We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frozen Iceland Food!!!”

Brewers Fayre Sidcup Place
Ranked #73 of 94 Restaurants in Sidcup
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
LONDON
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Frozen Iceland Food!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Do not even bother with this place,the food is rubbish and the service is very slow(need more staff).

We had the Sunday Carvery and there was only one person at the till with 16 people waiting to order,the food is not fresh at all and looks like it has come out of the freezer.

The Turkey was all rolled up??? and the Potatoes were deep fried and as for the Gravey it was like water.

If its a Carvery you want then drive another 3 Miles to the Toby in either Bromley Common or the one in Bexleyheath.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BROWNIESLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    49
    47
    34
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, lovely Carvery”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Went here a couple of weeks ago, had the Sunday Carvery and works out about £13 for a 3 course pp which basically means you get the usual carvery (just like any other) plus a soup (we had minestrone) and for dessert its basically either ice cream or apple pie. Loved the carvery, always my favourite, and its just like any other in that you get to choose out of three, which 'meats' you want and you can go back for more veg as many times as you like!! I thought it was well worth the money we paid and i got really 'filled up' which is just what you want. The coke i had was bottomless for around £2.50 and the coffee lat'e (£2.50ish) was bottomless too, which i was extremely surprised about as i have never had that before!! I would definately recommend to friends (we hope to be going back again soon) and i would definately suggest turning up for the carvery at 12.00noon as the get extremely busy and is very popular! Give it a go.........................................!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spudett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Dont get a steak!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I've come here and theyve completely over cooked a steak!
Got all 4 meals wrong, 2 steaks overcooked, chips bone dry on all meals and discoloured, cold scampi, peas weren't fresh and were smushy, had been re heated.
The waiters took care of the problems and were friendly but not gonna be coming here again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danquadrozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
1 review
“All you can eat? You would have to pay us to go again thankyou!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had been here before and always ordered off the menu. The food has always been okay, typical mass pub food... Nothing special but the setting always made up for it. Its such a beautiful building and the gardens are spectacular!
We sat at a table and decided to have a starter. After ordering at the bar we waited over 40 minutes for the starter! We complained after half an hour and were told that the kitchen was busy and it still took a further 10 minutes for it to arrive. It was the sharer starter, nothing complicated. When it did finally arrive it looked completely over cooked and was missing the nachos. After another complaint we were provided with the nachos and the manager informed us we would get another sharer starter for free, which somehow only took 5 minutes to reach us as opposed to the 40 minutes of the one we actually paid for!
Two of us chose to have the Chinese buffet and one ordered off the menu. When our starter was finally delivered, we asked for the main of pie to come out as he was ready for it (The plan being that we would go and help ourselves to the buffet and when we came back his food should have been served). After several complaints and almost 2 hours after we had initially placed the food order we finally received the pie main dish! I am also not naive enough to assume that the chinese buffet here would be as good as from an actual restaurant... Turns out even I couldnt imagine a meal as horrid as the ones they serve on the buffet. The chef was lovely though and said if we didnt like anything we could take our plate back and he would give us a fresh one. Only problem was... It was all horrible!
We had to clear our own plates and glasses inbetween courses. No one came to check our meal was okay, we had to go to the bar to make all the complaints. When talking to a waitress about how busy the kitchen was (5 tables were occupied), we informed her that we wouldn't return to Sidcup Place and she replied "Well don't then".
The attitude of the people we complained to was extremely unprofessional and if it had just been the food or waiting time that we had issues with we wouldnt have taken it further. As it was more, we used the website and sent off feedback and requested a response. That was 3 weeks ago! An additional complaint made through the website, again requesting a response, its only been 1 week so far but i dont hold out much hope. All i want is to have my complaint acknowledge but i am feeling rather ignored by Brewers Fayre.
I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidcup
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Varies considerably!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

As this restaurant is very close to us, we have been there often over the years. We have had nice meals that have been extremely good value with excellent, friendly service. BUT sometimes everything is poor.
For New Years Eve we booked a table AND confirmed it before New Year. When we got to the restaurant the table that we booked had people sitting at it who were very familiar with the waitress serving them! We eventually got another table - service was bad with the waitress fussing and chatting with the people she knew.
We do go there for breakfast which 95% of the time has been great. We had one occasion when our order came up completely wrong and another time I had a fried egg that had not seen the frying pan!
As far as the building goes, it is a grand old house set in beautiful grounds - I think they would have restrictions on what they can do as far as alterations go.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewers Fayre Sidcup Place also viewed

Bexleyheath, Greater London
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Sidcup Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing