We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil location, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suntikoppa
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
2 reviews
“Tranquil location, good service”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The location is excellent, with only nature giving you company. The entire layout assures almost complete privacy, even when all rooms are occupied! The food and service in general is very good as well. The only quibble I had is that no alcohol is served, which was surprising especially when the resort is advertised as modeled on English tastes!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vdravid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for a great review, we appreciate the time taken by you to encourage us, We are glad you enjoyed the you holiday with us and look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    46
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
127
86
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Highly recommended. We spent a weekend here. Everything about the place is top notch. It is nestled in the heart of coffee plantations, so you are surrounded by nothing but greenery, crickets, birds, and beautiful weather. The walks through the plantations are amazing, and slightly scary (because you are literally in the middle of nowhere)!

Food: The food is generally very good. All the dishes are doused with coorgi pepper, so everything is spicy, and totally delicious. Breakfasts are good as well.

Ambience: Amazing. You're in the middle of the forest. Barely any human activity, expect for plantation workers.

Service: Very very good. Mr. Manoj and his staff take this very seriously, and it shows in their delivery of excellent service. I would say this is the best service I have experienced at a hotel.

so in short, GO!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svaziralli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest
We thank you for your review. The essence of The Old Kent Estate has been very well mentioned by you in your review and we are glad that you enjoyed the same. We appreciate your words of encouragement for our team headed by Manoj, it will surely help motivate them. We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

hi, i stayed at old kent for 3 nights from 10th oct 2013. the place was so completely different from other routine resorts. it is so silent ,you can hear only birds and insects at night.the 1 hour trek in the plantations was wonderful. manoj and his team were great. please remember to take a bsnl or reliance mobile-- my vodafone had no signal there. overall a great relaxing place and i would like to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susheelreddy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest
We thank you for your review. The 8 chalets are located right in the middle of 300 acres so we give our guests a sense of estate/forest living yet with no compromises on luxuries and safety. We are glad that you have enjoyed the essence of this during your holiday. We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very homely place, great homemade like food, great service, the people there are very friendly. Excellent ambience and beautiful rooms. great english architecture. we stayed for 3 nights 4 days. didnt feel like leaving the place. Thanks to Mr. Manoj and his competant crew for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sivaranjani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Team Old Kent thanks you for taking the time to write such an encouraging review. We truly appreciate your efforts and look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you're looking for a homely experience nestled in the coffee plantations of Coorg, then go no further than Old Kent. We stayed here for a 2 night 3 day package and it was the ideal place where you can switch off from the outside world (with the resort team led by Mr Manoj there to take care of all your worries).

The entire atmosphere at the estate has an old world charm with the freshness and warmth of the hospitality team. Right from when we landed, the entire team was there to welcome us with refreshing drinks and eager to make us feel comfortable from the word go. Both the theatre room and the library have a well-stocked collection of titles (even though with our 4 month old baby we couldn't completely make use of the former).

The chalet decor is very well-maintained and the bathrooms are spacious with the intent to spoil you for choice. When Mr Manoj came to know that our child is completing 4 months, he impromptu produced a delicious cake. Mr Manoj wears several hats from that of a manager, great conversationalist to being involved in the kitchen himself. The food at all times is delicious no matter what kind of cuisine you are having.

The best part of the staff is the ever-smiling nature. In fact, while leaving Old Kent we exchanged so many goodbyes it almost felt we were leaving our close relatives and friends behind. One of the not-to-be-missed parts of the stay is the trail walk with Prashanth which becomes much more valuable because of Prashanth's knowledge about the estate, Kodava culture and his familiarity with almost all the wide variety of trees and plants around the estate.

A walk in the night seems like straight out of a fairy tale with the rustic looking lanterns and "magic" vases placed at the right spots. Another great attraction is the evening snacks at the clubhouse which you can enjoy while playing darts or carrom. In short, this is the perfect getaway we would recommend for couples or those looking to rejuvenate themselves away from city life. Hats off to Mr Manoj for his efficient management which adds to the natural beauty of the resort!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank shadshahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for a wonderful review. You have by far captured the whole essence of the property!!
We wanted to ensure the guest gets to be pampered with the best of hospitality with the highest of luxuries but in a laid back 'estate' setting away from the hustle & bustle of the city. The trail walk by Prashant is offered to those guests who would appreciate the whole trekking experience as it helps one get more closer to nature.
We once again thank you for your review and look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Old Kent is a quiet place where you can really enjoy nature at its best. Set in the middle of the forest with nothing but natural beauty to blanket you.

We went to Old Kent Estate for 3 days and 2 nights from 15th of August 2013. A wonderful experience overall, which was only possible because of excellent service managed by Mr. Manoj, who is incharge of the Resort. He has made huge efforts and has gone out of his way several times to make us feel comfortable.

I wish him and the resort a huge success for future,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheetal714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience of staying at The Old Kent Estate. We are glad that you enjoyed the beauty of nature all around you. We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Usually I don't write any reviews but this particular experience at Old Kent resorts has been worth mentioning. The location is excellent. The staff is very courteous and looks after your every needs.if you really want to enjoy the coffee estate experience then Old Kent Estates is the place. The food is excellent. Mr Manoj requires a special mention he has truly made my stay there comfortable and memorable. A must place if you want to enjoy nature and stay away from the city hussle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yhandoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us. You statement 'enjoy nature away from the city hustle' was exactly the theme of the resort from the beginning, however as you have experienced we have spared no efforts in terms of luxuries so you have a comfortable holiday.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suntikoppa
17.8 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
492 reviews
8.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 24 in Madikeri
1,417 reviews
4.4 mi away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 24 in Madikeri
436 reviews
8.2 mi away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
8.6 mi away
Evolve Back Luxury Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Kent Estates, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Kent Estates, Coorg

Property: Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Address: Thaikappa Estate | Horoor Post and Village, Suntikoppa 571237, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Suntikoppa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suntikoppa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Kent Estates, Coorg 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Kent Estates, originally developed in the mid 1800s, is one of the earliest established coffee plantations in Southern India. William Roland Wright, a Colonel in the British Army led to the transformation of this 200-acre estate from a jungle in which big game abound to a cultivated plantation and a delightful home to his family. First constructed in 1864, the stately bungalow has been fully restored to its former charm & glory and has vignettes of the by gone colonial era and houses several rooms. As a tribute to the Wright Family, each room is fondly named after one of the family members who once inhabited within. The property has been designed keeping in mind its rich history and tradition, ensuring the conservation and preservation of the natural surroundings, within an exclusive boutique setting. Each English cottage with its own private garden provides the utmost privacy, Get pampered with the Old Kent hospitality and experience the tranquil life of a typical estate owner in British India. Read some of the reviews from our guests to find out why we have been awarded the coveted Traveller's Choice Award two years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Old Kent Estates, Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Kent Estates, Coorg Suntikoppa, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing