We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buonissimo! Consistently excellent.”

Coach House Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 94 Restaurants in Sidcup
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Buonissimo! Consistently excellent.”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We've been here several times now, and thought it was about time that we wrote a review to reflect the excellence of this restaurant. It offers a wide range of mainly Italian-based cuisine but there is pretty much something for everyone. Don't let the extensive menu put you off. Unlike so many other restaurants that have extensive menus, this one is able to cook each of these to a very high standard (at least in our experience).

Having eaten here as a couple, with extended family (party of 10+) and friends, we've always had a very enjoyable meal and evening.

That said, they aren't infallible - our last visit did require that a medium-rare steak had to go back as it was very "well done". But this was quickly resolved.

Book in advance as they get very booked up on Fri and Sat evenings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank east_london_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    33
    23
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Positive Experience”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

There is a worrying trend in reviews for this and many other restaurants, of issues relating to price. If it is a matter of value for money, I accept that is in the eyes of the reviewer and we all have different perceptions of value.

To be clear, this restaurant has a website where it's menus complete with prices, are clearly displayed. Secondly, when looking at the menu in the restaurant, again prices are clearly displayed, thirdly it is stated that service is included. I think that any reviews relating to price say more about the reviewer than the restaurant. Is this restaurant cheap - no. Does it sell itself on being a bargain place to eat - no. Does anyone dining, have more than enough opportunity to gauge for themselves how much to spend and roughly how much their meal may cost - yes.

Four of us visited for dinner on Friday evening on what looked to be a busy service. We were shown to our table promptly, drink orders taken swiftly and we were given more than enough time to place our orders.

Starters ordered were antipasti (plenty of sliced meats, could perhaps do with a little more greenery or sun-blushed tomatoes to complete), Crab and Avocado Salad which looked fresh and ate well, Pasta Carbonara starter (plenty of ham, rich creamy sauce) and Pasta A La Vongole (plenty of clam meat, well seasoned and very nice).

For mains we had a steak items, monkfish and stroganoff. All four mains were cooked as ordered, again were seasoned very well and were delicious. We chose from the dessert trolley and were not disappointed with the black forest gateau.

Again, throughout the service was just right, not too intrusive and available when needed, the food was great, they called us a cab at the end of the evening and gave us all a nightcap while it arrived.

Depending on your finances, this is more a special occasion restaurant. But, we would all go back without question and I would strongly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We were lied to and left waiting for an hour before finally walking out”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We ordered crepes. The waitress informed us we would have to wait a little as it was busy. After an hour of being ignored and feeling faint (we were not even offered more drinks) I complained. A waiter said, "The chef is too busy."
This is a dish that is prepared at the table by waiter(s.) We saw at least 5 waiters and a waitress.
I asked for the bill and complained again. No apology so we left without paying the service charge.
If there is a problem serving this item it should be stated clearly on the menu. We left feeling extremely disappointed as we visited this expensive restaurant for a special occasion.

Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super romantic evening”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Loved the atmosphere at this quaint Italian restaurant. Lovely menu choices with super advice from knowledgable staff. Bit short on room but we both like to spread out. Food fantastic and beautifully presented.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining in great surroundings”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

After many years dining here I finally get round to writing a review.
Regular lunch and dinner diner I have had some excellent meals here, the front of house are always friendly and attentive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GerGloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach House Restaurant also viewed

 
Sidcup, Greater London
Sidcup, Greater London
 

Been to Coach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing