We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house, superb location, friendly hosts, thoroughly recommended.”
Review of Challan Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silverdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Challan Hall
Ranked #2 of 2 Silverdale B&B and Inns
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful house, superb location, friendly hosts, thoroughly recommended.”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Challan Hall was an excellent choice for us. It is in a peaceful region of north Lancashire, an area rich in fauna and flora. Our hosts made our stay most enjoyable and have set and met high standards for themselves. Charlotte is an excellent cook and Mike has a well-developed dry sense of humour! We have nothing but praise for this establishment and would recommend it wholeheartedly.
S and J Edwards

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balanda4074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We have just returned from a most memorable long weekend stay at Challan Hall. The area is a real gem, a little secret area in the south of the Lakes, and still in Lancashire! Views across the bay from Arnside are amazing, and the area around Silverdale and Kirby Lonsdale was wonderful. We were so lucky with the weather for our cycling trips, but I am sure we will be back to stay at Challan Hall, whatever the season.
Very good information from Charlotte in advance, and a warm welcome for the 4 of us (2 couples) staying in the two double rooms (which can also be twins). House full of character, the rooms very clean with everything you need. Delicious breakfasts served in the dining room. Use of the sitting room for guests is an added bonus for relaxing after a hard day. Mike welcomed us back from the cycle rides with drinks, and we sat outdoors, soaking up the remainder of the sun, overlooking the most fabulous and serene view from the back of the house. What more could you want!
One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in, excellent hosts, couldn't do enough for us, and great company. I have no doubts that we will be back!! Truly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corbett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2010

this is a very relaxing place - both internally as it is a lovely comfortable place to use as a base as well as having stunning views over Haweswater .We felt relaxed straightaway. Mike and Charlotte are very amiable mine hosts and make you feel very welcome.They are also very helpful in terms of providing lots of local information as well as recommending local eateries.
Breakfasts were excellent - so we had to cycle off the effects!
It was a real treat to sit out in the garden at the end of a strenuous day and enjoy the stunning scenery and peace and quiet .We saw woodpeckers, pheasants , rabbits , some lovely traditional hedgerows .This is a part of England best kept as a secret !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterMince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west country
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

excellent location for Lakes and North Lancashire ( a much neglected area). Leighton Moss 5 mins drive. Good pub, The New Inn in Yealand Conyers and excellent Italian in Silverdale. Tables booked by host.
excellent breakfast and good accomodation. superb views from gardens. comfortable sitting room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watsonWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Lovely breakfast in lovely surroundings but wouldn`t recommend it to anyone. No access at all before 5PM as no key is given although I requested one. No hot water on return, post 5PM, for shower or bath. No wardrobe space at all. Wardrobe was completely full of owners clothes. Hangers available to hang our clothes on hooks behind door. We stayed because we had payed £50 deposit and no where else available in vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillykRenfrewshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pangbourne england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2006

We stayed at Challan Hall recently on the recommendation of a friend.
We really would have liked to be staying in Windermere, but Challan Hall sounded so nice we thought we'd risk it and head for Silverdale!
So glad we did!!
Windermere was an easy 20 minute drive from Silverdale, and
Challan Hall isn't a draughty old hall as we envisaged, but a beautiful home overlooking a trout lake.
The accommodation is superb, as are the breakfasts, and our hosts were incredibly welcoming, friendly and relaxed.
This surely has to be B&B at it's best ( well, the best we've tried, we're in our forties and have travelled all over the world) - lovely en suite rooms, beautifully decorated, and all easily accessible from the hustle and bustle of the Lake District.
All we can say is if you're looking for a warm welcome, super accommodation, glorious views and peace and tranquility - then the Cassons at Challon Hall should be your first choice!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank anna poynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverdale
0.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverdale Hotel
Silverdale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Silverdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Challan Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Challan Hall

Property: Challan Hall
Address: Silverdale LA5 0UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Silverdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Silverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing