We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Pub - Good value food”

The Black Bull Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bentham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Bull Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Bentham B&B and Inns
OLDHAM
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Local Pub - Good value food”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We ate here one evening while staying nearby, and were very pleased with the quality and value of the food. The landlady was brisk & busy serving us, and the service & food was very good for the money. The guest beer was unavailable but the standard beers were very good. It was everything that a town centre pub should be. The bar clingers were friendly and affable. I'd eat here again no problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMARTTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

stayed two nights at the blackbull. we were pleasently suprised. the room we were given was the family room which was very clean and spacious. the food was very good we ate there on both nights. sharon behind the bar works very hard and seems to do everything. in the morning our table was set as we were the only residents. our breakfast was cooked to order.and set us up for the day ahead. a good base from whch to explore the falls, caves and lovely walks. thanks again lynn and danny

Room Tip: only 3 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeanette078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

booked this as it was cheap deal, so wondered if there was any catch. Very pleasantly surprised. The romm, although quite small and basic, was very clean and warm. The bar food wasexcellent, pleantiful and very reasonably priced. Staff were very good and friendly, nothing too much trouble for them. And the breakfast, which was included in the price was first rate. Overall it was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gusedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed at the Black Bull for two nights - very comfortable and clean room which was serviced well. Ate in the pub the first night - apart from waiting about an hour for the food to arrive (the bar was not busy) when it did it was very good indeed and excellent value for money.
Overall High Bentham was a nice village with friendly people and we would stay at the Black Bull again.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 3!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mookie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Firstly, High Bentham is a horrible place to stay. The locals are so unfriendly and look at your as if you have three heads. There is nothing to do in the town for young people, and anything of interest is a significant drive.

My boyfriend and I were staying in High Bentham and went to this pub to eat on our first night.
On the first night it was nice and quiet, and the bar maid was very friendly. The food is very good here.

We had a really good time at the Black Bull on our first night so decided to eat there a second time.

On our second night it was full of horrible builders by the bar, and the bar maid this night was rude and dismissive. After our meal we left as quickly as we could.

I would recommend the food, but if you enter and there are a large group of builders, I'd advise to leave asap.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KLJ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We found this pub by accident whilst staying in the area and we were so impressed by the food we went back another evening. Even though it is basically a local pub not a restaurant the food was very good and fantastic value for money! the staff were very welcoming and helpful and we'd certainly visit again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LucindaStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aynho
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed two nights. First night the staff were out on their Christmas Party. Only to return drinking and the juke box going on for hours. Loud drunken staff. Unfriendly locals who eye you up as though you have two heads. Felt unsafe leaving the car in shared car park along with various builders vans. Second night bar was full of the local youths so not an ideal place to stay for a quiet evening unless you mind the pool table and loud jukebox. Pictures are not a true likeness of the actual venue. It is a basic pub. Access to rooms are via the toilet which smells and doors wedged open.Like previous contributor we had a humming noise that went off and on, and a washing machine operating. Rooms not serviced and had to ask for more tea bags etc, Wash basin in room was completely useless as was the lukewarm
pressurless shower. Breakfast O.K coffe cold and served in between cleaning from previous night with Jeremy Kyle blasting away on the T.V. Thanks however to the young girl on the first night who was left in charge did supply us with plates and cutlery for our takeaway as no food available. Basic refurbishment, a contractors B&B not for families or couples wanting a few days away. Ate out as felt uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reaper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull Hotel

Property: The Black Bull Hotel
Address: 13 Main Street, Bentham LA2 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bentham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bentham
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing