We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“twitchers delight”

RSPB Leighton Moss Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and discover some very special wildlife at RSPB Leighton Moss. This popular nature reserve is home to a variety of wonderful creatures - from birds and bugs to bats and otters. If you are lucky, you may even spot our largest residents, the red deer. There's plenty to do at Leighton Moss - explore nature trails, take a stroll around our sensory garden, treat yourself in our gift shop and enjoy a home-made meal in our award-winning cafe.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“twitchers delight”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

a good day out for all the family, well laid out paths and hides to view from a good cafe to warm up in and views across the bay, well worth a visit

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Sky2Lark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    50
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A day out with Nature.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is an excellent, well-presented and interesting site to spend a productive day watching birds. Just behind the Visitor's Centre is an area to see garden birds flitting to and fro the feeders. Deeper in the site are comfortable and modern hides from which to see ducks, and if you are very lucky, a Bearded Tit or even a Bittern. The Visitor's Centre has a very good cafe - serving not only home-made cakes but also full meals if you have done a lot of walking and have built up an appetite. It is a delight to see how tame the birds have become - I had a Robin perched cheekily on my shoe wanting lunch. Quite delightful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Gets better and better”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Visited 16 November as a small works group of 5. This site is not just for serious birdwatchers; one of us was not a RSPB member but paid just £3 for entry. You can buy gifts at the shop, yes some are expensive especially bird feeders/bird food. However bargains can be found i.e. a very good and informative diary costs only £3.50.

The food in the cafe is very well prepared, colourful, tasty and not lacking in quality or quantity. If you want to take your own food, no problem.

Children can watch the birds in the feeders behind the centre, and don't think all twitcher's in the hides are anti children.

As for the birds you simply take in what nature offers and the walks near the centre can clearly accommodate wheelchairs or pushchairs. Have a look at the website

We are lucky to have this gem in our part of the world and the groundsman under difficult conditions have clearly done a fantastic job this year-add that to the new hides (might be a little difficult to reach on the new elevated paths), and this bodes for a great day out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good day out, whatever the weather”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

During September I spent a couple of days at Leighton Moss and on both occasions found plenty to do regardless of the weather. Staff are always helpful and keen to give information about where to look for birds and other wildlife. You don't need to be an experienced birdwatcher and you are much more likely to meet friendly fellow birdwatchers - often with their families - than the mythical 'twitcher'. There are four hides on the main site, all with good shelter and good views and the largest hide has a large picture window, great for those visiting with children.

Leighton Moss is blessed with a good variety of birds and I saw plenty of water birds, egrets and a marsh harrier. But the big highlight was when I also saw an otter in the middle of the day - very encouraging, as they are a sign of clean water.

The centre also has a good restaurant with healthy food at reasonable prices and a shop. Again, staff are there to help, not to push you to buy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heron Versus Pike!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Took my 8 year old grandson for his first bird watching experience and he loved it! The hides were of excellent quality and plenty of viewing space. We were so fortunate to witness a Heron that had caught a Pike which should have been impossible to swallow at around one and half pounds in weight but he did, my grandson was amazed and thrilled. A great day day out, highly recommend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RSPB Leighton Moss Nature Reserve also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to RSPB Leighton Moss Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing