asked about time scale of meals. The venue was nearly empty when we visited so I cannot understand why service should take 1 hour 20 minutes

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    37
    15
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Could do better.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Have eaten here twice recently.
We thought it had closed down but has apparently been closed for re-decoration.
We liked the decor and had the lovely wood burning stove been lit it would have been lovely and cosy. As it was it was cold !
The menu is tempting and as all meals are prepared fresh there is a bit of a wait.
Service is attentive and polite.
Overall we were slightly disappointed with the food, for us it is neither good pub grub (why do so many establishments struggle with this ?) nor was it a gastronomic experience to be savoured.
We also felt there was something missing from the atmosphere of the place, although this may be as it was very quiet both times we visited.
The staff appear to be trying very hard and we wish them every success.
We understand how difficult it is for the pub trade in these difficult economic times, but we wouldn't try it again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OHG1X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Response to genuine complaint”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I raised a real issue after experiencing great food but very long waits and a tension in the restaurant. Owner called me following morning and responded excellently and engaged in a very sensible discussion. I look forward to visiting again with refreshed enthusiasm and optimism for some small changes to deliver their full potential. I wanted to be balanced after a harsh but fair review and congratulate the owner/chef on his response.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cracking start to our holiday.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We turned up on spec on a busy Friday evening, and were advised that we might have a little bit of a wait. The ambience and real ale/cider more than compensated! The food was well worth the wait, being beautifully cooked and presented. Particularly good was the generous range of vegetables. Tempted by just about everything on the dessert menu, we half-jokingly suggested that they should do a taster menu. Blow me, but the chef duly obliged. We left happily full, but not overstuffed. Big thanks to all the staff, especially Georgia and Ashley for a really lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jiholland111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton le Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Expensive but...”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Quality of food and service but at a price. If you want that something different from the normal blasé pub grub then this is the place. Lovely friendly staff and good quality food but not for the meat n 2 veg brigade. Been there many times and never been disappointed

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bloobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Well Country Inn Restaurant also viewed

Arkholme, Carnforth
Carnforth, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Carnforth, Lancashire
 

Been to The Red Well Country Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing