We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”

Primrose Cottage B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Primrose Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Westhead B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed in Primrose Cottage for a week. Good price for us. Sue and Brian organized things smoothly. It was cozy to walk around nearby. We felt comfortable in the family room. And there is a lovely garden. The room was cleaned everyday. Tea and coffee were offered everyday. WIFI were offered throughout the week. Many things were good prepared by Sue and Brian, but if you need something else, it would be quite easy and comfortable if you ring the bell and talk to Sue and Brian. Things will be done. I don't feel any "unwelcome" that the previous reviewee said.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinhiunvun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2011

I don't know whether the 2 previous reviewees stayed here when the B&B was owned by previous owners but our time at Primrose Cottage could not have been more different.

The owners successfully made our party of 5 feel completely unwelcome and as though we were an inconvenience and not paying customers. I am also afraid to say that gone is any evidence of chocolates, biscuits and fresh flowers in the room as described by a previous reviewee. Instead it is replaced by cold, damp and out-of-date rooms with kettles which seriously need a good de-scaling.

The breakfast although tasty, was measly meaning that all in all it felt like pretty poor value for money.

Taking the whole experience into account, I would not stay here again as the owners seem to have forgotten their basic customer service skills. If you just literally want a no frills bed for the night then you are in luck, if you want a bit more for your hard earned cash, then go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

A really wonderful place, however I'm worried about giving it too good a review in case we can't get in the next time we try to book (which we definately will)!
Seriously though, the attention to detail is astounding, every aspect of the guests comfort has been considered.
Fresh flowers in the room (including the bathroom), chocolates, tea, coffee & biscuits, even a flask of fresh milk (no UHT rubish here).
Very comfortable bed with fluffy duvet and enough pillows. Good telly. Good shower.
Beautiful views across the adjacent countryside, stunning gardens and pond with plenty of area's to sit and relax, including a lovely conservatory if the weather is not good.
Tip 1 : Don't eat too big a dinner the night before 'cause you'll never get through Steve's breakfast. What a choice, everything fresh including eggs from their own hens.
Tip 2 : Make sure you meet Millie & Hetty, the two rescue Greyhounds. They're great
Stephen & Ruth are simply the bests hosts. They thoroughly deserve the success that I know that they will achieve

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collispc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

This is a fabulous, high quality bed & breakfast establishment and so very reasonably priced. It offers 5 ensuite bedrooms (3 doubles, 1 family & 1 triple which is disabled friendly) in a seperate annex which are set around a beautiful garden. We booked all five as we decided to stay "en famille" for a family wedding. All the rooms were immaculately clean and beautifully decorated, with very comfortable beds, tea & coffee & television as standard. The shower rooms were ample in size with power showers (although lacking shampoo and a hairdryer so make sure you take your own!) Breakfast is served in the spacious conservatory at seperate tables and the food is fantastic with lovely thick cut fresh bread toast, great quality full cooked breakfast if desired with bacon to die for. It was the ideal place to stay as we could come and go as we pleased and the owners were very friendly and helpful recommending a great place to eat in the evening and phoning taxis for us etc. Overall it's one of the best places I've ever stayed. Thank you Sue & Brian for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bennetts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Primrose Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Cottage B&B

Address: Wigan Road, Westhead, Ormskirk L40 6HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Westhead
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Westhead
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Primrose Cottage B&B Westhead, Lancashire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing