We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant and welcoming pub/restaurant for an evening meal”

The Red Well Country Inn Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Arkholme
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Frieth, Oxon. UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A pleasant and welcoming pub/restaurant for an evening meal”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Likes: The warm welcome and interest taken by the landlady, the range of food options, presentation of the dishes and value for money.
Dislikes: Slightly slow service, but then again we were in no hurry!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MGPAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    38
    15
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leyland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No one to take our order at the bar”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

4 of us walked in to an empty bar and no staff! Waited 10 min and walked out and left. Had a wander around first to the conservator at rear which was the dumping ground for old furniture.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gc06132014e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Found this pub on line as we were meeting family from Cumbria and we live in West Yorkshire, so the position was ideal. It boasted lots of awards and serves food all day so we decided that was the place for us. We were there two hours, for two courses, although no one but us was eating, just a few drinkers sat outside. We were so bored with sitting around waiting, and told the waitress/barmaid. She was apologetic and said it was an apprentice chef and that was why he was slow. The food was disappointing. The mussels were ok but the sauce not good. The other dishes were similar, just ok, nothing special. Reading earlier reports it begs the question, ' has the chef left/gone on holiday?' If a pub advertises it serves food all day then it should be prepared for people within those hours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddieTod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We visited The Redwell Inn last Friday as we've been before and always loved the food. On arrival we were told there was no draught Carling and the bottle fridges behind the bar were almost empty. My partner had to resort to a soft drink.

We then took a seat in the almost empty dining room (only 3 tables full including us). The service was ridiculously slow despite being so quiet and we ended up waiting an hour before our starters arrived. When we asked the waitress where our food was and how long we would have to wait she looked a bit shocked and scuttled off to the kitchen but there was no apology or explanation. Sure enough our food arrived shortly after.

The food itself was nothing compared to what it used to be. My partner ordered the mussels and many of the shells were empty. My cold meat plate contained meat that could have well been out of a packet from ASDA. The main courses were just as bad. My partner's lamb looked like it had been in the oven all day and my fish pie had about four bits of fish in it and half the dish was mash. We didn't bother staying for dessert as they had run out of ice cream!

All in all, bad service, bad food and a very poorly stocked bar. Such a shame as this place used to be really lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

lovely country pub, food excellent so is this service. The smoked cheeses and the fruit tea cake
are fantastic made by Mrs Talbot. Well worth visting we will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lornaannand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Well Country Inn Restaurant also viewed

Carnforth, Lancashire
Arkholme, Carnforth
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Red Well Country Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing