We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suntikoppa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We took a flight to Bangalore and had to drive to the resort from there. It was a nearly 7-hour long journey, and the absence of even a single 'Old Kent' signboard on the way made us quite worried. However, we finally got to the resort and found that it is really beautiful. There are only 8 rooms or chalets, so it is not very populated, which is excellent for relaxation. The food was phenomenal. The chef Deepak would cook anything we wanted at any time and his food was really good. The staff made us feel at home and welcome, especially Mr. Manoj, the manager. The view was spectacular, and the trekking in the hills around the resort was one of the most enjoyable experiences in the trip. There was also a theater with a selection of movies to watch, a game room with board games and foosball, and a pool table (where my son spent most of his time). This is an excellent resort and I recommend it to everyone planning a trip to Coorg.

Room Tip: Choose chalets near the club house - we were fortunate to get the 2 closest chalets, Abernathy Fores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramsubbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Mr. Ramsubbu
We truly appreciate the time you have taken to write such a great review. The whole Old Kent Team thanks you for your words of encouragement.
The view you have mentioned is what made us build the chalets at that point on the 200 acre property. We are glad your son enjoyed the pool table along with the other indoor games options.
We have stocked the home theater with a good mix of old & new movies to cater to the various guest requirements/moods, we are glad you used the same.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 257 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

It is a place in coorg, karnataka, place is secluded, calm, and peaceful. Resort rooms are very comfortable with all beautiful garden, it would feel as though you own it. Warm welcome by the resort staff would surprise you and the lunch and dinner. credit goes to chef and Rajan manager and their entire staff

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karthik312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Mr. Karthik
We thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Manoj & Chef Deepak asked me to pass on their gratitude to you for your words of appreciation.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
Regds
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at this resorts from May3rd to May 6th. The stay was wonderful and the hospitality was at its peak. The chef prepared all the dishes we asked for: golden fried prawns, mutton, mango dal, chicken curry, spicy buttermilk, paya soup, chicken drumsticks...... . The credit goes to Deepak, the Chef, who was very nice to show the kitchen and around. May 5th was our anniversary and the staff arranged candle light dinner with the cake. The cake was excellent.

The hospitality and the team managed by Manoj was excellent in delivery. The towel arrangements were wonderful. There are a very few things that need little improvement :

1. The towels had lot of lint. This needs to be taken care.
2. The phones were not working in the rooms and no cell phone connection, and I had to go from the room to the clubroom to contact for anything.
3. We took Governor's and Lieutanant's package. Everything was fine, but we had to ask for. My parents would take coffee early in the morning but I had to go to the club room to ask for. That was little inconvenience I could bear and is not a complaint compared to the hospitality showered during the lunch and dinners.
4. The bed was little high and was too soft.

Overall, we all enjoyed and would like to thank the entire staff, Manoj, Manoj Naidu, Deepak, Vinod, Sunil, Tara, and others, who took care of us.

Room Tip: Everything is ok. Take an idea phone, it got connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venkat_Koneti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Mr. Venkat
Thank you for such an encouraging review. Our staff have not stopped raving about raving about what a great experience they had with you as guests!!
The intercom went out as there was a power surge just the day before you checked in since rectified. The lint in the towel was because they are new, we need to use certain chemicals to get rid of them, being an eco friendly resort we are avoiding the same, it tends to go away after a few regular washes. The bed is a standard king size with a 10 inch Restonic mattress, you probably felt it was high due to the 10 inches height of the mattress as the normal height ranges around 6 inches..
We apologise for the drawbacks as mentioned by you, We look forward to your continued patronage.
Regds
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

When we left the road on Kushalnagar - Madikeri Road and turned left to take a small metalic strip to the resort, my wife & son got very very worried as they couldn't even see a single human being nor do any kind of settlement / habitat on our way on the approx 4 km stretch to the resort after getting off the main road.

Such is the effect of the Urbanization that we could not genuinely appreciate what Mother Nature had in store and was offering us.

But, when we reached n were greeted by the almost entire staff of Old Kent, the "Fear Factor" started to subdue n were given the second Chalet (Budgeberry Forest) which was nothing less than a small bungalow in itself.

We had gone to Coorg after 3 days stay at Mysore so all we had in mind was rest & recharging ourselves hence we did not had sightseeing in mind at all. But I am sure that even if we had it in mind we wouldn't have gone as this place itself gives you so much of Natural World that you would feel not to leave it for a moment.

The Best Part: As the number of guests were less in numbers (it was hight of Non-Peak Season n I have to admit that it was wee-bit hot too during the day), they did not had any Buffet lined up. Rather Manoj (GM) & Deepak (Chef) offered us to cook anything that we would like. And ANYTHING in ACTUALITY. Unbeievable.. right.

But I must say that they actually cooked up everything that we requested along with a lot of add-ons from there side.

And I have to admit that Deepak is one good chef as We savored one of the best Pasta & Pizza at Old Kent (Which we were not at all expecting).

The entire place has a Charm of English -Raj-Era and since a whole 300 Acre Estate belongs to the Old Kent and only a few of the Guests are usually there (they have only 6-8 Chalets at present so at any given time they may not have more than 25-30 guests), we felt like that this place belongs to us and they actually make you feel so.

They have a Very Very Good Library & a Mini Theatre where in you can watch your fav movies at a very large Screen LED Tv and a Pool table and lots of Beautiful Garden area with Flora blooming from almost every corner.

All-in-all, I can say that I had planned this Trip to Coorg of r 1st & last visit, but now with the Marvelous Experience at Old Kent Estate, I am looking forward to the my next visit soon at Old Kent but this time it would be in Rainy Season. (The peak Time).


  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Vinay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for such an encouraging review. We are very much obliged to you for highlighting all the details of our resort. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your last para 'All-in-all, I can say that I had planned this Trip to Coorg of r 1st & last visit, but now with the Marvelous Experience at Old Kent Estate, I am looking forward to the my next visit soon at Old Kent but this time it would be in Rainy Season. (The peak Time).' really touched us, we look forward to welcoming you again at the Old Kent Estates.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We picked Old Kent after seeing all the reviews on TA. And boy, were the reviews right!

This is the place to stay in Coorg! Brilliant hospitality, good villas, huge bathrooms and a great common area

The secret sauce in Old Kent is the excellent hospitality, evangelized by GM Mr. Manoj. He is definitely the Star of Old Kent. HE never says No to any request. He will go all out to ensure you have a comfortable stay. The Operations Manager Rajan is also ever smiling and ever eager to ensure that guests have a comfortable stay. These awesome twosome are assisted by a super magnifique Chef Deepak, they make you feel completely at home.

Common area has a brilliant home theater, gardens, chess/board games, foozball and a pool table. We spent a lot of our time in the common areas. You can just relax in the easy chairs, read or sip beer while listening to the birds chirp.

The resort has 8 Villas. All of them are same and have a small pvt garden in each. The bathrooms are huge and an experience in themselves. You should pick this place to complete unwind and cut-off from the hum drum of city life

Chef Deepak - The young Chef who cooks like a dream. He takes your requested choice of cuisine and creates magic! We ate so much during our stay and went yearning for more. He does Chinese, North Indian, South Indian and Continental and puts many star hotel chefs to shame. We went from Mumbai and having eaten in so many restaurants and hotels, still rate Chef Deepak's cuisine by far the best!

Similarly, the biggest star hotels in India could learn a thing or two from Mr. Manoj's guest relations capabilities and hospitality skills. This guy is a star and ensured that nothing, not even the slightest of our needs were left unfulfilled. HE goes out of the way to ensure that guests at Old Kent feel more like family. Also, he is a 24 X 7 guy. We would see him alive and active, be it 2 AM or 6 AM!

Overall, one of the best stays we've had in a long time. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are same. Villa 1 is closest to the Clubhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoShadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear guest
We are all very excited to read your review as most of what you have mentioned are the basic concept of the whole resort.. We have not words to thank you..
The never say 'no' attitude, the never ending food, the 'cut away' from the hustle & bustle of city life, the no compromise common areas, the luxuries within the guest villas were all done with one sole aim.. To give our guest a memorable holiday..
The epicenter of our guest experience is always our team, our biggest assets.. I thank you for appreciating them so much.. This will surely enthuse them to continue their good work..
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were pampered - that was the feeling. Great place, very specious cottages, very nice service and the food was above all this. Just wonderful. The cottages are rsally spcious and very well furnishd. The bathrooms are really big and well decorated.


  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind words. Our team at the resort thoroughly enjoyed your group's stay with us. One of you trying your hand in making the 'koothe parotta' at our live cooking counter is still fresh in the memory of our chef!
Our sincere appreciation to you for taking the time to write a beautiful review. We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We wanted to get away from the humdrum of Bangalore.....saw this link to old Kent and was there the next day, suddenly I went back to my childhood of big bungalows,sweet smelling air and the sounds of birds chirping......this is a good place to be one with yourself, food is better than the best and the eye for details is amazing.
Manoj & Rajan.....these are guys u hardly get to see nowadays in the industry, they made sure of each and every small need of our was met...I would say 60 percent of the "excellent grading" is due to Manoj and rajan.

Owners of old Kent pls note : Do not lose these guys they are the best thing to happen to your investment.
Rooms are good, however we found the price a weebit on the higher side(we get Taj Aguada Goa cheaper) however food is amazing and their Tamil chef can actually go for Master chef competition and win it as we'll........good job.

Manoj & Rajan......keep it up.....awesome job man.

Sanjeev &Varuna

Room Tip: Second chalet from the club house.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VaruBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Partner at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Madam
Our team was very happy to read your review. We are grateful to you for having taken the time to write the same. You are absolutely correct, in all our properties our assets have always been our 'people', your review has re affirmed this to us. Thank you for your words of appreciation about the resort. We look forward to your continued patronage,
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suntikoppa
8.2 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#3 of 25 in Madikeri
476 reviews
8.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,504 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
8.6 mi away
Evolve Back, Coorg
Evolve Back, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
1,786 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Kent Estates, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Kent Estates, Coorg

Address: Thaikappa Estate | Horoor Post and Village, Suntikoppa 571237, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Suntikoppa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suntikoppa
Price Range: $157 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Kent Estates, Coorg 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Kent Estates, originally developed in the mid 1800s, is one of the earliest established coffee plantations in Southern India. William Roland Wright, a Colonel in the British Army led to the transformation of this 200-acre estate from a jungle in which big game abound to a cultivated plantation and a delightful home to his family. First constructed in 1864, the stately bungalow has been fully restored to its former charm & glory and has vignettes of the by gone colonial era and houses several rooms. As a tribute to the Wright Family, each room is fondly named after one of the family members who once inhabited within. The property has been designed keeping in mind its rich history and tradition, ensuring the conservation and preservation of the natural surroundings, within an exclusive boutique setting. Each English cottage with its own private garden provides the utmost privacy, Get pampered with the Old Kent hospitality and experience the tranquil life of a typical estate owner in British India. Read some of the reviews from our guests to find out why we have been awarded the coveted Traveller's Choice Award two years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Kent Estates, Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Kent Estates, Coorg Suntikoppa, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing