We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverside Caravan Park
Nearby Hotels
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hipping Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
$134
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Whoop Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Snooty Fox(Kirkby Lonsdale)
$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Redwell Inn(Arkholme)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Craven Arms(Giggleswick)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
86
8
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
8
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoilet blockgames roomhigh benthamgreat siteblack bullgrey waterhard standingzip wirekey fobgrass pitchtable tennisco ophorse and farrieringleton fallsshop on sitestatic vansyorkshire dales
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 97 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Having been a touring caravan family for approximately 30years, and been to a lot of lovely sites, but nothing compares with the welcome we got at Riverside Holiday Park, High Bentham, Lancaster this year. It was our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised to find how clean and quiet the campsite was. As for the staff, they were first class. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. We were a family of three caravans, which included children and disabled and we were all treated with the same friendly helpful staff. As for the site itself : it was quiet, clean and the toilets were 5star. .this included the family room, disabled room, the general toilets and showers and the dish washing area. We were so impressed we have all booked again for next year. We would like to say a great big thank you to all the staff for making our holiday so enjoyable. We look forward to seeing them all again next year. Janet & John McKie, Edinburgh.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel M, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Janet & John,

We're very glad to hear you enjoyed yourself & thank you for sharing your enjoyment with others. We endeavor to make all our facilities at Riverside as accessible as possible to people of all abilities so it's always nice to hear they meet your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Best Wishes,

All the staff at Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Its where to start !!! First time at riverside caravan park and my family,mum with her van and our dear friends with their van we were totally blown away with the very helpful and friendly staff!!! They go out their way to help you,and the caravan site is so pristine,really immaculate and very well laid out!!! The toilets are like going into a 5* hotel,so clean ,music played,under floor heating!!! I've been to a lot of nice sites with clean toilets,but never seen anything like these!!! It has a huge play park for kids and my girls loved it!!! They have rules and im very happy to say they keep to these rules!!! Even when it is busy its still a lovely peaceful site!!! We were only there 3 days when we all booked up for next year!!! Great walks from site,railway station ten minute walk away too!!! We stayed on a super pitch and was good value !!! We used the family room with bath, shower,toilet,baby bath e.c.t. All in all the best site we have ever stayed at,very unique!!! Well done to the owners and staff for the great job they do.see you next year!!!! Karen Sinclair & family Dumfries.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobytiabobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Myself and my husband bought a new static caravan at riverside for ourselves and our 3 children aged 3, 9 and 11 years. Both of us thought this was a lovey, quiet, safe park to spend time with our family. Initially everything was as we thought, the owner and staff were nice and friendly. One day in August we were walking within the park boundries beside the river. My son leaned against a log disturbing a wasp nest. We were immediately attacked by the wasps, my 3 year old and my husband were covered and severely stung. Myself and my two other children managed to get away but were chased by the wasps as we ran towards the caravans. My husband followed us carrying my son both extremely distressed and almost naked as the wasps had got under their clothing. A few of the people in the caravans came out to try and help. In the mean time my Labrador came back to us rolling around the grass to get ridd of the wasps still covering him.
Myself and my children ran to the centre for help. The warden went out to look for my husband obviously conserned. That was all the help we got. We were stung badly the dog was covered in huge lumps all over his body and we were all in shock, really we should have phoned an ambulance but we were just not thinking straight. We just went to our caravan. Neither the owners or staff came to check we were ok or if we needed anything, no accident forms were filled in. I was concerned my dog was dying as he couldn't move I ran out to ask for help and was directed to a number of a vet on a notice board, that was it!!! Luckily he was ok once he was treated. The next day my husband went to talk to the owner as he had refused to put a warning sign up to prevent other people from going near the nest. He never put one up therefore placing the other people in danger from an already angry nest of wasps. He also told my husband the year before there had been a severe attack by bees in the playground! We got the distinct impression that they did not want anyone finding out about this incident. They should have taken the the responsibility and called an ambulance. Any of us could easily had a bad reaction, especially my 3 year old who had over 20 stings on him, we were obviously in shock and not thinking straight.
We moved our caravan soon after to a safe park with owners who place safety is a priority. Within only a few metres of the touring area in Riverside is a river which is often deep and fast flowing, there are no barriers to prevent a child from wandering into it.
I wish I had never come across this park and hope others do not make the same mistake we did. There are plenty of other parks to chose from which are safe and put the welfare of their customers first.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Catriona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel M, Owner at Riverside Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Catriona G,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are somewhat puzzled as to the length of time it has taken you to write the review as you left the park on 26th October 2009.
If we remember correctly, the incident in question happened on a busy August Bank Holiday whilst there was a fun day going on. We assume this to be the reason you didn’t receive your desired level of attention from our staff. The area you were walking in was not actually part of a public footpath. It was below the park and had not been developed at the time other than to allow fishermen to access the river.
We live in a rural, natural area where wildlife is allowed to prosper in its natural environment as per our David Bellamy Gold Conservation Award which we have held for the past 10 years and we wish to keep it so. Unfortunately this means that often nests are not discovered unless disturbed. We believe customers come to our park to enjoy this setting and allow their children to experience an environment they are not able to at home.
Since you left us we have taken on the services of a pest control company who are now able to safely & responsibly remove problems such as wasps’ nests. We do take the safety of our customers seriously which is why we have a 10 mph speed limit & speed bumps in place on all our roads. We also don’t allow children out on scooters & bikes when it is dark in case drivers don’t see them.
We are sorry you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us as we do hope all our customers have a pleasant stay no matter how long they are staying with us.
Riverside Caravan Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having been a touring caravan family for many years and Never found a better all round site & village than Riverside at High Bentham, we decided to put our caravan on a season pitch there 3 years ago and never regret doing so. The place is spotless, the facilities are great, you could say it lacks a clubhouse and well stocked shop but within an 8 minute walk you can be in the village, where you find shops pubs etc. and why take away the business from the locals. When we visit, which is most weekends between 1st March right through until 1st January we park the car up and don't use it until we go home, unless we want to travel out of Bentham to visit the lakes etc. The staff are second to none, nothing is too much trouble, security is excellent. I have no hesitation recommending Riverside Caravan Park High Bentham, Please do not get mixed up with other caravan parks with the same name "Riverside", there is only ONE RIVERSIDE HIGH BENTHAM near Lancaster.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanpennington86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our very first experience in a motorhome, so we chose this site as it was near to a village with a few shops and pubs. The site was very clean and tidy, well signposted from motorway. Showers and toilets spotless and cleaned regularly. Will visit again in future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyReview254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews