We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The place is just amazing with amazing staff.good hospitality ,excellent customized food,good serene place.In all wonderful place to relax.The only disadvantage is its quite far from madikeri so u seems to be aloof from tourist spots and have to travel quite a lot but if u r not worried bat it then surely excellent place to visit

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surbhi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    57
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
74
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

over all good experience. Only tough to locate due to situated in between small town and local language problem. Rooms are good with nice view. we couldnt enjoy much due to raining all d time although plantation arond is cool :)

Room Tip: rooms are in single line so any room will give you same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarita_sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We [two families with 3 kids under 5] spent 2 nights and 3 days at Siver Oaks. It was a pleasant stay with enough activities to do in and around the resort.

Pros:

1) Bob himself, he is a very nice gentleman. The morning before we started from Bangalore, there was a SMS from him detailing every single turn that we should take to reach the resort. I found his detailed direction more useful than GPS. We couldn’t believe that he had a custom made route map that [he sketched himself] helped us navigate almost to all the tourist destinations in and around Coorg with ease.

2) The staff, very courteous and helpful.

3) Food. You may not find various spreads but what was offered was very hygienic, healthy and very tasty [wouldn’t do any harm to you if you have a soft stomach].

4) Various Activities [Fishing, boating, indoor games, pool etc]

Cons:

1) Maintenance: the cottages were quite old and requires maintenance. Having said this it was very clearly called out to us that it isn’t a luxury accommodation and of course we knew that we aren’t paying for one. May be there is room to improve on this aspect. The pool was cleaned only after our arrival.

2) Air Adventure: We were thrilled to experience the air adventure [as per the initial email sent to us] but came to know that it is available only in November. Nevertheless we loved every bit of the water rafting experience.

3) There was delay in lunch preparation [we reached the resort by 12:30 PM], with kids it was quite difficult to manage it till 2 PM but that was only on the day we arrived.

On a whole it was a fantastic stay and rejuvenating vacation!

Bob: Let us know once your five start property is ready, we are eager to try that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winstonisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Resort is located inside forest and a nice scenic location. Nice swimming pool. Enjoyed paddling in the man made pond behind our cottage with friendly ducks for company. Mr. Bob's route map to visit the places nearby is a marvelous idea. The map was a huge help for us to reach the destination with ease.

Little disappointed initially when we saw the quantity of the food. Only few varieties were there but the taste was awesome. They even cooked pork for us when we requested as it is Coorg's specialty.

The resort is located in central where you can cover most the places within 30 to 40 kms radius. The resort needs a little maintenance but we did not feel any discomfort due to that and they made up to that with their hospitality.

If you go during November to May then you may enjoy the sky gliding as those are the months it is open. Suggest 4 days and 3 nights to cover all the places as we missed several places staying only 3 days and 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrabhuCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Silver Oaks Resort is an awesome home-stay!
The cottages are really spacious and well maintained. We did not want to leave the cottages and were happy having a nice time inside the resort.
The food was simple, tasty and filling.
The staff are very helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hemanth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Silver Oaks was one in the best.... Very Affordable.... too worth in all aspects... the cottages were like typical hill side cottages clean and spacious... every cottage has a sit out.... Boating, swimming pool and indoor games were also there.... v went for honeymoon trip and v enjoyed a lot... in fact v did not wanna go to any other places outside the resort... Bob was so nice and very helpful... Food also was awesome....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Satswat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice cottages with a view of small lake. Food served ha a variety and really tasty. There are some ducks you can play with who will not let you sit outside without feeding them.. ;-).. People,service,view everything is really nice just it needs some maintenance. The lake looks pretty during afternoon but scary in the night as there are no lights around it. Moreover cottages are superb with stone bed and nice interiors but they could put something like false ceiling. So I have only 2 pointers for improvement.Else it was a nice and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanviamitrajput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponnampet
17.2 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
17.3 mi away
Parampara Resort & Spa, Coorg
10.0 mi away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 22 in Madikeri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
13.5 mi away
Kadkani River Resort
Kadkani River Resort
#1 of 1 in Ammathi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg

Property: The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg
Address: Kunda | Ponnampet, Via Madikeri, Ponnampet 571216, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Ponnampet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ponnampet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Oaks Home Stay is located at Kunda (near Ponnampet - 30 minutes drive from Nagarahole) in South Coorg or Kodagu as the local people call it, perched 2500 meters above sea level 250 kms from Bangalore, 100 kms from Mysore and about 170 kms from Mangalore. Silver Oak Stay homes is a unique place surrounded by about 10 hectares of Silver oak trees, coffee and spice plantation and overlooked by a large place of "sacred jungle"(devara kaadu) and famous "Kunda hill" at the height of 4500 ft above sea level for the people who love trekking. Silver Oak is for people who love nature and want to explore nature by being part of it. The Sunnuvanda family, which owns Silver Oak Home Stay, and Mr. Bob (Sudesh), who after completing his MBA in marketing headed back to Coorg to take care of his first love, nature. He is part of few NGOs who are mainly devoted to nature preservation and rainwater harvesting besides developing of tribals. The care is taken to build Silver Oak without cutting a single natural tree from the site. The family is known for the warm hospitality and social work in the local community and you will have a true experience of being with nature to unwind from your daily busy life. Facilities include swimming pool, 24 hours hot water, Nature Gym, TT and badminton court, Open party hall, barbeque and fire place ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silveroaks Resort, Coorg Hotel Ponnampet
The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg Ponnampet, India - Kodagu (Coorg)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing