We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We keep coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Challan Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silverdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Challan Hall
Ranked #2 of 2 Silverdale B&B and Inns
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We keep coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

After numerous visits from 2008-10 could Challan Hall still be our favourite Bed and Breakfast in the North West? ABSOLUTLEY! Mike and Charlotte are great hosts,the accommodation is very comfortable and the breakfast is superb. The views from the very relaxing lounge over Hawswater are really special and "invite" all those interested in the countryside......especially birds,butterflies and wildflowers....to explore Gaitbarrows National Nature Reserve [on the "doorstep"] and the nearby RSPB reserve at Leighton Moss. Even though we now live in Cumbria we will still come back.

Room Tip: Both main rooms are very comfortable. One has a seperate bathroom...with bath. The other an ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allithwaite, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a 2 day walk through the area with an overnight stay at Challan Hall. We had a wonderful warm welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Highlights were the interesting decor, embellishments and items of curiosity not to mention the superbly comfortable bed and very tasty breakfast. All in all 5 stars plus! We recommend it. Very friendly owners and a slightly quirky feel add the icing on the cake! Will & Sally H.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We we were a party of four - two brothers and their wives, staying near Silverdale for a book launch and a golden wedding anniversary - two family events. I have to say that we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to stay again when we next visit our family. All the things that make you relax and enjoy yourself were there, a welcome, warmth, comfort, a very clean environment, an excellent breakfast each morning, a pot of tea and cake in the family sitting room and friendly hosts. The house is situated in an area of special scientific interest, a beautiful area, particularly good for bird watchers.

Room Tip: We had the room with a separate bathroom which was fine for us. Our relatives enjoyed the ensuite r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherCartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The location when found was wonderful. The beds are well made and comfortable providing a good night's sleep. The breakfasts are divine. Bats fly around outside at night. Tea and coffee provided in the room with a few quality street and a penguin. Sufficient to make you feel spoilt. Bathroom luxurious although can be shared with others depending on who stays.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marriane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just returned from a weekend away with friends. Found Challan Hall to be fantastic with comfortable rooms, tea making facilities and chocolates topped up each day! Location is brilliant great view over the lake and surrounding countryside. Very peaceful to wake up to the birds singing and the resident great spotted woodpeckers having their breakfast from the feeder. Mike and Charlotteare very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Excellent breakfast served on the patio and the many pots of tea whilst looking for the Marsh Harriers. Also saw an Osprey over Hawes Water. We would happily recommend this B&B without hesitation.
Keith, Marion and Aussie friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at this lovely B & B for two nights with our 19 month old son to attend a wedding in Silverdale and cannot speak highly enough of the accomodation, location and of the hospitality of the hosts (Michael and Charlotte).

Challan Hall is situated in an excellent location allowing exploration of all types. We found the accomodation to be homely, comfortable and just what we needed as well as having an amazing view and a beautiful garden.

The hosts were exceptional in their service and welcome, making us all feel comfortable and relaxed and nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was served to cater for our needs and they are very helpful with any aspect of your stay. A real 'home from home'.

I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone not only for the quality of the accomodation but also for the kindness extended to us by the hosts. If you are in this area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Beautiful house, with clean, comfortable rooms, better than some 4 star hotels we have stayed in. surrounding countryside is splendid, we had breakfast on the patio while watching the wildlife, deer, buzzards and marsh harriers. Mike and Charlotte made us feel very welcome, the house has one twin room with ensuite and another twin room with a separate bathroom. There is another room that can be made available but does have some of the hosts clothes in, but Mike explained this when I booked it. Despite this, it is a beautiful room, superbly furnished with tea/coffee. chocolates and biscuits. This is the only accommodation that will take a one night booking during the high season.we would recommend Challan Hall without hesitation. thank you Mike and Charlotte.
Arnside with two good pubs and a few quaint shops is about three miles away. Some lovely walks along the estuary with great sunsets.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverdale
0.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
#1 of 2 in Milnthorpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverdale Hotel
Silverdale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Silverdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Challan Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Challan Hall

Property: Challan Hall
Address: Silverdale LA5 0UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Silverdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Silverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing