We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Home stay in South Coorg”
Review of The Jade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchalli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jade
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We ,10 members,from Bangalore based I T Company had been on a trip to coorg in the month of Feb,2014,and got a chance to stay at Jade Homestay ,Manchalli, Kutta, South Coorg.. excellent place for relaxation and enjoyment... superb hospitality..Owned & Managed by a friendly Couple Mr.Kabeer Thimmaiah & Mrs.Megha Kabeer. Mr.Kabeer is a very nice person.. He organised Campfire and musical system for us as he promised, Excellent veg. and Non-veg.food preparations under the supervision Kabeer 's mother and wife Megha Aunty.
The resort is situated at the edge of Nagarhole Safari Park and Wynad forest of Kerala. Very near to Iruppu falls , Thiruneli temple and Kuruva dweep Island. On the way back to Mysore, Talacauvery, Bhagamandalam, Madikeri, Dubare elephant camp , Bylukoppa Monastery and Nisargadham can be visited. Early morning they had taken us for trekking and plantation tour too.. really enjoyable.. its a right place for youth as well as families and the rates are very reasonable... DONT MISS THIS PLACE.

Abhishek . R and Others
Exeter India Pvt.Ltd.
Bangalore

Room Tip: For a Home stay, the rooms and toilets are good, clean and tidy. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1612Abhishek1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

If you ever want to truly escape from punishing schedules , the traffic, the pollution and even from your own thoughts :) , Jade is the place to go to .The pictures do not do justice to the magnificent natural locale . Go , get lost in beautiful Coorg and also get pampered by Megha & Kabir !

Three cheers to The Jade

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suman_Belliappa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Decided on Jade after contemplating over several other options in Kutta.. It was our second visit to Kutta and this time we had decided not to go around for sightseeing and just relax in the close vicinity of our accommodation..It didn't take us much time to realize that we had made the perfect choice after reaching there..The rooms were clean and comfortable..Food was simply awesome..Their hospitality is unforgettable..The surroundings make you forget the hectic city life..We were lucky in that there were no other guests and we had the whole of the homestay area for ourselves..There was a small stream in one of their farms..When you go there you will only hear water flowing..gives you that jungle feel..
I strongly recommend this place for nature lovers..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murali57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

all the reviews on this homestay are well lived. As per the accommodation,attitude and food, i haven't experienced anything better than this, Kabir is a lovely person, he made sure that all of us were well received, looked after and attended.
Rooms were awesome, the property had good facilities for kids and surrounds were absolutely great for roaming around.
Kabir and his family were more than willing to help us for whatever we wanted.

thanks lovely ppl, it was a superb experience.

The location is a bit far off, but this is where you can experience the coorg

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazziin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My first trip to kutta ! Very exclusive stay with lots of space and calmness ! A perfect place with a perfect host - Mr Kabir ! Very cosy rooms, homely food and serene atmosphere ! Definitely a must visit place !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pradeep k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Better late than never I always say... hence I am writing this review after months of being there... blame it to the daddyhood keeping me busy.

The trip was supposed to be an all boys 2 night and 3 days "Pre-dad" trip for me and another friend. As we 4 call ourselves the usual suspects head to this place oblivious to any experience to a home stay before expecting the bare basics in terms of the stay and respect (being all stags and prejudiced mischief mongers). After hours of drive from Bengaluru (thanks to the infinite beer stops) we finally arrive to the warmest people I have come across... the Thimmaiah family who waited for us eagerly as much as our own families would do. We were immediately offered Tea and shown to our rooms which we honestly thought would be nothing more than attics or out house (blame it to the Europe trips) but lo and behold, these were some brilliantly well maintain ethnic Coorgi style rooms which were diligently cleaned for our arrival, quite impressed we got to our chores getting ourselves freshened up for the evening. Being all stags, the trips full circle would be completed with copious amount of alcohol which we apprehensively brought out considering we stayed with a family with kids around; but Mr. Thimmaiah had already set up a gazebo for us which gave u ample space without disturbing anyone to get drunk by ourselves.
Now comes the part which completes the Holy Trinity of Home, People..... & FOOD!!

a Perfect fanfare was arranged for us with vegetarian and the meats, authentic to the core and as lovely as our own homes. The food included a dry and a curry in N. Veg and a couple of veggies with Chapati and quintessential Dal n Rice.

We took liberties to ask for some famous Pandi curry (Coorgi Pork Curry) and the next evening we were served with some along with Parathas which I can still taste as I type.

We have lived these nostalgic moments over and over again with a hope to be there again someday... perhaps with the babies we were celebrating in that place.

A must visit and wont need a second thought if you are planning 'The Jade Coorg'

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBudwieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

"Jade is a special stone that is believed to promote wisdom, balance, and peace. It has spiritual attributes, which are extremely distinct" - This is what Jade actually means & i guess this is what i would also like to describe this awesome place at the foothill of the mighty brahmagiri mountains.You go once and you get addicted this place. Food is absolutely awesome, authentic and is from this part of the world. You are pampered here.

Room Tip: Every room is unique in it own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharadKanthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchalli
0 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
541 reviews
0 mi away
Turtle Pond - A Wandertrails Showcase
0 mi away
Woodpecker Homestay
Woodpecker Homestay
#3 of 5 in Manchalli
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade

Address: Manchalli Post, Manchalli 571250, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Manchalli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Manchalli
Price Range: $19 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jade is a 200 year old heritage home situated at the foothills of the Brhamagiri Hills. It is surrounded by endless mountains, plantation, streams and paddyfields and is a perfect place to unwind in the midst of nature. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing