We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am voting for Old Kent!!! They give what they promise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suntikoppa
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I am voting for Old Kent!!! They give what they promise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very homely place, great homemade like food, great service, the people there are very friendly. Excellent ambience and beautiful rooms. great english architecture. we stayed for 3 nights 4 days. didnt feel like leaving the place. Thanks to Mr. Manoj and his competant crew for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sivaranjani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Team Old Kent thanks you for taking the time to write such an encouraging review. We truly appreciate your efforts and look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    42
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
115
76
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you're looking for a homely experience nestled in the coffee plantations of Coorg, then go no further than Old Kent. We stayed here for a 2 night 3 day package and it was the ideal place where you can switch off from the outside world (with the resort team led by Mr Manoj there to take care of all your worries).

The entire atmosphere at the estate has an old world charm with the freshness and warmth of the hospitality team. Right from when we landed, the entire team was there to welcome us with refreshing drinks and eager to make us feel comfortable from the word go. Both the theatre room and the library have a well-stocked collection of titles (even though with our 4 month old baby we couldn't completely make use of the former).

The chalet decor is very well-maintained and the bathrooms are spacious with the intent to spoil you for choice. When Mr Manoj came to know that our child is completing 4 months, he impromptu produced a delicious cake. Mr Manoj wears several hats from that of a manager, great conversationalist to being involved in the kitchen himself. The food at all times is delicious no matter what kind of cuisine you are having.

The best part of the staff is the ever-smiling nature. In fact, while leaving Old Kent we exchanged so many goodbyes it almost felt we were leaving our close relatives and friends behind. One of the not-to-be-missed parts of the stay is the trail walk with Prashanth which becomes much more valuable because of Prashanth's knowledge about the estate, Kodava culture and his familiarity with almost all the wide variety of trees and plants around the estate.

A walk in the night seems like straight out of a fairy tale with the rustic looking lanterns and "magic" vases placed at the right spots. Another great attraction is the evening snacks at the clubhouse which you can enjoy while playing darts or carrom. In short, this is the perfect getaway we would recommend for couples or those looking to rejuvenate themselves away from city life. Hats off to Mr Manoj for his efficient management which adds to the natural beauty of the resort!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank shadshahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for a wonderful review. You have by far captured the whole essence of the property!!
We wanted to ensure the guest gets to be pampered with the best of hospitality with the highest of luxuries but in a laid back 'estate' setting away from the hustle & bustle of the city. The trail walk by Prashant is offered to those guests who would appreciate the whole trekking experience as it helps one get more closer to nature.
We once again thank you for your review and look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Old Kent is a quiet place where you can really enjoy nature at its best. Set in the middle of the forest with nothing but natural beauty to blanket you.

We went to Old Kent Estate for 3 days and 2 nights from 15th of August 2013. A wonderful experience overall, which was only possible because of excellent service managed by Mr. Manoj, who is incharge of the Resort. He has made huge efforts and has gone out of his way several times to make us feel comfortable.

I wish him and the resort a huge success for future,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheetal714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience of staying at The Old Kent Estate. We are glad that you enjoyed the beauty of nature all around you. We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Usually I don't write any reviews but this particular experience at Old Kent resorts has been worth mentioning. The location is excellent. The staff is very courteous and looks after your every needs.if you really want to enjoy the coffee estate experience then Old Kent Estates is the place. The food is excellent. Mr Manoj requires a special mention he has truly made my stay there comfortable and memorable. A must place if you want to enjoy nature and stay away from the city hussle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yhandoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us. You statement 'enjoy nature away from the city hustle' was exactly the theme of the resort from the beginning, however as you have experienced we have spared no efforts in terms of luxuries so you have a comfortable holiday.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I were at Old Kent in the first week of July 2013, for our wedding anniversary. This is possibly one of the best holidays I've had. The resort is located such that the view from anywhere in the resort is fantastic. There is greenery all around and it looks like a scenic place one would see only in movies! An extremely relaxing stay, the chalets are fantastic in both architecture and amenities. They are placed such that they offer complete privacy and with a sit out right outside from where the view is eye-catching, it was all we could hope for and more.

We were there for 4 days and every day was something to look forward to. The staff went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and had a good time. Special mention deserved by Mr. Manoj and he is ably supported by his staff. Every person we came across, at any time of the day, was courteous and had a smile on their face, thus making it a pleasure to interact with them. Deepak, the chef, made some fabulous food every day we were there and the cake they surprised us with on our anniversary was simply fantastic.

We had availed the Governor's retreat package which is totally worth the money. Though it was raining on the last day we were there, it just made it more fun to sit cozily in the chalet and enjoy some hot tea and snacks while enjoying the rain and the scenery. Beyond the sight-seeing in Coorg, Old Kent is such that one can just chill out sitting outside the room or at the reception building. They also have an engaging library with an interesting collection, a fabulous home theatre room with a good collection of DVDs to watch, or one can play pool or badminton.

Overall, this was a great experience and we will definitely be recommending this to our family and friends and more importantly, we look forward to going back to Old Kent sometime!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadmaSrinivasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Ms. Padma Srinivasan
Thank you very much for a great review, it is indeed very encouraging for all of us !!
As you have rightly pointed out the location of the chalets was decided with 2 points in mind, one was the view of the mountains and second was the privacy between the chalets.
Many of our guests have congratulated us on the club house amenities liked the themed home theater, the pool table etc, thank you for the same.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and me stayed here in the month of April for 3 nights. We just loved Old Kent! We drove all the way from Hyderabad, and it was worth the journey and more! The property is in a coffee estate with beautiful landscaping. Especially, the luscious garden outside the club house. An old colonial bungalow has been converted into a charming club house. The club house has a nice library, a home theatre, billiards and a dining area.
The cottages are beautiful and luxurious wih lovely colonial furniture. Every cottage has a private sit-out, and in a span of 10 min we saw atleast 5 different species of butterflies and birds. We stayed in the Delamere Forest cottage.The bathroom was huge with 2 showers, a tub and a skylight. I really liked the eco-friendly toileteries that they provided. On request the staff set up a massage bed in the bathroom for a massage.
I have to especially thank the staff for making our holiday memorable. Mr. Manoj, the gentleman in charge of old Kent, was so helpful and went out of the way to take care of all our requests. Really like one of the other reviewers mentioned, he is a 24x7 guy. Everybody were so courteous and friendly. Housekeeping was excellent. The very talented chef Deepak, made some fabulous food. We had local coorgi cuisine, chinese, italian etc. His deserts are delicious too, my favourite was caramel pudding. I could not belive it when they told us that the food was custom-made for each guest. Every single meal was exceeded our expectations.
The coffee-plantation walk (with Prashant as a guide) is not to be missed. We went sightseeing to Bylakuppe but otherwise were very happy to stay in the property.
The property is really a nature lovers paradise. Thank you everybody at Old Kent's for a blissful holiday. We really went back rejuvinated. And thank you for making us a breakfast and lunch hamper for our journey back, it was much appreciated. Looking forward to visit again when the swimming pool and the spa is done.

Note: The only tip i would like to give the management is to install a phone in the room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApoorvaCheruku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Ms. Cheruku
Thank you so much for a detailed and encouraging review. Its is very nice of you to have remembered The Old Kent Estates even 2 months after check out !
The colonial bungalow we have restored was built in 1826 by an Englishman Col. Wright, the erstwhile owner of the whole estate. We have redone the insides to accommodate the modern amenities mentioned by you for the comfort of our guests.
The whole 'boutique' theme of the property is summed up well by you, we'd like our guests to enjoy the best of comforts, be pampered by personalised service, be one with nature with the coffee trail walks, enjoy the chirping of the 44 certified species of birds living in the estate and get a spa therapy within the confines of the guest chalets. Let me just say we enjoy 'spoiling' our guests !!
I apologise for the inconvenience of not having a phone in your room during your stay as the whole tel network had burnt out due to a lightening strike then, however this has been sorted out and phones restored to the rooms.
We look forward eagerly to having you as our guests again.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I and my wife had planned this trip as our anniversary trip and after spending three days here we came back refreshed, relaxed n pampered.

We booked ourselves the Governers retreat package which is probably the most popular package among the visitors. Although one may say that it is a touch expensive but when you see what the package includes and compare it with other resorts one will realise that it is a good value for money. What I like most about this package was that it is one stop shop for all ones needs during a vacation - Taxi for pick-up/drop/sight-seeing, all meals, spa. As there are only 8 chalets in the resort, there are only limited number of guests which makes it even better as we received good attention from the staff.

We flew down to Mangalore and took the taxi which was included in the package. The taxi was clean and the driver Sunil was very cautious especially when the road to Madekeri isn't the best road in the world. It took us close to 4 hrs to reach the resort and when we reached there almost the entire staff was eagerly waiting to receive us.

We were given the second chalet from the club house which was good in a way that we don't have to walk too much to the club house. The chalet was clean, well decorated, spacious and had a nice fragerance. But the USP of the chalets are the bathroom - the biggest I have seen in my life. Needless to say it was very clean and the cosmetic products/toiletries placed inside were of premium quality. The bed and other furniture in the rooms were equally good. The ambience of the entire resort is very peaceful, calm and free from any disturbance.

The resort can boast themselves of having a very courteous, friendly and humble staff. A special word of appreciation for the two managers - Mr Manoj and Mr Rajan. Each of the two is an absolute gentlemen. It is very evident that they take their job very seriously and determined to leave a good impression on the guest plainly by their hospitality. Both Manoj and Rajan were a pleasure to chat with while they were very focussed on their job as well. Manoj has a very good knowledge of the local area. There was one day when the hot water was not available but they were quick to fix that. What was also striking about them was the friendly attitude they had for their junior staff - not at all bossy. The other staff Sunil, Kaavya, Manoj, Prashant, Shabana, Rijo (sorry if I have missed anyone) were as good at their job as their superiors. Well Done Guys.

The hotel arranged taxi for us to see the local areas like the Tibetean Temple, Raja Seat and Nisarg Dham. The arrangement was well planned. The coffee trail walk is not to be missed. Our guide Prashant was extremely personable and inspite of the bad weather he took extra pain to show us the entire plantation.

Last but not the least the head chef Deepak is an absolute magician. Be it South Indian, North Indian, Italian, American etc etc., he can cook anything. He is VERY GOOD and VEY TALENTED. He is like the Gordon Ramsey but without the cuss words. He takes an extra pain to ask you what you would like to eat and how you would like it. The meals are served hot and always on time. His choclate pancakes is something everyone must try. Thanks man.

Thanks a lot Old Kent for a marvellous experience. These are only a few examples of why I have been impressed with your resort and people. I have no doubt that I will recommend this resort to everyone who plans to visit Coorg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhinav_mgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Adhinav
Thank for taking the time to write such a detailed and wonderful review.
The whole idea of the 'governor's retreat package' was summed up perfectly by you, we like our guests to pay and forget about all the usual nitty gritties of a usual holiday, we are there to take care of everything!
The design of the toilet was again something we wanted our guests to indulge in, normally resorts would give luxury in the living rooms, bedrooms etc but we have done that for the toilets too!
We do not believe in senior or junior staffs, its a team and they are all there to make the holiday memorable for the guests. Both Rajan & Manoj are the driving forces behind this goal.
I am glad you liked the trekking trip with Prashant, we usually suggest this only to guests who we feel would enjoy the experience.
Chef Deepak is in cloud nine after your compliment referring to him as Chef Gordon Ramsey, thank you for the same. I am glad he was able to satisfy your palette fully.
Lastly as a team I thank you for appreciating almost everyone, it is reviews like your's that encourage us to keep pushing towards 100% guest satisfaction.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suntikoppa
8.6 mi away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
8.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
4.4 mi away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
8.2 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Kent Estates, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Kent Estates, Coorg

Property: Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Address: Thaikappa Estate | Horoor Post and Village, Suntikoppa 571237, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Suntikoppa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suntikoppa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Kent Estates, Coorg 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Kent Estates, originally developed in the mid 1800s, is one of the earliest established coffee plantations in Southern India. William Roland Wright, a Colonel in the British Army led to the transformation of this 200-acre estate from a jungle in which big game abound to a cultivated plantation and a delightful home to his family. First constructed in 1864, the stately bungalow has been fully restored to its former charm & glory and has vignettes of the by gone colonial era and houses several rooms. As a tribute to the Wright Family, each room is fondly named after one of the family members who once inhabited within. The property has been designed keeping in mind its rich history and tradition, ensuring the conservation and preservation of the natural surroundings, within an exclusive boutique setting. Each English cottage with its own private garden provides the utmost privacy, Get pampered with the Old Kent hospitality and experience the tranquil life of a typical estate owner in British India. Read some of the reviews from our guests to find out why we have been awarded the coveted Traveller's Choice Award two years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Kent Estates, Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Kent Estates, Coorg Suntikoppa, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing