We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cracking start to our holiday.”

The Red Well Country Inn Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Arkholme
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cracking start to our holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We turned up on spec on a busy Friday evening, and were advised that we might have a little bit of a wait. The ambience and real ale/cider more than compensated! The food was well worth the wait, being beautifully cooked and presented. Particularly good was the generous range of vegetables. Tempted by just about everything on the dessert menu, we half-jokingly suggested that they should do a taster menu. Blow me, but the chef duly obliged. We left happily full, but not overstuffed. Big thanks to all the staff, especially Georgia and Ashley for a really lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jiholland111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    36
    14
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton le Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Expensive but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Quality of food and service but at a price. If you want that something different from the normal blasé pub grub then this is the place. Lovely friendly staff and good quality food but not for the meat n 2 veg brigade. Been there many times and never been disappointed

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bloobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frieth, Oxon. UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A pleasant and welcoming pub/restaurant for an evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Likes: The warm welcome and interest taken by the landlady, the range of food options, presentation of the dishes and value for money.
Dislikes: Slightly slow service, but then again we were in no hurry!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MGPAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leyland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No one to take our order at the bar”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

4 of us walked in to an empty bar and no staff! Waited 10 min and walked out and left. Had a wander around first to the conservator at rear which was the dumping ground for old furniture.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gc06132014e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Found this pub on line as we were meeting family from Cumbria and we live in West Yorkshire, so the position was ideal. It boasted lots of awards and serves food all day so we decided that was the place for us. We were there two hours, for two courses, although no one but us was eating, just a few drinkers sat outside. We were so bored with sitting around waiting, and told the waitress/barmaid. She was apologetic and said it was an apprentice chef and that was why he was slow. The food was disappointing. The mussels were ok but the sauce not good. The other dishes were similar, just ok, nothing special. Reading earlier reports it begs the question, ' has the chef left/gone on holiday?' If a pub advertises it serves food all day then it should be prepared for people within those hours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddieTod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Well Country Inn Restaurant also viewed

Arkholme, Carnforth
Carnforth, Lancashire
 
Carnforth, Lancashire
 

Been to The Red Well Country Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing