We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place lovely views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Merok Lodge

A quiet retreat .
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A quiet retreat .
The open plan lounge with French doors into the garden. A light sunny room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
A quiet retreat .
The open plan lounge with French doors into the garden.
A light sunny room.
A twin bedded bedroom with ample cupboard space.
Comfortable twin beds & delightful views over the garden.
A flat screen TV/DVD player adds to the enjoyment of lazy mornings.
Kitchen with dining facilities.
The fully fitted kitchen units showing electric cooker with green splash back.
A bright light kitchen.
The utility room with washing machine, dryer, freezer & extra fridge.
The fully tiled bathroom with jacuzzi bath & walk in shower.
A large walk in shower & jacuzzi bath.
The back garden with view of large pond & the fields beyond.
View of bedroom & lounge on to the decking area & garden.
Easy dining.
From the kitchen to the decking.
Looking from the lounge area to the kitchen.
View from the bedroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Great Eccleston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mrscad
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place lovely views”
Reviewed October 1, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Stayed for our anniversary week. Comfortable, spotless and very warm. We had to turn all the radiators off! Very nice bed plenty of storage and large bathroom. Weather a bit mixed but managed to sit out on the decking watching the wildlife. We had some pleasant walks along the river and good days out to Garstang, Poulton le Fylde, Lytham St Anne’s and the beautiful forest of Bowland.
Great communication with Joan and even though we didn’t manage to meet we felt we knew her well.
Will definitely be booking again and would highly recommend. Many thanks

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2018
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Merok Lodge. Your report was lovely. A shame the weather wasn’t better but you did get around. We agree the Forest of Boland is well worth a visit as it is so beautiful.
Sorry we didn’t meet you but hopefully if you return we will meet you. Kindest regards Joan & Terry Barnes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley...
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Merok Lodge”
Reviewed July 19, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We received a really friendly and warm welcome to Merok Lodge. The lodge is tastefully decorated and very clean. We had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. We would book again and would also recommend. Thank you.

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2018
Thank you Beverly for the exallan review of our lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & that you were comfortable. & found every thing to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again! Joan & Terry. Barnes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulaph
Torrevieja, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A real gem !”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Booked tthis as a very last minute break What a great decision It’s like a beautifully equipped apartment at the side of the owners house but totally self contained Lovely modern clean and comfortable
Joan ( the owner ) was extremely helpful whilst not in the least intrusive
There is a beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi bath and separate shower cubicle fit to grace any 4 star hotel
A super king size bed with more storage than you could shake a stick at
Well equipped kitchen with dining area and lounge with patio doors onto a patio with table and chairs overlooking the river Very relaxing and would be fab in summer

Close to the village and local bars and restaurants

If I say too much more it wont be available next time we come and we will definitely be coming again
The photos are accurate

If I have to say one thing that could be improved it would be the sofa in the lounge is very low and I didn’t find it comfy but that’s just a personal preference ( I’m prob too old ! ) and doesn’t detect from the overall quality

We hope to be back soon you if Joan will have us

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2017
Paula we were delighted to accomodate you & you left the apartment so spic & span. It was a delight to meet you & we do hope you will visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
979paulab
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely break away for three nights. Just what the Dr ordered. Comfortable clean and friendly. Feeling really relaxed.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2017
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Merok Lodge & we hope you may visit us again for a ' chill out ' few days. It was lovely meeting you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Merok Lodge & pleased that the photographs show a true picture. We would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chrissybL...
leigh
1 review
“A peaceful retreat”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

There is everything you need at the apartment for a quiet relaxing stay. Beautiful views and lots of wildlife in the garden. Nice walks nearby to the river and not far to the coast. I would recommend Merok Lodge as a place to chill out. Also we would like to thank Joan and Terry for being the perfect hosts.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thank you Christine for those lovely comments. We really try to make things very acceptable for our guests.. We aim for them to have a relaxing enjoyable time. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenrob...
London
1 review
“Pristine and peaceful!”
Reviewed March 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Perfect retreat for R&R if you need to completely switch off and recharge your batteries but great base from which to explore the beautiful countryside. Every mod-con you could wish for and a beautifully clean and tasteful apartment. I would thoroughly recommend this accommodation and appreciated hugely the warm welcome and consideration of Joan and Terry.

Many thanks!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing