We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of Wallings

Wallings
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Cockerham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Poulton Le Fylde
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We did not have the icecream but judging from the queues it must be good! We called in on our way back from some gardens for lunch. The coffee shop/cafe had a good selection of food and it was tasty,well cooked and the prices were reasonable. The portions are generous and it is licensed. The coffee and puddings were good too. More of a cafe than a restaurant but the menu choices were different to what you might expect. We can recommend the cheese on toast with crispy bacon and the goats cheese tart (with chips), both served with salad.
Don't bother going in to the "garden centre" as it is overpriced and the plants were rather passed it.
Would definately call again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winedrinker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    48
    19
    7
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best ice cream for miles..... But the kids that work there are not great”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Positives first

This is the best ice cream I've had in all of England. It's made by them from the milk produced on the farm and it is exceptionally good. There are lots of flavour to choose from and you really can't go wrong with any of it. We especially like the turkish delight and the lemon meringue pie flavours. We live just down the road but if it was 30 miles away I'd still try and get her regularly.

The food in the cafe is also very good. The sausages for the barms are all local and high quality. Home made soup is really tasty and the cakes are to die for. Do not come here if you are on a diet as you will not stick to it. When we sit in we always have hot food - kids menu is great and good value - followed by ice cream sundaes.

The cost of the food is not bad. Good value for a family lunch.

The shop also has some great little bit of local produce. We regularly by homemade chocolate and sauces to send to relatives in the USA.

Bad Points

The service is not always great!

Don't get me wrong, we've had some really nice service from some of the staff but mostly they can be rude. There is a rule about not eating take away ice creams in the restaurant and I do understand it as a general rule but in certain situations the staff need to exercise some common sense. We ate dinner one day and my son finished early so he went round to get a cone. He is 7 and this is probably the first time he'd been up to a counter himself. After he purchased the cone they refused to let him back in the restaurant and only after a good 5 minutes did I go check where he was, only to find he crying outside alone because they wouldn't let him through to the restaurant. Not great!

Also the closing early problem..... We do not chance going up too late now as we have been turned away 10/20 mins before stated closing time.

Overall great food/ice cream but your staff need some customer service training to make this a 5 star review

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samtscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Turning business away!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Tried visiting the ice-cream shop here tonight. We've been plenty of times before and never had any problems, but tonight we arrived at 6.53pm to be met at the door by a young man, and told that the tills were switched off and we couldn't be served. I said, "it's not 7 o'clock yet." (Their advertised closing time). He said, "it's been a quiet night so we've closed early!"
Surely if it had been a quiet night, they shouldn't be turning valuable custom away!
Having driven 15 miles from Heysham to visit the shop, I'll think twice about giving them my custom again!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inconsiderate member of staff”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The ice cream here is of an high quality but the customer service sadly does not meet the same standard.

Please do not try to relax in the empty restaurant if you have a baby, a pram, a broken leg and have purchased ice creams on a rainy day; A rude and unsympathetic waitress will instruct you to leave at once as your ice cream isn't in a bowl.

We will never visit again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank its_smee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Deal for Ice Cream”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This cafe/ice cream shop and deli is in a most unlikely place and unless you know about it would pass it by. It is between Cockerham and Garstang/Winmarleigh. There is a cafe with good range at very reasonable prices but the star is the ice cream shop. probably there is about 30 varieties from blue banana to stem ginger and lemon curd served in a variety of cones. The best value is the waffle cone where you get 3 generous scoops of ice cream for £1.90. At weekends the place is packed with long queues but there are plenty of places to sit and eat outside. A reasonably priced garden centre with a wide range of plants is also on site and the deli has also a great selection of products such as rhubarb jam for £1.75 - this would be £2.50 elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterhlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wallings also viewed

 

Been to Wallings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing