We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Property”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were on our honeymoon looking for a Calm and Tranquil property and this was the best to our choice in the middle of the coffee plantation.
Tanheerulla was the Bunglow where we stayed on the first floor. Huge rooms even bigger rest rooms and Excellent Service cause of the in house butler.
the food was made as per guest request and the taste was excellent
A Surprise candle Night Dinner on just telling the Manager that we were on our Honeymoon was cherry on the cake...Excellent service.
I would recommend this to everyone looking for a property in Coorg.
An awesome experiance.

Room Tip: I read and Booked Tanheerulla Bunglow Just for its bigger size Rooms...So Stick with it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    104
    29
    7
    8
See reviews for
152
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We visited Wooshully Bungalow last week. Before visiting we had gone through the reviews and most of them said that the Bungalow was nice. But to our shock, it was a complete disaster. The room allotted was so tiny(and not small). We asked to change the room and got to know that the bungalow had only 3 rooms.In the pictures/photos , they are showing big lawn/ big rooms etc but there was nothing like that. The photos that they have put on their site are fake (at least for wooshully bungalow). Regarding food, it was terrible.They have metioned in their site that the north indian food and jain food is available. Even after telling what to cook, the staff was clueless and blank. We were served cold dinner. First day we had to go back to our rooms without dinner. The place does not meet the value for money expectations. In the sites they have given so many recreational activities but actually there are none. It is all false marketing. For all those who are planning to go there , please think twice. Over phone, they would talk so confidently about their hospitality but actually the place is a disaster. Also, you would not even find anybody there to even complaint to.
For all those who are planning to go there, please remember-1) Photos on their sites are fake and misleading, Bungalow is too small to be called a bungalow 2) Food is terrible 3) rooms are so small and no privacy. I know what the people in my adjacent room were talking about. 4)no recreational activities as mentioned in the site.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NehaSingh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akash_deep, Manager at Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Ms. Singh,

Greetings from Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee Ltd!

At the outset we regret all the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay at Plantation Trails, Coorg. Plantation Trails’ operations are run by a team of professionals and we are extremely committed to take care of our guests.

We have made several attempts to contact you to discuss your concerns but have been unsuccessful. We would appreciate if you give us the opportunity to discuss your stay.

Thanking you,

Yours sincerely,

Akash Deep
Marketing Manager
Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

3 days at the Cottabetta plantation was heavenly. First the property, truly out of this world. 1400 + acres of coffee plantation and a 5 bedroom heritage bungalow to yourself is amazing. Right from booking to guiding us to the property to receiving to rooms, to food, everything was just perfect. Special thanks to Kavya (reservations), Salim, Andy, Alwyn, Kulkerni ( F & B), Umesh (estate tour in charge), Gopi (butler) and Ghirish (chef) for ensuring our stay was extremely relaxing. Impeccable service, gorgeous location and rooms and homely food made my stay at Cottabetta truly memorable.

Room Tip: Heritage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapan-Patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Glenlorna Bungalow - away from it all, from the guest book we appeared to be the first European visitors in the last 18 months. Just 5 rooms and the company and chat round the fire at night was lovely. Even if the temperature never dropped below 22C.

Rooms are fine and the service is great a wonderful time and experience - but a long drive from Bangalore (took us 8 hours with some detours).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottp641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Well not really, but you know what I mean. We stayed at the Thaneerhulla cottage @ Tata Coffee Plantation and what a peaceful and tranquil experience. For few moments (when the kids were asleep), I took myself back in time and imagined being in the Maharaja days and British Era days. The accomodation is spacious, green, clean. The staff are friendly and ever ready to serve, whatever your needs are. Each Bungalow has around 5 rooms and their own staff of care takers and chef.

The Plantation tour and Bird watching tour is included in the price and done in small groups in a laid back manner, letting you enjoy the nature. The kids loved it. The guide was knowledgeable, patient and friendly.

They also have a sports club, however, the timings are restrictive. In each of the bungalows though, they have badminton rackets, carrom board, cards, cricket accessories, soccer ball and other sports stuff. You and the kids will not have anything to get them bored. In addition to that my kids were climbing trees, playing with swings. The fun was never ending.

WARNING: The roads to this place are not the best, especially the last one hour, when you get into the woods, so make sure that the vehicle you choose is good enough to not make you feel each of the bump on the road, otherwise, you will spend the first day of the holiday recovering from the trip and the day before you are leaving dreading the trip :-)

No Matter what, you will really enjoy this place, even after the hour of grilling roads. A lot of people adviced me to go to Orange County, however, I have been to resorts all over the world, and wanted something different. Different this was and would highly recommend, if you are looking for something away from the norm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsliDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our Plantation Trails experience was fabulous! Outstanding service & hospitality from all the staff right from the booking (Ms.Kavya) to our contact for the cottage (Mr.Mandanna), the cook (Mr. Palani) and the butler (Mr. Lokesh). The location is also fabulous, right in the middle of the plantation. Where many other resorts look like they could be in any other hill station, this place has great views over the plantation and the walk through the plantation starts at your doorstep. Great for nature-lovers, with lychee trees, mango trees, orange trees, and the coffee & pepper plants all around you. Brilliant for birdwatchers too.
The rooms were clean and well-appointed, and we had extremely tasty food, customised to our taste, served at the times we required them. Coffee was exceptional! We also had a lot of help for my nephew who is in a wheelchair, from special food for him, to helping us take him into the garden. In short, nothing was too much trouble for the hospitable staff! When we wanted to visit the golf course for a walk, we were told the way, and when we reached, there was someone waiting at the golf course for us...with badminton rackets in case we wanted to play a game. And this pattern of great service was evident, even before we had left Bangalore. For example, the booking process was excellent. Ms. Kavya at the booking office is pleasant, professional and helpful. A few days before the trip, I received a call from Plantation trails, checking on our plans and what meals we needed on the day we arrived. And, to top it all, on the day that we left, I got an SMS message with contact details and the local temperature!
I read some of the other reviews before I left and I'd like to clarify two things. One is about the location. It is certainly *not* in the middle of nowhere, it is minutes from the small town of Pollibetta, which has a fair number of shops. There are also Tata Coffee offices, co-op stores, etc. The second complaint about the variety in food is a bit odd because, at least in the cottage, Mr. Palani is happy to take custom requests.
Note: This review is for the Thaneerhulla Cottage, and we had taken all three rooms in the cottage. Thaneerhulla Bungalow is next door, and Wooshully is not too far away. The cottage is not particularly heritage-looking but with just three rooms, you get exclusive service and customised food! Thaneerhulla Bungalow has more rooms and is a proper colonial-era bungalow.

Room Tip: Thaneerhulla Bungalow for a heritage stay, Thaneerhulla Cottage for exclusive service! Remember, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suchi_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

These are old, heritage Bungalows , that Managers in the coffee plantations stayed in. Tata Coffee have spent money and refurbised five of these cottages and graded the rooms as Heritage or Luxury. Added in house cook and waiter, a naturelogist, who takes you on a nature walk, and a Jeep,with an informed driver , who takes you for a drive through the coffee plantation. Point to note, beware of the wild elephants !!!

Room Tip: ask for the Heritage Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tycoon789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pollibetta
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 24 in Madikeri
1,417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 24 in Madikeri
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway
0.0 mi away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg

Property: Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg
Address: Pollibetta Main Road | Coorg, Kodagu District, Pollibetta 571215, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Pollibetta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pollibetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Plantation Trails' is Tata Coffee's Hospitality Brand, offering unique Heritage and Luxury Bungalows in the Coorg and Chikmagalur areas. Situated in the middle of the picturesque tea and coffee plantations, these bungalows offer a true "Plantation Experience" for guests. Owned and managed by Tata Coffee which has a history of over 85 years in the region, one is assured of the best travel hosts and guides when on a vacation. These spacious but cozy bungalows, offer personalized cook and butler service and are truly a right blend of an heritage building and comforts to make your stay enjoyable, thereby making them a perfect getaway from the harsh city life. As part of the experience guests enjoy guided bird watching tours, nature walks, a guided jeep drive through plantations and receive firsthand information on how coffee is processed from bean to cup. Other activities include a 9-hole golf course, badminton, table-tennis, trekking, boating, and white water rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing