We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I miss the hens !!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolphinholme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Feather Down Farms at Dolphinholme
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well......we have just arrived back from our trip to dolphinholme. A brilliant time was had by all. Our party was my wife and I and our 7 year old daughter. Being a man I thoroughly enjoyed poking with the fire. Forget watching top gear the fire is the best entertainment a man could ask for. We really got into the spirit of country /farm life. The farm owners were really friendly and helpful they really went out of their way to show us around, engage with the kids and even cooked our pizzas last night which were great. We enjoyed playing in the river, the play barn and exploring the woods. The local pub The fleece was a good lunch out. Without wishing to sound too cheesy it really was like going back to when I was younger (a lot younger) and kids would just go off make friends and PLAY for hours on end. No games consoles no phone connection (seriously not even a text is possible and forget Internet) no TV. Just playing, chatting and meeting new people. I may still have my post holiday rose tinted specs on but I can't recommend this place any more highly. I have been on all different types of holidays in numerous countries. This is definitely one of, if not the best holiday we've had as a family.
Tips
Put lots of fire lighters on the fire before you try and light it
Girls there isn't really a spot to plug in your straighteners in the showers however if you take a travel adaptor you can plug the in a shaver socket or use a sneaky socket in the shop - sorry Barbara
In short it's brill

Room Tip: All good from what we could tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveNLiz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 38 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this lovely working farm. Our children loved playing in the play barn (they got covered in dust but loved it) with the other children, collecting eggs from the chickens, playing by the river and looking after the guinea pig and rabbit we had reserved.

We stayed in April right at the start of the season, just after the heavy snow across much of the UK. The cold weather did not deter us from 'glamping' but the extra firewood the owners provided and the constant hot water from the boiler by the farm shop was very, very welcome. At that time of year plenty of warm clothing, extra blankets and sleeping bags are an obvious necessity. The owners provided extra hot water bottles which, combined with the permanently available hot water from the boiler, made a real difference in the cold weather.

The owners were lovely and struck the right balance between checking we had everything we needed and leaving us alone to enjoy the peace and quiet.

A wonderful holiday in a lovely environment which we would happily repeat at any time of the year. As a result we are now also considering other Feather Down Farms for future holidays.

Room Tip: There are only ten tents on the farm and even the one nearest the farm shop is fine. However it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nothing bad to say!
1. Friendly owners but not intrusive.
2. Goat feeding with Mark the Farmer was great and he has lots of patience with the kids.
3. Hotpot expensive but worth it.
4. Accommodation clean and just as expected.
5. Service was efficient when we arrived and departed.
6. Pizza oven was good fun and you got to mix with the other families a bit more.
7. Only 10 tents/cabins on the site so lots of space for the kids to run around safely and make friends.
8. Trampoline, haybales, slide and sandpit were great for the kids. Plus the snooker/pool table
9. River was lovely and would have been great if we were freezing in the week that we stayed!
10. Lovely area as well.
11. Lancaster town is well worth a visit - it's a very pleasant town.
12. Lancaster castle is good for older children and adults as you have to do the guided tour which takes about an hour and there is a sign as you enter saying 'Noisy children will be asked to leave'!!! So if your little one won't last for an hour without making some sort of noise its probably not for you.
13 Collecting the eggs in the morning was great for the kids - they loved it.
14 Hot water available in the tap by the honesty shop was a God send for tea, coffee and hot water bottles in the evening as it was very cold while were were there (beginning of April 2013).
15 Thousands of goats which were great to watch and stroke etc.
16 The beds were suprisingly comfy and our 18 month old had the best sleep ever?!!
16 We would definitely recommend this Featherdown Farm. A lovely hard working family that are very welcoming. 10/10

We will definitely book again and would like to go back in the summer months or even a Spring that isn't as cold as the one we have had this year (so far).

TOP TIP - take lots of hot water bottles and sleeping bags for extra warmth.

Room Tip: Hot water bottles and sleeping bags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joanna n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our first experience of 'camping' with our boys (5&3) and to think we very nearly opted for a Eurotent at a busy site in Cornwall - I'm so glad and relieved that we found this little piece of camping paradise instead. With a total of ten 'tents' it really does feel calm and relaxing even when everyone is on site and all the children are running around shouting and having fun. The 'tents' are spaced beautifully allowing for privacy, but with the help of our children we also found ourselves easily getting to know other families - and everyone was happy and friendly despite the sometimes inclement weather.

One of the star attractions for us was the play barn. Our children were confident and happy to go there on their own, make friends and keep themselves completely entertained. Whilst I was reticent to let our young children out of my sight I soon realised that they were going to be absolutely fine. Firstly, we were never that far away and secondly, we were extremely fortunate to be there with some adorable, mature and intelligent older (I guess 10-13 years old) children who took great care of our boys and genuinely loved playing with them. If anything was wrong we would be alerted immediately and our 3 year old would be chaperoned back to us. I have photographs of these fabulous children taking it in turns to hold our youngest up so he could have a turn at trying to get the ball in the hoop. Honestly, it brings a tear.... I want to say a big thank you to all those children.

We ventured across the field to the river on a couple of occasions and this was another great highlight and another little oasis. The children played on the rope swing and we tried to teach our 5 year old to skim stones into the river... both children loved it here and for the duration referred to it as "the beach".

Whilst we were there we took days out to Blackpool - we parked at Cleveleys and took the tram down, which the boys loved. We also went swimming at a perfectly charming pool in Lancaster (Salt Ayre sports centre?) which had a children's pool with a little slide and a very child friendly larger pool with plenty of floats to play with. I noticed there was a big grown up water slide but that was closed off when we were there. It had been recommended we go to The Sands water park in Blackpool but this place was quiet and inexpensive and perfectly suitable for what we wanted. We also went into Lancaster for a wander around - not easy to find lunch (ended up in a Wetherspoons...) but we did a little shopping and it was great to see a bit of this historic town.

The treasure trail was another hit. Our 3 yr old found it a little hard going by the end of 2 hours but the pay off was worth it. Make sure you wear your wellies....

Other things to mention.... Getting eggs from the chicken coop was a little hit and miss. Apparently chickens do not provide an endless supply of eggs exactly when you want them.... After hovering around for an age on the first morning not wanting to miss those precious eggs being laid we soon realised this was a pointless exercise and opted to just having a look whenever we happened to go by. I think we had about 5 eggs from the coop whilst we were there and the rest from the shop.

"No service....." - Both my husband and I had absolutely zero connection to the outside world. No phone, no internet, no social networking.... How truly and utterly brilliant. This cleansing experience added to make this holiday one of the best ever. No interruptions or twitchy fingers. My husband was forced to leave work behind, which for us was the perfect antidote to the chaos and constant demands of normal life.

We will definitely be returning. Next time we will opt for staying a week instead of 4 nights as the time went by all too quickly. The children haven't stopped talking about the goats and keep demanding to look at our many fabulous photographs.

Thank you to the farmer and the rest of the very friendly and helpful staff. Our first experience of Featherdown farms and 'camping' was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Violajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This isn't really camping! Tents have three separate rooms, are well equipped and made of dark canvas so kids sleep in. Owners friendly and welcoming. On top of this, the chance to milk the goats, collect eggs, feed the pigs, wander in the meadow, paddle in the river or hang out in the play barn, as well as an honesty shop with everything you need and a lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have just returned home from our first featherdown farm experience (with kids aged 12 and 8), and enjoyed it so much we are already planning our return to this particular farm. I only wish we had come across these holidays years ago!
The tents are exactly as you see on the website. They are spacious, comfortable (including the beds!), and have all the essentials needed, including running water (albiet cold) and a flushing loo. Our tent sat on a grass embankment overlooking a large field with a small, shallow, running stream behind it. There are pathways from the tents down the embankment onto a large grass play area, where there are make shift football/rugby goals, and a basketball hoop. There is a river, but it is quite a distance away, over the grass field. The kids did take their swimming stuff to swim in it, but the weather was poor while we were there, so we skipped that! The playbarn was also a hit (even with the 12 year old), with a large trampoline, hay bales, tyre swing, and slide. There was always an audience with the goats poking their heads out for a look. The carpark is at the front of the playbarn, but you could get to the barn from the tents without having to cross it. We enjoyed the whole experience. The kids particularly liked collecting the eggs, milk and swapping the ice packs from the honesty shop in the morning (prices in shop were very reasonable). The family who own the farm are very friendly, work hard and were happy to have the kids help with milking. We were even honoured seeing a baby kid, just minutes after being born.
We had rain every day and every night, but the tents are solid and water tight. They are particularly cozy at night with the candles lit, wood burner going and the rain pelting down, whilst all sitting around the table playing games as a family.
All in all a fantastic relaxing family holiday, where there are no time constraints, and the kids could be kids in a safe enviorment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank St0xy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

We've just got back from an idyllic five day break and have had the best family holiday in years. Everything was delightful despite the weather. Great base for sightseeing and warm, kind hosts. A credit to featherdown farms!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LushFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Feather Down Farms at Dolphinholme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farms at Dolphinholme

Address: Dolphinholme, Dolphinholme LA2 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Dolphinholme
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dolphinholme
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best loved family glamping holidays Enjoy the countryside at some of the most gorgeous farm and country estate locations around the UK. During your stay you will (besides enjoying yourself) be able to take a peek into the world of farming. Feather Down Farms are only located on working farms. Our farms have a limited number of tents and many are placed in roaming countryside, some are even situated within areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Feather Down Farm Days' tents are very spacious and comfortable with an authentic decor that recalls the honest rural life of days gone by. Enjoy the ambiance of the candles, oil lamps and the long nights around the wood-burning stove. Forget the time... Feather Down is intended for anyone who is looking for quality time together far away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Feather Down Farms At Dolphinholme Hotel Dolphinholme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing