We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Nearby Hotels
$225
$218
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ibnii(Madikeri)
$323
$314
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
OYO 9632 Hotel Prestige Residency(Madikeri)(Great Value!)
$46
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
211
55
12
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
211
55
12
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome theatercoffee estateprivate gardencommercial resorthuge collectionenglish stylebig bathtubbirds chirpingbritish eraspecial mentionfried ice creamsurprise candle light dinneroff beatmini theatreplantation walkthe cottagesheritage property
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 287 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I were at Old Kent in the first week of July 2013, for our wedding anniversary. This is possibly one of the best holidays I've had. The resort is located such that the view from anywhere in the resort is fantastic. There is greenery all around and it looks like a scenic place one would see only in movies! An extremely relaxing stay, the chalets are fantastic in both architecture and amenities. They are placed such that they offer complete privacy and with a sit out right outside from where the view is eye-catching, it was all we could hope for and more.

We were there for 4 days and every day was something to look forward to. The staff went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and had a good time. Special mention deserved by Mr. Manoj and he is ably supported by his staff. Every person we came across, at any time of the day, was courteous and had a smile on their face, thus making it a pleasure to interact with them. Deepak, the chef, made some fabulous food every day we were there and the cake they surprised us with on our anniversary was simply fantastic.

We had availed the Governor's retreat package which is totally worth the money. Though it was raining on the last day we were there, it just made it more fun to sit cozily in the chalet and enjoy some hot tea and snacks while enjoying the rain and the scenery. Beyond the sight-seeing in Coorg, Old Kent is such that one can just chill out sitting outside the room or at the reception building. They also have an engaging library with an interesting collection, a fabulous home theatre room with a good collection of DVDs to watch, or one can play pool or badminton.

Overall, this was a great experience and we will definitely be recommending this to our family and friends and more importantly, we look forward to going back to Old Kent sometime!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PadmaSrinivasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Ms. Padma Srinivasan
Thank you very much for a great review, it is indeed very encouraging for all of us !!
As you have rightly pointed out the location of the chalets was decided with 2 points in mind, one was the view of the mountains and second was the privacy between the chalets.
Many of our guests have congratulated us on the club house amenities liked the themed home theater, the pool table etc, thank you for the same.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and me stayed here in the month of April for 3 nights. We just loved Old Kent! We drove all the way from Hyderabad, and it was worth the journey and more! The property is in a coffee estate with beautiful landscaping. Especially, the luscious garden outside the club house. An old colonial bungalow has been converted into a charming club house. The club house has a nice library, a home theatre, billiards and a dining area.
The cottages are beautiful and luxurious wih lovely colonial furniture. Every cottage has a private sit-out, and in a span of 10 min we saw atleast 5 different species of butterflies and birds. We stayed in the Delamere Forest cottage.The bathroom was huge with 2 showers, a tub and a skylight. I really liked the eco-friendly toileteries that they provided. On request the staff set up a massage bed in the bathroom for a massage.
I have to especially thank the staff for making our holiday memorable. Mr. Manoj, the gentleman in charge of old Kent, was so helpful and went out of the way to take care of all our requests. Really like one of the other reviewers mentioned, he is a 24x7 guy. Everybody were so courteous and friendly. Housekeeping was excellent. The very talented chef Deepak, made some fabulous food. We had local coorgi cuisine, chinese, italian etc. His deserts are delicious too, my favourite was caramel pudding. I could not belive it when they told us that the food was custom-made for each guest. Every single meal was exceeded our expectations.
The coffee-plantation walk (with Prashant as a guide) is not to be missed. We went sightseeing to Bylakuppe but otherwise were very happy to stay in the property.
The property is really a nature lovers paradise. Thank you everybody at Old Kent's for a blissful holiday. We really went back rejuvinated. And thank you for making us a breakfast and lunch hamper for our journey back, it was much appreciated. Looking forward to visit again when the swimming pool and the spa is done.

Note: The only tip i would like to give the management is to install a phone in the room

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ApoorvaCheruku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Ms. Cheruku
Thank you so much for a detailed and encouraging review. Its is very nice of you to have remembered The Old Kent Estates even 2 months after check out !
The colonial bungalow we have restored was built in 1826 by an Englishman Col. Wright, the erstwhile owner of the whole estate. We have redone the insides to accommodate the modern amenities mentioned by you for the comfort of our guests.
The whole 'boutique' theme of the property is summed up well by you, we'd like our guests to enjoy the best of comforts, be pampered by personalised service, be one with nature with the coffee trail walks, enjoy the chirping of the 44 certified species of birds living in the estate and get a spa therapy within the confines of the guest chalets. Let me just say we enjoy 'spoiling' our guests !!
I apologise for the inconvenience of not having a phone in your room during your stay as the whole tel network had burnt out due to a lightening strike then, however this has been sorted out and phones restored to the rooms.
We look forward eagerly to having you as our guests again.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I and my wife had planned this trip as our anniversary trip and after spending three days here we came back refreshed, relaxed n pampered.

We booked ourselves the Governers retreat package which is probably the most popular package among the visitors. Although one may say that it is a touch expensive but when you see what the package includes and compare it with other resorts one will realise that it is a good value for money. What I like most about this package was that it is one stop shop for all ones needs during a vacation - Taxi for pick-up/drop/sight-seeing, all meals, spa. As there are only 8 chalets in the resort, there are only limited number of guests which makes it even better as we received good attention from the staff.

We flew down to Mangalore and took the taxi which was included in the package. The taxi was clean and the driver Sunil was very cautious especially when the road to Madekeri isn't the best road in the world. It took us close to 4 hrs to reach the resort and when we reached there almost the entire staff was eagerly waiting to receive us.

We were given the second chalet from the club house which was good in a way that we don't have to walk too much to the club house. The chalet was clean, well decorated, spacious and had a nice fragerance. But the USP of the chalets are the bathroom - the biggest I have seen in my life. Needless to say it was very clean and the cosmetic products/toiletries placed inside were of premium quality. The bed and other furniture in the rooms were equally good. The ambience of the entire resort is very peaceful, calm and free from any disturbance.

The resort can boast themselves of having a very courteous, friendly and humble staff. A special word of appreciation for the two managers - Mr Manoj and Mr Rajan. Each of the two is an absolute gentlemen. It is very evident that they take their job very seriously and determined to leave a good impression on the guest plainly by their hospitality. Both Manoj and Rajan were a pleasure to chat with while they were very focussed on their job as well. Manoj has a very good knowledge of the local area. There was one day when the hot water was not available but they were quick to fix that. What was also striking about them was the friendly attitude they had for their junior staff - not at all bossy. The other staff Sunil, Kaavya, Manoj, Prashant, Shabana, Rijo (sorry if I have missed anyone) were as good at their job as their superiors. Well Done Guys.

The hotel arranged taxi for us to see the local areas like the Tibetean Temple, Raja Seat and Nisarg Dham. The arrangement was well planned. The coffee trail walk is not to be missed. Our guide Prashant was extremely personable and inspite of the bad weather he took extra pain to show us the entire plantation.

Last but not the least the head chef Deepak is an absolute magician. Be it South Indian, North Indian, Italian, American etc etc., he can cook anything. He is VERY GOOD and VEY TALENTED. He is like the Gordon Ramsey but without the cuss words. He takes an extra pain to ask you what you would like to eat and how you would like it. The meals are served hot and always on time. His choclate pancakes is something everyone must try. Thanks man.

Thanks a lot Old Kent for a marvellous experience. These are only a few examples of why I have been impressed with your resort and people. I have no doubt that I will recommend this resort to everyone who plans to visit Coorg.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhinav_mgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Mr. Adhinav
Thank for taking the time to write such a detailed and wonderful review.
The whole idea of the 'governor's retreat package' was summed up perfectly by you, we like our guests to pay and forget about all the usual nitty gritties of a usual holiday, we are there to take care of everything!
The design of the toilet was again something we wanted our guests to indulge in, normally resorts would give luxury in the living rooms, bedrooms etc but we have done that for the toilets too!
We do not believe in senior or junior staffs, its a team and they are all there to make the holiday memorable for the guests. Both Rajan & Manoj are the driving forces behind this goal.
I am glad you liked the trekking trip with Prashant, we usually suggest this only to guests who we feel would enjoy the experience.
Chef Deepak is in cloud nine after your compliment referring to him as Chef Gordon Ramsey, thank you for the same. I am glad he was able to satisfy your palette fully.
Lastly as a team I thank you for appreciating almost everyone, it is reviews like your's that encourage us to keep pushing towards 100% guest satisfaction.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Old Kent is a lovely, serene and relaxing place! Since there are only eight chalets, you get a lot of privacy. We and our two kids had a fun and relaxing time there. The chalets are spacious and comfortable. The club house's movie room has a good collection of movies.

The best part though, is the people! They want to go out of their way to help you with a smile!

Tara, the housekeeping supervisor was very sweet and struck a chord with my kids and wife. She went out of her way to help us, while always smiling :-)

Manoj was always accessible on his phone - that was really helpful during the odd occasion when the intercom was not working.

Deepak was great too - he customized the food for us (it helps a lot, when you have kids)! And I don't want to miss out the housekeeping ladies who helped my little son learn to give a flying kiss :-) and the boys who were serving food and helping us with everything else.

When we had minor issues, they were quick to sort those out. Also, when my six year old son wanted ice cream at 10 pm, Deepak & Manoj tried to get it. When they were not able to get it, Deepak and a couple of the boys came to our Chalet with chocolates that put a smile on my son's face.

Overall, a lovely experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Mr. Dominic
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such an beautiful review about the old kent estates & the team.
As rightly pointed out by you our team be it the manager, chef, house keeping etc are all tuned to making the holiday for our guests (both adults & little guests!!). We would like to provide the guests all luxuries of a 5 star boutique resort yet offer personalised service to give you the best of both worlds.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We took a flight to Bangalore and had to drive to the resort from there. It was a nearly 7-hour long journey, and the absence of even a single 'Old Kent' signboard on the way made us quite worried. However, we finally got to the resort and found that it is really beautiful. There are only 8 rooms or chalets, so it is not very populated, which is excellent for relaxation. The food was phenomenal. The chef Deepak would cook anything we wanted at any time and his food was really good. The staff made us feel at home and welcome, especially Mr. Manoj, the manager. The view was spectacular, and the trekking in the hills around the resort was one of the most enjoyable experiences in the trip. There was also a theater with a selection of movies to watch, a game room with board games and foosball, and a pool table (where my son spent most of his time). This is an excellent resort and I recommend it to everyone planning a trip to Coorg.

Room Tip: Choose chalets near the club house - we were fortunate to get the 2 closest chalets, Abernathy Forest and Bedgebury Forest.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramsubbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Mr. Ramsubbu
We truly appreciate the time you have taken to write such a great review. The whole Old Kent Team thanks you for your words of encouragement.
The view you have mentioned is what made us build the chalets at that point on the 200 acre property. We are glad your son enjoyed the pool table along with the other indoor games options.
We have stocked the home theater with a good mix of old & new movies to cater to the various guest requirements/moods, we are glad you used the same.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews