We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Moghul

The Moghul
Ranked #21 of 94 Restaurants in Sidcup
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Description: True to the Moglai cuisine traditions, the Moghul in sidcup has been creating Indian culinary delights since 1985.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Read reviews and thought
This is a must.
Mistake number one
Don't order in Saturday nights
Waited 50 minutes for a takeaway
Sag Chicken
Chicken Madras
Mater paneer
Two Naan Bread

Dishes are small and half full
Matter paneer is just sauce
Food was cold
Why people have given this good reviews, I don't know
Paid £19 including discount.
This restaurant is busy
Maybe they have too many customers to care










Glad I didn't order delivery

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markyboy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    40
    27
    23
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

I visited here in late December with four friends. I used to live in Sidcup and came here regularly for an excellent curry.

I don't know if the management/cooks have changed but I won't be coming back.

We were given diet cokes that were flat and tasted cheap. They were changed for free however. We waited nearly half an hour for our food order to be taken and then 45 minutes for it to come!!

Food was acceptable. However I had the tandoori mixed grill, I'd been looking forward to it! At £16 I was expecting a good meal. The lamb was tough and tasteless, the lamb chop was tiny and tough and the tandoori chicken must have been on a starvation diet!

Overall I felt ripped off and there are much better restaurants nearby.

Helpful?
2 Thank daniel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“David R”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

just waited an hour and twenty minutes for the worst curry I've had in years. everything freezing cold, chicken rogan josh was a mass of undercooked tomatoes. stuffed paratha was a big doughy lump, weighed a ton. pappadums brown round edges looked and tasted like they had been cooked in old oil. time to find new curry house I think.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Probably the worst experience I have had in a restaurant.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We celebrated my son's birthday with lunch at the Moghul. It was a party of 7 and from the start it was clear that the staff really did not want to be there. The food, all courses, was tepid and served on cold plates, the wine was really undrinkable(Rose) and warm, the bottle of sparkling water had to be requested 3 times. When we finished the main course(no empty plates of course) we were given the customary hot towels closely followed by the bill - for which we had not asked!
We were not offered a dessert or coffee. This was Sunday lunch and we left the restaurant at approximately 2.15pm so I do not think we had overstayed our welcome! It was not surprising that we were the only customers there for lunch given the service and food we received. I have been to this restaurant several times since it first opened but I will not be going again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joyking69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great evening great food”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Last evening my wife and I with some friends spent a great evening at the Moghul. The food was delicious and the service was friendly and efficient. I have eaten there before and always have a good time. The place is clean and plenty of parking space is just across the road. It's all there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moghul also viewed

Sidcup, Greater London
Sidcup, Greater London
 
Sidcup, Greater London
Sidcup, Greater London
 
Sidcup, Greater London
Sidcup, Greater London
 

Been to The Moghul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing