We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

Mediterranean at The Robin Hood
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Mawdesley
Price range: $14 - $41
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 16Th Century Country Inn well known for it first class real ales and exceptional Mediterranean food. New management took over in August 2017, awarded the Trip Advisor Certificate Of Excellence in both 2013 and 2014. The restaurant has its own 'mediterranean Menu' served Monday to Friday with a dedicated Sunday menu every week from 12pm to 8pm. Menu's are available to view at the main web site.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

First visit to the Robin Hood and thought it excellent value for money and the food was delicious. Definitely going back in two weeks.
.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank chrisbrizell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Mediterranean at The Robin Hood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 228 of 267 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Excellent service and definite value for money. Good selection of draught beers and friendly staff that serve with a smile and are extremely courteous. My wife and I used to go regularly every week, then it changed hands and lost all its atmosphere and went downhill fast. The new proprietors there now have certainly turned things round and we will definately be going again.
M Pickard

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Maldwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had a meal for our wedding anniversary last night - I asked if Tom (chef) would prepare my husband's favourite desert in advance which he did and it was wonderful - the meal was fabulous and service excellent - excellent value for money well done

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GVB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having been a regular at this pub for both drinks and food it was good to see that it has returned to former glories with regulars returning. The food was very good on two occasions and whilst it is on the top end of pub prices, if you like quality then it is worth it. Never before have I seen a popular pub plummet to such depths over a period of twelve months but clearly the people now running it, seem to have some insight into hospitality and a good product. We will return and also try Wilsons(the restaurant upstairs) the menu for which looks good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TonyC008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuk5150, Owner at Mediterranean at The Robin Hood, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted that you feel we are getting back to the quality and service levels that were so high during Mr & Mrs Croppers time at The Robin Hood, you are quite right though our starting point was a heck of a way down on those historic quality levels due to the severe drop in quality between the Croppers leaving the venue and us taking it over. I welcome and absolutely respect your viewpoint on our pricing levels but I would like to say that whilst we are fully aware that customers can eat for less in other venues we always strive to give good value for money and we always monitor the prices of 'like for like' establishments in our trading area. Unfortunately in much the same way that we are all facing increases in costs of living on a domestic level, we are also suffering this at commercial level, the cost of meat in particular and believe it or not potatoes has shot up during 2013 and as a result we are faced with a choice, we can either downgrade the meat, fish and vegetables that we use within our dishes to hold pricing or we can reduce portion sizes or the least attractive option is to increase prices in line with our own increases and maintain quaiity, experience and service levels, we opted for this challenging last option because we didn't want to compromise on the service and quality that our customers are enjoying currently. That said we have only very recently increased the prices of around five or six dishes on our main course menu, the two course £8.95 value menu hasn't changed in price and the starters and desserts aren't affected but things like the steaks and obviously a dish as 'meat heavy' as a mixed grill are always going to be affected by incoming price increases,. We have tried to balance this out by introducing new choices such as steak and kidney pudding and angus burgers to the menu at great prices. Once again thank you very much for your kind comments and taking the time to put them into this review and we look forward to welcoing you to the Robin Hood again very soon. Craig Buckley - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Food was excellent and was served a genuine medium rare steak. Service was excellent, even a little over attentive.

Definately recommended and will dine there again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterranean at The Robin Hood also viewed

Wrightington, Lancashire
Mawdesley, Lancashire
 

Been to Mediterranean at The Robin Hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing